We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on Islay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Bear Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Bobby has put together a really special place here. We stayed for three nights (there were two of us) and enjoyed the feeling, the quality and the hospitality at the Island Bear. I'd classify the style and presentation as 'quirky' - mainly a maritime theme, with great attention to detail, lots of nice little finds and a very individual presentation. Just lovely! The quality and size of the bedrooms is excellent. Everything is very well put together, the bathrooms are great (with shower/bath - heavenly after traipsing around the island). Breakfast was delicious. Plus it's only about twenty steps from Bowmore distillery, and has a couple of good restaurants around it. What more could you ask for for your stay on Islay? The whole package is definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtietze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Island Bear Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was on Islay together with several friends doing the grand tour to all destilleries on the island. Some of us stayed at the Harbour In and others stayed here at the Island Bear.

The rooms were excellent. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was excellent.
In short this is a perfect B&B on Islay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I recently had an excellent 2 night stay with Bobby at the Island Bear. We were on a "mostly" business trip to Scotland and slipped in a short dream visit to Islay to experience some of the West Coast and a few of the fine peated single malt whiskey distilleries located there. We booked directly with Bobby only a few weeks in advance of the trip and our emails were answered quickly and completely. Bobby even asked if he could arrange our distillery tour bookings after some difficulties doing it ourselves. The room had everything we required in a clean, tastefully executed compact suite and to our surprise, was very nicely appointed with antiques, a settee and even nicely coordinated Scottish Wool upholstery. Bobby is a skilled interior craftsman as well as a fine innkeeper, photographer and cook. A lovely and filling cooked to order breakfast with ample coffee sent us on our way to the distilleries each morning. Stay here in this nice central Bowmore location and you will love it as we did. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having just returned from a three night stay at The Island Bear, I thought that I should endorse everything that Other Travellers have already posted.
The rooms are absolutely lovely, being well appointed,warm, with a comfy bed, and crisp white bedding,and faultlessly clean.
Breakfast both looked and smelled and tasted divine,all made to order, at a time to suit, with copious amounts of help yourself filter coffee from the machine on the dresser.Quite delicious.
..and there is plenty to take in whilst staying.Fantastic photography,local history.Plenty to read and the space to do it.
Thank You Bobby, for making my stay so special.
Ps..the card machine is up and running.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were a group of friends who, after talking about it for a long time, popped up to Islay for a weekend and a bit of a whisky pilgrimmage. We debated about various places to stay, and although the Island Bear was very new, and not yet reviewed on tripadvisor or by the tourism board we were very lucky that Bobby had room for our reasonable sized group.

The place is perfectly located in Bowmore to allow easy access to the any region of the island, and very easy to find on the main street (although Bowmore pretty small anyway!). The rooms themselves were absolutely lovely, and you can tell Bobby has worked tremendously hard on them. As we took up each room that Bobby had, I can vouch that they are all a decent enough size and all well appointed. Most importantly they were comfortable.

Bobby whipped us up a fantastic breakfast each day and was very helpful both leading up to our visit and during. We will definitely be trying to get back to Islay, and I will be doing my best to make sure Bobby has room for us again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had been looking for a place to stay on Islay, and wanted somewhere in Bowmore for it's central location. We scoured the internet, and The Island Bear website cropped up. It was still under construction, but it featured some really nice pictures of the rooms and a quick check of the map showed it to be in a central location in Bowmore (Bowmore is quite small, so everything is pretty central). Islay is a welcoming, friendly place, and The Island Bear is right up there in the hospitality stakes. Bobby is a very accommodating host. Breakfast is at a time to suit the guest instead of at a time to suit the house. There are several options available, including cereals and juice if you don't fancy sausage,bacon,eggs etc, or all of the above if you feel hungry. The food is all locally sourced too. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and very well appointed. I got the impression that Bobby was waiting out of sight until we had left the room so the towels could be changed. One morning, heading out to the bus stop to catch the Royal Mail delivery van (really, a couple of the bus journeys each day are handled by the delivery van) to a distillery, it looked as though we may fall foul of the incredibly complicated bus timetable and miss the bus. Bobby's immediate reaction was to offer to drive us where we needed to go. Brilliant.
The Island Bear didn't do evening meals, but there were several nearby restaurants including The Harbour and The Holy Coo, and round the corner was The Bowmore Hotel, aka "Lucci's". The portions there were massive, and the Saturday night we visited turned into quite a session in their malt lounge.
Islay is a quiet place, a welcome change of pace from city, or even small town, living. People still say "hello" to strangers as they pass in the street, and motorists wave at each other as they pass.
I would recommend Islay to anyone looking for a relaxing break, and would definitely recommend The Island Bear as your base.
By the way, the TV is not complicated to operate, and during our visit there was no card machine for payment. That's probably remedied now though.
Bobby, thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay at The Island Bear Bed and Breakfast in Bowmore on Islay. It was the best B&B we had the pleasure to stay in during our trip to Scotland. At the time of our visit in October 2012, The Island Bear had been open for only a couple of months. It was fortunate that there were available rooms for our party of three, as we had not booked in advance as we kept an open itinerary on this trip to the islands. The room rate was comparable to at least two other hotels in the area. The Island Bear is located on a main thoroughfare and is a few metres away from the Bowmore distillery and The Harbour Inn. It's a great location if you plan to drive around Islay. The rooms were well-appointed and faultlessly tidy, with fresh and crisp beddings and a large comfortable bed. The toilet and bath was clearly new and, more importantly, clean. The interior design and decoration made the most efficient use of space. Breakfast (the full Scottish, of course!) was generous and hearty, and the service friendly and helpful. What I enjoyed the most was that the owner had put in wonderful and subtle design touches to the place, including a recurring nautical theme, a collection of antique furniture, Islay slate table decor, beautiful photographs of Islay scenery (artfully taken by the owner himself), and a fantastic tartan that was used in various rooms throughout the B&B. These careful details were certainly not lost on us and I would even say this aspect elevated the B&B experience from simply good to excellent. It made staying at The Island Bear a treat, and it's wonderful to find something so lovely on Islay. We would love to visit again.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms at The Island Bear. Only one has twin beds.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
44 reviews
3.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
275 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bowmore
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
9.5 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Bear Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Island Bear Shore Street, Bowmore PA43 7LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Bear bed and breakfast is an ideal place to stay on your visit to Islay. Centrally located on Shore Street in Bowmore it is easy to find and is perfectly positioned for all the necessary holiday conveniences. The Island Bear is open all year. The Island Bear is not big but we feel this enables us to give you more individual attention. We have 3 en-suite bedrooms - two doubles and one twin/double, and a large dining and lounge room which gives you plenty of room to enjoy your breakfast or relax in comfort after a busy day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Bear Bed And Breakfast Bowmore, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing