We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good inn”
Review of The Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I spent eight day here in May 2013 .the rooms are a very good standard and vary in Quality depending on the tariffs . Are choice was half board
The breakfast gave plenty of choice and the service was excellent .We had a wide choice on the menu .the sea food is very good .but the local steaks were exceptional
The staff were very helpfully nothing too much trouble for them. The offer a list of walks and attraction in the area
Would we go again? Yes
David & Judy

Room Tip: Pay for the best room for at least one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Two nights at the Harbour Inn demonstrated some of the hits and misses that previous reviewers have highlighted. At 160 pounds sterling per night, one would imagine the misses would have been eradicated. A sleepless night in Room 6 proved this not to be the case. Apart from the dank smell, low ceiling, and slightly claustrophic atmosphere, noisy flushing sounds and banging doors, we could here everything that went on in the room above. Creaking floorboards, conversation that could be followed, and then snoring that kept us awake until breakfast after we had been woken up around 2am. Thank goodness we were offered Room 5 for the second night - such a nice member of staff, thankyou for arranging it. We would have checked out otherwise.
The food was equally uneven. Bar food the first night was excellent - tasty and creamy mussel soup, for example. We booked for dinner on that basis but... hoping for an Islay beer before dinner, the bar had run out of the two Islay beers we had enjoyed the previous evening...then there was a problem with the pump..then before any drink could be served we were told the food was ready. We hastily chose a wine. The soup chosen was nothing like the previous night. Indeed I barely remember what it was - maybe kohlrabi but it could have been anything with neither taste not texture. The halibut (I suppose farmed if it was from Gigha) was, however, excellent. We did not wait for dessert - or rather, we did wait rather a long time but the staff seemed a bit busy. Overall? I doubt if I would ever stay here again, and I would advise anyone who asked that they should think very carefully before spending so much on what is basically B&B. and avoid Room 6 at all costs. Staying somewhere else and having a meal in the bar - if the beer is on - would be a much safer bet. Ps. thanks again to that very kind member of staff who changed our room.

Room Tip: Go for the top of the house, even if it means a haul upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalEsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us but we were of course concerned and somewhat puzzled to read your negative comments. We undertook a complete upgrade of each of our guest rooms and bathrooms last year and would stress that we have received no previous complaints about the premier room you booked; room 6 benefits from an attractive patio with outstanding views over the loch and the room is very elegantly and comfortably furnished and featured photographically on our website. We would point out that we have yet again met the very challenging criteria of VisitScotland and achieved our Gold Star award for accommodation for the fourth consecutive year. We would also point out that coincidentally, the television presenter, Lorraine Kelly, recently stayed in that very room and had nothing but good and complimentary things to say about it. We would certainly be confident in recommending guests to stay in this delightful room.

It would appear, however, that the gentleman in the room above you was an unusually loud snorer which caused you disturbance, and for this of course we do apologise; we did all we could to move you to a room away from this and had understood you to be very happy with your second room. We certainly understand that a disturbed night’s sleep would have a very negative effect of your stay; we would have welcomed a chance to discuss this with you on check-out as it is of paramount importance to us for all guests to leave having had a firstclass stay with us.

Yes, we did experience problems with our beers on the evening you took dinner with us, which we did wholeheartedly apologise to you about and offer alternatives, but the problem stemmed from usually high demand on one particular ale together with a problem with the gases and took a little time to rectify, and sadly this fault happened just as you were wishing to order. We are pleased to say that disruption to our service of our very popular local Islay ales is a very rare occurrence.

We were sorry to hear that the soup you had on your second evening in the restaurant was not to your liking. Again, we would stress, that this was probably a personal thing as we have had many compliments about that particular soup and had received specific requests for it. Our restaurant is very busy at the present time and we would reassure all prospective guests that the quality of our food and the compliments from diners has been exceptional, our new menus meeting with great approval..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

2 evenings dinner, First day in the restaurant second in the Schooner bartaff very friendly. Food very good. Oysters were perfect as well as the cheese/whisky experience. Visit the distillery and take your dinner here. The perfect combination.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarcusVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have now stayed here several times and it has always been a pleasure. Apart from the friendly staff and excellent restuarant, it is obvious that the owners regard this as a work in progress as we always notice small but significant improvements. We would recommend an executive room and ours was beautifully renovated with a wonderful view of the Paps of Jura (weather permitting).We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breck_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I had a lovely long weekend here Valentines weekend for his birthday, from the time I booked to the minute we left the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We had a room overlooking the Loch which was lovely, very warm and cosy with a great big bath, perfect after a day walking.
They arranged a birthday cake for my partner and also a picnic lunch for us so we could go out and explore the island. Our package included dinner every night which I was apprehensive about as we like to try different places but I'm so glad we ate there. The food was FANTASTIC! We've eaten in Michelin starred restaurants all over the world and the food here was better than some of those. The venison Wellington, Bouillabaisse, Beef steak, scotch egg and the breakfast deserve special mention although everything was wonderful. Thanks again Harbour Inn we're recommending you to everyone

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hayley3575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased to know that you had a lovely experience on Islay and at The Harbour Inn. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a special birthday break - and our first visit to Islay. From the moment we arrived on the island after the short flighty from Glasgow we had a wonderful time. The friendliness of the islanders no matter where we visited was outstanding... and the same can be said of the Harbour Inn. This was a rare hotel experience - fully enjoying the amenities, a beautiful bedroom, the top notch food, and a staff that cared. It is often easy to find fault with hotels but, on this occasion, we have to say that the Harbour Inn is right up there with the very best. We enjoyed the stay on the island so much - the car hire service from Mr McKenzie of Islay car hire was first rate - that we are already looking at a return next year to explore this island - and make the short ferry trip to Jura as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcleanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our stay at the Harbour Inn was nothing but amazing! The food, the ambience, the fire place, just splendid! All members of staff were extremely nice, very friendly, and attentive and made our stay so much more pleasurable than I expected it to be. I even got a wee celebration for my b'day. It’s a perfect place to enjoy the island's whiskey. We can’t wait to come back! Rob and Mirka

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHTyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
57 reviews
3.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bowmore
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
320 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: The Square | Isle of Islay, Bowmore PA43 7JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Price Range: $127 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable loveliness of the Inner Hebrides - visit ISLAY – a destination for all seasons. Let the loveliness of this beautiful island wash over you – and experience the special atmosphere that is part of Islay's heritage – “Islay and its goodbye to care“ Whatever the weather and whatever the time of year, there is always the added attraction to Islay that comes from visiting an island – the feeling that you are cut off from the rest of the world – yet , it's much closer than you can imagine.And here, at The Harbour Inn Hotel and Restaurant, we hope to be part of that overall experience – offering superb accommodation, high quality award winning food and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Bowmore
The Harbour Inn Bowmore, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing