We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harbour Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bowmore
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Bridgend Hotel(Bridgend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islay House(Bridgend)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Charlotte Hotel(Port Charlotte)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White Hart Hotel(Port Ellen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jura Hotel(Isle of Jura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colonsay(Isle of Colonsay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
109
53
16
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
53
16
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodthe main hotelgreat food and servicerestaurant servicemacaronifire alarmeasy parkingbowmore distilleryspent two nightstop floorexcellent staygranolalovely placeexcellent breakfastsea viewislayisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 202 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our stay at the Harbour Inn was nothing but amazing! The food, the ambience, the fire place, just splendid! All members of staff were extremely nice, very friendly, and attentive and made our stay so much more pleasurable than I expected it to be. I even got a wee celebration for my b'day. It’s a perfect place to enjoy the island's whiskey. We can’t wait to come back! Rob and Mirka

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHTyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a splendid week in Bowmore on Islay in the Harbour Inn. From our initial contact through our arrival and departure the staff was in every way friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We enjoyed a number of meals there from a full Scottish breakfast including haggis and black pudding (I always have one when I visit Scotland) to fresh fruit and yogurt in the morning to light meals in the bar and a first rate restaurant for dinner providing excellent seafood and lamb. This is one of those smaller Scottish hotels where it is easy to meet and converse with other residents in the conservatory, restaurant or bar. Our room was lovely, overlooking Loch Indall with the paps of Jura in the distance.We lived in Scotland for several years in the early 60s and have made several trips back, particularly to the west of Scotland. Our visit to Islay is among our best and for part of that we are indebted to the Harbour Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EugeneLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

It was a great pleasure meeting you both and we all very much enjoyed having you stay here at The Harbour Inn with us. And we recall what fun you had with Rachel and exploring the island! We look forward to welcoming you both back again sometime in the future when you are over this side of the pond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a one night stay here in August. Our room was on the top floor and really lovely. Comfortable, spacious and full of character. The food sadly, left a lot to be desired. The menu was quite limited, but sometimes this can be an indication that the chef prefers quality, over quantity, of choice. I ordered the lobster, to be told they didn't have any that evening. I heard several others order the lobster and witnessed their disappointment also. Being at the head of the menu and given the location of the Inn, surely this should always be available. My husband ordered the beef fillet, which was delicious. The haggis dumpling, however, which was an accompaniment, was inedible. It tasted of raw suet. I ordered the rabbit, which was over-cooked and some of it too tough to chew. I can't quite describe the small round part of my chocolate dessert, in fact I'm totally lost for words! It went back! We could only hope that the breakfast would redeem our faith in some of the recommendations we had read, but unfortunately my haddock with poached egg was both unattractive and badly cooked. The egg white was in strings all over the plate and the yolk was hard. It should never have been sent out. We were only here for one night, so let's hope that this isn't a true reflection of the standard of food in general, as the Inn is situated in an excellent location and our room was exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycouple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We were surprised and concerned to read your comments regarding your dining experience at The Harbour, espcially as the menu that would have been offered to you had been very popular, shown by our guest comments and repeat diners. Unfortunately due to the vagaries of weather and being a busy, yet small restaurant, we do very occasionally run out of a fish item. It is not our policy to freeze any fish or meat, as that would subsequently detract from the quality of the product, we would prefer diners to choose from the other plentiful options. The lobster would have been delivered fresh the next day, weather permitting. Our rabbit starter was very popular; the loin is lightly cooked but of course by defintion the confit leg would have been long and slowly cooked and we are sorry that it was not to your liking. We would stress that we fully recognise the importance of a perfectly cooked breakfast; we use the highest quality of pale smoked haddock and local farm eggs, and can only apologise if these were not cooked to our usual high standard on this occasion. We would also like to stress that we always respond when complaints are made, either offering an alternative or preparing the dish again. It is very difficult for us to rectify a situation if we are not made aware of it at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visited again this year for dinner and was once again 1st class. Food,service and ambience were superb. The staff always ensure your visit is perfect and we returned home with fond memories of Islay and the Harbour Inn. Keep up the good work. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Islay where we stayed at the Harbour Inn. We were located in the Rooms Overyby, which were first class and very spacious, looking straight across the loch. Great accomodation which would suit all types of traveller.

We ate in the main restaurant each night and the food was fantastic!!!!!!! Excellent breakfast aswell!!!

The service and customer care throughout our stay could not have been better!!!

If you are thinking of a trip over to Islay, you MUST stay here!!!

Thank you for a great stay. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews