We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Harbour Inn
Nearby Hotels
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)(Great Value!)
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Port Charlotte Hotel(Port Charlotte)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
110
53
16
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
53
16
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafoodthe main hotelgreat food and servicerestaurant servicemacaronifire alarmeasy parkingbowmore distilleryspent two nightstop floorexcellent staygranolalovely placeexcellent breakfastsea viewislayisland
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 203 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visited again this year for dinner and was once again 1st class. Food,service and ambience were superb. The staff always ensure your visit is perfect and we returned home with fond memories of Islay and the Harbour Inn. Keep up the good work. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Islay where we stayed at the Harbour Inn. We were located in the Rooms Overyby, which were first class and very spacious, looking straight across the loch. Great accomodation which would suit all types of traveller.

We ate in the main restaurant each night and the food was fantastic!!!!!!! Excellent breakfast aswell!!!

The service and customer care throughout our stay could not have been better!!!

If you are thinking of a trip over to Islay, you MUST stay here!!!

Thank you for a great stay. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A few short steps from the shores of Loch Indaal and down wind from the aromas of the historic Bowmore distillery lies the exceptional Harbour Inn. The rooms are well kept with some offering spectacular views of the Loch from oversized rooms. All situated along main street in historic Bowmore, Islay. A must stay for the intrepid whisky traveller, the food and malt whisky menu is not to be missed. There is also a very quaint pub with whisky barrel tables adjacent to the entrance. What more could one ask for! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the oversized suites overlooking the Loch.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanfromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food to die for; waitress service a bit hit and miss but the overall service made up for it. The inn is a cracking base to explore Islay but be careful - the lunchtime qiuck visit to the bar will ambush you...you won't get far and that's actually a very good thing!!! The room was faultless, spotless and very nice...all in all a very highly reommended place to stay...just don't make many plans!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peak45MiddleEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We'd selected the Harbour Inn as we wanted somewhere to stay which had good local amenities also we were aware the Harbour Inn had a restaurant which we'd planned to eat in.
We were given a room in the roof which had low sloping ceilings, and a mixer shower that could only be used if you sat in the bath as it was impossible to stand in it. On using the bathroom we found hair on the toilet seat from the previous guest despite the fact it had a hygeine band on it. The room also had a damp smell during our stay.
The breakfast and friendly staff were excellent.
We'll review the restaurant separately.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeiKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews