We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Visitor Centre”
Review of Bowmore Distillery

Bowmore Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
$509.06*
and up
4-Day Isle of Islay Tour from Edinburgh: Whisky Distilleries Including...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Bowmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Good Visitor Centre”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

They have done a lot of work to create an excellent visitor centre.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric107_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    112
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great distillery experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

From the first welcome to the last visitors dram this place could not have been more welcoming.
The staff were fantastic and made sure that the young German couple who tagged onto our group of 13 were well looked after as we also were.
The tasting room has a great view over the bay with bar style seating encouraging you to soak up the view, atmosphere and of course their malt whiskies.
The selection of whiskies available for tasting on the tour is extensive and you are encouraged to taste what ever you want.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting tour and generous drams”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very good tour with a tasting of three different whiskies. A shop with good selection.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank PekkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Dram”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Interesting tour from a young but keen lady. Were allowed to walk through the floors of barley and given many many drams at the end of the tour in a very nicely decorated and furnished room.
Great trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BigSpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A really special experience”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

On our honeymoon, we visited virtually all the Islay distilleries (Caol Ila is going through its refurbishment and Bunnahabhain was closed for the weekend), and every one had its own charm.

Bowmore was a very warm and personal experience, with some beautiful offerings to make up for the fact that it was the silent season! 3 very distinct whiskys were served with titbits of nice food to bring out the most in the whiskys. The absolutely delightful staff treated us to a very special malt as it was our honeymoon. Being able to sit in a comfortable lounge for as long as we wished with our drinks made it a very relaxed and grown up affair :)

No money off any purchases, but the tastings were so generous that it made up for it!

Do come and visit. The staff are as warm and delightful as the whisky.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank amew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowmore Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Bowmore Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing