We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSIDE CATERING - A GREAT SUCCESS”
Review of Cottage Restaurant

Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 12 Restaurants in Bowmore
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OUTSIDE CATERING - A GREAT SUCCESS”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On a recent trip to Islay to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday, we held a party in the village hall and got Paul and his team at the Cottage to do the catering. Having never met them or been to Bowmore before I was very aprehensive about the event but thanks to the help we got from the Cottage staff and the wonderful food we couldn't fault it. A truely memorable weekend and everyone had their favourites from the buffet. Mine was the steamed Salmon which was delicious and the venison stew was also highly rated. Beautifully presented amd hall was totally tranformed by the team. Thanks for all your help Paul

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Issie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maybe for a quick lunch.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Scottich/ english traditional fat fast food. Maybe ok for a quick lunch if you have no other options, but don't expect very much.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived here around 4pm one afternoon and didn't think we would get much more than a cuppa.
We had been at another well known cafe and even though we'd arrived at that cafe within their official serving time we were turned away, so by this time we were hungry and in desperate need of a cuppa.

The cottage is simply furnished inside and we were served by a very pleasant young lad who took our order. I had fantastic homemade mushroom soup and a cup of tea while my partner had a blt toastie. Absolutely brilliant service and nice food.
Will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank honeycat2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Scones and Empire Biscuits, what more can you want”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This small restaurant was visited 2 days in a row, so good were the home made cakes. I recommend the plain scone with jam and cream, but my girlfriend went for empire biscuits both days, utterly delicious. Service was very good, and my nephew had left one of his toys 2 days before (he didnt realise this), which the lady returned to him on 2nd visit without prompting. Made his day. A great place to drop in for a quick snack or a larger meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Glw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A cheap and cheerful little place for a light lunch. their home made soups are excellent and the staff are friendly and welcoming. You know a place is good when the locals go there!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sylvestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing