We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B with Exceptional Hosts”
Review of The Bowmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bowmore House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic B&B with Exceptional Hosts”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at Bowmore House for a weekend . Lovely Family run B & B. Exceptional Hosts , who definately go that extra mile, to make your time on Islay very special. We had the Suite, which was very spacious and very clean.There was even a personal greeting along with a decanter of whiskey and Wine as a birthday gift for my partner. Great Location to cover the island from.
Andrew & Alison were so helpful , and could not do enough. You Definately get a five start service here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOREEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
91
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited the Bowmore House on a work weekend. The moment we stepped through the door we knew it would be a fantastic place to stay. Each of the rooms were fantastic and spacious with wonderful ons-suites and large beds.
Being a family buisness we were treated to a wonderfull dance from the daughters of the owners as well as fantastic breakfasts (sometimes included as sandwiches when we were in a rush).
Would definitely return with family on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights and had the pleasure of being in room no. 1. The room is very spacious. The bath is also impressive. Andrew is a great host and an even better cook. And his family helps out where they can. The location of the Bowmore House is just perfect for exploring Islay and the view from the room was great. Breakfasts were very nice and plenty. As the heating was being turned off for some hours during the day and the night it tended to be a little chilly at times - which of course was a good reason to enjoy one of the many wonderful drums of the island. A clear recommendation.

Room Tip: Check out the lower cottage if you are a group of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a great stay at The Bowmore House, fantastic hosts, huge clean rooms. Great location to cover the whole island. We were working and had equipment to dry off, Andrew and Alison were happy for us to leave it out to dry in the dining room. Also had a great introduction to Islay single malts and Stornoway black pudding from Andrew.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gav7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This upmarket B & B has great rooms, a beautiful and central location, very welcoming hosts, and enormous and delicious breakfasts. The evening welcome was unexpected with whisky, local scallops, and black pudding - all very delicious. Lovely bathtub and bed and bath products. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myanmar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Bowmore House for 4 nights from the 15th of October until the 19th of October 2013.

We have been looked very well after by Andrew & Allison. Even before we arrived, Andrew was very helpful with giving us very important Information such as car renting etc.

They are very lovely People with an outstanding sense for hospitality. For example, on 1 evening we missed to go out for dinner because the Restaurants close quite early ( last order 8:30pm ).
However Andrew made an exception cooked for us a very nice dinner. Many thanks for that Andrew.

The breakfast was also very good. The egg with the salmon was very tastful.

Beside that, the Bowmore House including the rooms were very clean.
However I can only recommend the Bowmore House, because if I do go back to Islay then I will definitely stay at the Bowmore House.

Once again Andrew & Allison we thank you very much for the great time at your Bowmore House.

Best Regards,

Derya

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

When we just now enjoy a glass of Bowmore Hand Filled we remember the most friendly reception at the Bowmore House last September, when Andrew in the late evening welcomed us with a dram of the same nectar. Since then our stay on Islay continued most enjoyable, thanks to our host's help and guidance. The location of the House was just perfect, only a few steps from the distellery. The rooms were most comfortable and the delicious breakfast gave us energy to visit all distilleries on Islay. We warmly recommend the Bowmore House!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowmore House

Property: The Bowmore House
Address: Shore Street, Bowmore PA43 7LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house. Providing bed & breakfast & evening meals (on request). We are licensed to supply alcohol and have an extensive collection of Islay whisky. Also available wine, champagne and beer (as well as plenty of non-alcoholic drinks)All rooms have large en suite bathrooms with shower baths, tea and coffee making facilities and free fast Wifi. We offer a complimentary laundry service.We can arrange your distillery tours and a driver if required.Centrally located on Islay making us an ideal location to explore this beautiful Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bowmore House Hotel Bowmore
The Bowmore House Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing