We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Islay! Welcoming, great owners and excellent food!!”
Review of The Bowmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bowmore House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on Islay! Welcoming, great owners and excellent food!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at the Bowmore House and had an exceptional time!!! From the moment we entered the door Andrew and Alison went above and beyond to make our stay memorable.

We were welcomed with a fine dram of Islay whiskey from their own private collection. Andrew helped us make dinner reservations and offered plenty of insight and local knowledge of the area.

Andrew is a fantastic cook and our breakfasts were the best we had throughout our entire trip through Scotland (and Ireland)!

We highly recommend staying at the Bowmore House. We stayed in the Suite on the first floor which offered perfect water views and Bowmore Distillery down the street.

Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
92
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bowmore House as part of my first visit to Islay. The guest house is situated close to pubs and restaurants in Bowmore (we frequented the Lochside pub and the Harbour Inn - both great). The owners are very friendly and helpful and helped us with planning our trip. We stayed in the annex which consists of modern comfortable rooms with a separate kitchenette and lounge. I will definately return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GraysWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is what a B and B should be. Andrew and Alison were lovely, wanting to know about our family before we ever arrived, personalizing the excellent family room for each of my kids and ready to share a dram over Islay. The food was very good and it felt like the best of staying with family. The more I travel, the more I want to relive this fine experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengdio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A nice family hotel in the center of Bowmore. Good room, and a host that will make you feel like home. Nice, clean and well kept, with everything you need to say for a while.

Un hotel familiar agradable en el centro de Bowmore. Buen ambiente, y un anfitrión que te hará sentir como en casa. Bonito, limpio y bien cuidado, con todo lo que necesitas para estar una temporada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This beautiful establishment is private, comfy and serene. The family is 100% committed to helping guests feel welcome (we were witness to young daughters performing Highland Fling and other traditional dances, impromptu). Andrew and Allison work hard to make your every wish come true, and they know the very, very best local places to go for a bite. Andrew was particularly helpful to guests in that he paired us (driving a rental vehicle) w a group of cyclists who needed to get bags to the ship we were all using, early morning. All worked out perfectly, and we so enjoyed talking with the cyclists at the port. Room was immaculate, wonderful views, in a quiet neighbourhood, and washroom was luxurious. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: You just can not go wrong here. Simple, straight forward Welcome from a young family with nothing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith in toron... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent rooms. Very Nice friendly and helpful people, delicious and generous breakfast and beautiful large rooms and large bathrooms. They have thought of everything! Best place to stay on Islay - better than the Hotels that are available

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful old B&B right in the heart of Bowmore. Hosts Andrew and Alison were most hospitable, and the full Scottish breakfast provided an excellent hearty start for a day of whisky tastings and exploring Islay.
Free Wifi, opportunity to catch up on laundry, and a good bathroom welcome, although our room in the overflow accommodation house further down the street was very tiny and being right on the footpath was noisy with traffic.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowmore House

Property: The Bowmore House
Address: Shore Street, Bowmore PA43 7LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house. Providing bed & breakfast & evening meals (on request). We are licensed to supply alcohol and have an extensive collection of Islay whisky. Also available wine, champagne and beer (as well as plenty of non-alcoholic drinks)All rooms have large en suite bathrooms with shower baths, tea and coffee making facilities and free fast Wifi. We offer a complimentary laundry service.We can arrange your distillery tours and a driver if required.Centrally located on Islay making us an ideal location to explore this beautiful Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bowmore House Hotel Bowmore
The Bowmore House Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing