We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly place to stay”
Review of The Bowmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bowmore House
Ranked #1 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry
Level Contributor
241 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Really friendly place to stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

No accommodation on Islay is cheap and good accommodation is no exception so don’t be shocked at the rates charged they are good value for money for Islay.

The Bowmore House – NOT to be confused with the Bowmore Hotel – is an imposing, large house on an elevated position just on the edge of town with great views over the bay. Recently taken over by new owners (2011) much of the place has been renovated to a very high standard and offers very good quality accommodation in very large rooms with most of the facilities one would expect of a good four star B&B, not that Bowmore is rated as the owners do not participate in the grading scheme.

The breakfast is plentiful, well cooked and well-presented and sets one up for the day, with most of the elements sourced locally, remember not everything is produced on the island.

Andrew and Alison, the owners, are friendly and very helpful, there if you need them but never ‘in your face’, you might also benefit from some of the little ‘extra’ Andrew often offers, very welcome but you will have to visit for yourself to see what it is!

I would heartily recommend The Bowmore House to anyone planning a trip to Islay but would make one suggestion, book well in-advance because the place is very popular and liable to be fully booked if you are daft enough to wait till the last minute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
92
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fitzwilliam, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Islay, where we stayed at this lovely B&B. The Bowmore suite was very comfortable, immaculate and had a beautiful view of Loch Indaal. Hosts Andrew and Allison were so very gracious and accommodating. Andrew made arrangements for us at local restaurants and distilleries, and pointed us to many areas of interest. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. If you go to Islay, do stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here recently on our trip around the islands. What a lovely house and charming family Andrew, Alison and the children are and the accomodation and breakfast were first class. Andrew was able to point us in the right directions to make our short stay a wonderfull experience. I would recomend this to anyone visiting the island.

The Dakins

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This newly made B & B is owned by an English couple who moved to this isolated island in Scotland from the UK with their two little daughters. Located in Bowmore in Islay it is situated within walking distance of the eponymous famed Single Malt Distillery. The owners are delightful and helpful and endeavor to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The attention to details in the bathroom and bedroom makes one forget home.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the harbor. The view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Andrew and Allison are running a perfect b&b, very kind people, lovely daughters, beautiful home, excellent service. We have enjoyed the time we were there. We will definitely visit them in the future and recommend them to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sengul-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have just returned from my second 12 day trip on islay,Bowmore House has been a" haven" for me,very relaxing,friendly and careing family,again Andrews and alison's cooking skills can not be faulted,very healthy and plenty of.The rooms are clean and tidy,the veiws of the bay are fab and the sun sets are something to see........with a wee dram.looking forward to booking my next trip to the amazing bowmore house .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thanks to Andrew and Alison (and their lovely daughters) for making our short stay with them unforgettable experience. Great location with sea view! Very warm hospitality! Tasty breakfast! The only think that we did not test - dinner at the house (we were recommended to visit one of the nearest restaurants). We will definetely return while decided to visit Islay once again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowmore House

Property: The Bowmore House
Address: Shore Street, Bowmore PA43 7LB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house. Providing bed & breakfast & evening meals (on request). We are licensed to supply alcohol and have an extensive collection of Islay whisky. Also available wine, champagne and beer (as well as plenty of non-alcoholic drinks)All rooms have large en suite bathrooms with shower baths, tea and coffee making facilities and free fast Wifi. We offer a complimentary laundry service.We can arrange your distillery tours and a driver if required.Centrally located on Islay making us an ideal location to explore this beautiful Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bowmore House Hotel Bowmore
The Bowmore House Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing