We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding hospitality”
other traveler has booked this property
Meet the residents!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meet the residents!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Meet the residents!
queen of the hill!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kippen, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca H
1 review
“Outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arnbeg Cottage was everything I hoped it would be. I stayed there with my teenage daughters and my elderly parents, both of whom are in a wheelchair. I found the cottage by far the most wheel-chair accessible accommodation I have ever stayed in and parents felt very comfortable. The whole family loved watching the animals being walked past the window and enjoyed feeding the chickens, turkeys and goats. The welcome pack left by Ali, the host, was much appreciated.

I found this location ideal for touring around Scotland with quiet roads and plenty to see and do. I would recommend both the location and the cottage for all ages and especially if you like animals. Ali is an excellent host, she knows the area well and will involve you as much or as little as you like with her menagerie.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Disabled access
Liked least: Needed a more visible signpost from Fore road as you approach from Kippen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Everything to love and nothing to dislike from the moment we arrived to our departure 2 weeks later (and this was our second visit). Wonderful, friendly but unobtrusive hosts, a very modern, but warm and welcoming "cottage" furnished very tastefully with just about everything you could think of (including a wine fridge) and views to die for. There is loads to do in the area and we have kept 7 of us (ranging in age from 90 to 14) entertained for two fortnight-long holidays without ever getting bored, although at Arnbeg it's wonderful to just sit and look at the beautiful, ever- changing scenery. A fabulous holiday home suitable for young and old, and with three downstairs bedrooms, suitable for the less mobile as well as families. Thank you Ali and Michael for making Arnbeg Cottage a magical place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fun on the Farm”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Beautiful house, well equipped and spacious. Showers were great.
Mike and Ali were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. They were also kind enough to introduce us to all the newborn lambs and Terry the Turkey.
Stayed with a group of friends and we all had a great time.
Thanks

Date of stay: January 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is a wonderful place to stay. Michael extends every effort to make the experience very pleasurable. I can thoroughly recommend this rental.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderfully clean and comfortable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Place to Escape To”
Reviewed December 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Three generations of our family came for our second Easter fortnight stay in the fabulous Arnbeg Cottage. We are seasoned in these types of holidays, both in the UK and France, and can safely say that this is one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in and the only one we have ever stayed in more than once. This isn't only because of the top quality fixtures and fittings, sheets, towels etc. in the cottage, but because of its wonderful location. There is so much to see and do in the area for all ages (we ranged from 16 to 86). Favourite excursions included a trip on the steam boat, Sir Walter Scott, on Loch Katrine surrounded by snow-capped mountains, Stirling Castle (much better than Edinburgh Castle in our opinion), a day trip by train to Glasgow and The Famous Grouse Tour at the Glenturret Distillery but we were also happy just to sit and gaze at the stunning views. And of course, you can always just go for a walk, straight out of the back door even!
Despite its chic, clean-cut and trendy décor, it is also an extremely comfortable cottage, and the second sitting area with TV etc. was a godsend with teenagers in our party. The "menagerie" kept us entertained for hours and it was a thrill for us townies to be invited in to see the minutes-old lambs. Michael and Ali were delightful, friendly hosts and made us feel truly at home from the moment we arrived. A real gem!

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina-Non
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Scottish delight!”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My room had such a charming view of green hills and fluffy sheep, it looked like a postcard. If only for that, and I would still come back. But the cottage was also very clean, stylish and comfortable and the kitchen was well supplied. Staying there was the perfect way to reconnect with nature, taking long walks around the peaceful area and playing with the very funny array of animals on the farm. The owner is very warm and friendly - really made me feel like home. I can't wait to get back!

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent stay, a beautiful cottage, friendly owners.”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely cottage with excellent facilities, amazing views, very clean and well appointed. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was all great
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing