We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing menu and service”
Review of The Inn at Kippen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Kippen
Ranked #1 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The new menu, introduced in December 2012, has none of the flair, variety or invention of old. Instead, it offers the kind of familiar pub grub found in many of Stirling's family-orientated restaurants. My main course (passable fare and well presented) came without potatoes or vegetables. Certain types of potato were listed as side dishes, but no vegetables (unless you count sautéed mushrooms) - a curious omission. Waitress service left a little to be desired, too. No one ran through the specials and when we'd finished our main courses, our plates were cleared and no one thought to return and ask us about dessert or coffee. Perhaps the waitresses were new to the role, but they need to up their game. The Inn at Kippen is an appealing venue in a pleasant location and we'd like to see it succeed. But our latest dining experience there was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Scissorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have eaten here since last oct when the new owners leased it. The food has been amazing. This time we decided to stay as it was my hubby's bday. The food and service was amazing and the room was lovely too. My hubby had a nice breakie too. We sadly found out that the current people who are leasing this pub are closing down next week (end nov 2012), such a shame as the food was fab. I understand the people who own the birds and bees own this pub and lease it out. I just hope when they get another occupier to lease it it's just as good as the current occupiers. The birds and bees has went downhill and I just hope they don't take the chef from there up to kippen. Think the new cafe at the bottom of kippen took away their customers, reason why prob they are finishing up. Shame as they built up a good reputation from the rubbish reports from the previous occupiers

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeclairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a very speedy checkin by a polite young man who even carried my suitcase up the stairs. We had originally booked into a twin, because all other rooms were full, but were upgraded to a king on arrival which was great.

The room was very large, cosy and decorated nicely.

The restaurant seemed very busy and lively, but we were meeting family in The Cross Keys so unfortunately did not get a chance to have a proper meal there.

We arrived back late to a breakfast menu card under the door and ordered our brekki for the next day.

Beds were comfy, but my only criticism would be that adjoining bedroom walls are very thin, so we heard a lot of chatter from next door!

Breakfast was fab and well prepared. Was great picking a late slot, meaning a long Sunday lye-in.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-zer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited in October this year, arrived to a lovely, clean and warm room which was a good size and very comfortable.

This is pretty much what you would expect mind, what you wouldn't expect is the extremely warm and friendly welcome from Gordon and his staff. Evening meal was lovely and the array of Whiskeys available really do make this a place to stop if your a fan of a dram or two. Turns out the owner is extremely well known in Whiskey production circles and as such his knowledge is second to none and certainly broadened our tastes.

But thats enough about Whiskey, the Inn is close to both Loch Lomond and Stirling which is a nice town to visit, and its not far from the big two cities of Glasgow & Edinburgh.

Breakfast was also very nice and you could tailor what you wanted. If we had to be picky you could say the menu is fairly limited with 6/7 mains but it was very nice and there was a mixture of meat dishes.

Certainly worth a visit especially if you stay with evening meal and breakfast included in the price like we did, as you can just sit back and relax in the cosy surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky1984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a brilliant time when we visited the restaurant last year and this year found that there was a special event on the night we wanted. 'Mushroom Magic' was an informative evening about.......mushrooms and included talks from health, wholesaler and a forager. The taster, starter and main courses were delicious, though sadly not filling enough. However, it was all well organised and it was really good to learn a little more about a humble food. Can't wait for next year! Lucky people who live locally and can experience these evenings more frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We won a one night stay at The Inn at Kippen and had a great time. Our room was spacious and comfy but it was the food that was exceptional. We had a three course meal and the steaks were as good as I've had anywhere. We have already booked to come back with friends in the new year.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms - a twin, a double and a king size. Go king size if you can get it but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donmacintyre1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The stay started well, being shown into a spacious and up to date room. This was followed by a good meal in the restaurant where we were asked to choose breakfast and time for next day. Next day no breakfast, all shut up. After knocking on door and ringing door bell, no response. We were forced to leave with out paying. Phoned an hour later to explain that we had left without paying and breakfast as nobody about. They apologised and said it was due to clocks changing. A lie as that would have made them early. Later when phone to pay they avoided issue, but still took money for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Kippen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kippen

Address: Fore Road, Kippen FK8 3DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range: $85 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Kippen 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kippen is a traditional Inn located in the historic village of Kippen. Nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills with views north to the Highlands. The Inn offers a peaceful and tranquil haven to enjoy great food, drink and accommodation. Food is served all day, every day, within a relaxing ambiance. We have two dining areas offering both a casual or more formal experience. We have comfortable and stylish en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Kippen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kippen Hotel Kippen
The Inn At Kippen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing