We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room & fantastic hospitality”
Review of The Inn at Kippen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Kippen
Ranked #1 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited in October this year, arrived to a lovely, clean and warm room which was a good size and very comfortable.

This is pretty much what you would expect mind, what you wouldn't expect is the extremely warm and friendly welcome from Gordon and his staff. Evening meal was lovely and the array of Whiskeys available really do make this a place to stop if your a fan of a dram or two. Turns out the owner is extremely well known in Whiskey production circles and as such his knowledge is second to none and certainly broadened our tastes.

But thats enough about Whiskey, the Inn is close to both Loch Lomond and Stirling which is a nice town to visit, and its not far from the big two cities of Glasgow & Edinburgh.

Breakfast was also very nice and you could tailor what you wanted. If we had to be picky you could say the menu is fairly limited with 6/7 mains but it was very nice and there was a mixture of meat dishes.

Certainly worth a visit especially if you stay with evening meal and breakfast included in the price like we did, as you can just sit back and relax in the cosy surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky1984_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 207 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a brilliant time when we visited the restaurant last year and this year found that there was a special event on the night we wanted. 'Mushroom Magic' was an informative evening about.......mushrooms and included talks from health, wholesaler and a forager. The taster, starter and main courses were delicious, though sadly not filling enough. However, it was all well organised and it was really good to learn a little more about a humble food. Can't wait for next year! Lucky people who live locally and can experience these evenings more frequently.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We won a one night stay at The Inn at Kippen and had a great time. Our room was spacious and comfy but it was the food that was exceptional. We had a three course meal and the steaks were as good as I've had anywhere. We have already booked to come back with friends in the new year.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms - a twin, a double and a king size. Go king size if you can get it but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donmacintyre1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The stay started well, being shown into a spacious and up to date room. This was followed by a good meal in the restaurant where we were asked to choose breakfast and time for next day. Next day no breakfast, all shut up. After knocking on door and ringing door bell, no response. We were forced to leave with out paying. Phoned an hour later to explain that we had left without paying and breakfast as nobody about. They apologised and said it was due to clocks changing. A lie as that would have made them early. Later when phone to pay they avoided issue, but still took money for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stopped in for dinner on a busy Sunday night. Very friendly welcoming staff, cosy atmosphere &great food reasonably priced. Compliments to Gordon, chef &staff. Will definately return & will definately recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank gmc039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We won a one night stay here and weren't disappointed in any way. A very nice cosy room with a comfy bed and all the facilities you would expect. Apart from the person who checked us in forgetting who we were within ten minutes the service was excellent. A good pint of real ale was enjoyed at the bar but the highlight of the stay was the food. It was the best pub dinner I have ever tasted which, together with a superb breakfast, made this a memorable stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A very LONG WAIT for a mediocre but pricey meal. At £15 for a two course meal I would have expected a better choice and certainly quick service. We waited fully 45 mins. The staff were polite and coped well when obviously under pressure.
Suggest you seek out somewhere else to have a better value and quicker service meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Kippen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kippen

Address: Fore Road, Kippen FK8 3DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range: $85 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Kippen 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kippen is a traditional Inn located in the historic village of Kippen. Nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills with views north to the Highlands. The Inn offers a peaceful and tranquil haven to enjoy great food, drink and accommodation. Food is served all day, every day, within a relaxing ambiance. We have two dining areas offering both a casual or more formal experience. We have comfortable and stylish en-suite accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Kippen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kippen Hotel Kippen
The Inn At Kippen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing