We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden. Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden.
Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
kitchen with electric oven, 5 burner gas hob etc, looking across to the dining and lounging area.
looking across the dining table to the sun deck and garden.
Double bedroom, can be ensuite with shower room. Plenty of space for a cot or spare bed (provided).
Shower room,   Can be ensuite with double bedroom  with super King Size bed.
Twin bedroom. Beds can be pushed together if requested. Close to family bathroom.
young visitors enjoy the tennis court
Ever changing skies over the mountain view from the sitting room, cows grazing in the foreground.
Garrique Cottage from the north, looking across the drive. Private parking on left of the cottage.
Another fabulous sunset as seen from the cottage. J M W Turner eat your heart out!
Garrique hens enjoying the spring sunshine
View of cattle in the farm fields from the double bedroom
Garrique bluebell woods in May.
Curling on Lake of Menteith in winter
view from sitting room on a snowy winter day
Highland cattle wintering in Garrique fields
Toboganning in field beside Garrique Cottage.
Spectacular  sunset over the woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kippen, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Steve G
1 review
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Wonderful setting with stunning views. Fiona was very welcoming. Cottage has everything you need and more and very comfortable. Ideal base from which to explore the Forth Valley and beyond. We'll be back

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“stunning views and peaceful location”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week at Garrique Cottage. It is a great place for a family holiday with two bathrooms lots of space. The setting is quiet and tranquil ( even on a working farm) and the views were superb with walks close by. The couple of miles of unmade roads could be challenging but our Honda Jazz managed it ok. We were made very welcome with fresh eggs on arrival and help when we needed a highchair. Great location and welcoming owners. Enjoyed playing tennis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2015
I am delighted this guest and his family enjoyed their stay at Garrique Cottage but puzzled by the reference to a couple of miles of unmade up road. The road which leads up from the A811 to the bottom of our drive is a tarmac road, maintained by the council. Like a lot of very minor scottish country roads it is not in brilliant condition, but it is regularly jet patched. Part of the joy of Garrique Cottage is that it is in such a quiet location with minimal passing traffic, and no traffic noise or fumes, but still easily accessible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twooldste...
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had we done nothing else while in Scotland, the vacation would have been wonderful because of the view out the front window of the cottage: cows, sheep, vast fields of green, glowering skies with shafts of sunlight, growing things , mountains. Fiona helped us through tourist things and in other ways, and was most gracious. We all had a fine time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: Was a little too cool; deep cleaning needed in stove area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you for coming all the way from California and Pennsylvania. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, despite the fitful weather. It was especially good that your full day coach trip up the west of Scotland to Inverness and then back through the Cairngorm Mountains went so well. We look forward to seeing you again. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penny h
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scottish holiday heaven”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful cottage set in beautiful surroundings. Very spacious accommodation with great outdoor space. Very private garden, ideal for birdwatching. The cottage is in a fantastic location to reach many of Scotland's attractions and historical sites. Just walking from the cottage and taking in the views on a clear evening made our holiday complete!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you here. Come back soon, perhaps in a different season so that you can see different birds. I saw a black eared wheatear for the first time ever the other day, which was exciting, and the woodpeckers are still hammering our fat ball.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marjenmar...
durham
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

7 of us just stayed at Garrique Cottage for my mothers 60 birthday and we can't recommend it enough. The place is even better than the photos show. The views are extensive and extremely beautiful. We had our 3 year old son with us and he had a wonderful time playing in the garden and exploring the stream and pond.

The cottage was extremely well located for days out and we visited Blair Drummond Safari Park (excellent), Blair Castle Highland Games, Stirling, Falkirk Wheel, Lake of Menteith and my parents even ventured to Skye.

There are also a number of good walks from the cottage and I ventured onto the hills behind the cottage where you get an even better view of the area, including 6 different Lochs/Lakes.

The cottage itself is very spacious and very well equipped and we used the sitting room as a 4th bedroom as the lounge diner is sufficient as a sitting room.

We would highly recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all here, and to see you enjoying the tennis court. Also to see your mother relaxing for hours looking out at the changing views of the mountains. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola S
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Highly recommend this cottage, home from home.
Beautiful quiet location, extremely friendly and helpful owners.
Would recommend Gargunnock Inn for food, and a visit to the Wallace Monument is a must.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you Fiona

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HazelK82
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous - perfect place to relax and get away from it all and the views - WOW”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just spent another Easter week at Garrique. It is a great place and the cottage has everything you could need. The views are stunning and lovely walks from the cottage. The tennis court is great and the kids loved it and the family tournaments were hysterical with all our different levels of ability. There is lots to do in the area with Loch Lomond and Callander not far away. We hope to be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2015
Thank you. We loved having you all back again, enjoying the cottage, garden and tennis court.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing