We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to settle in!”
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Kippen
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place to settle in!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We gave this a try with friends visiting from Australia having visited Inchmahome priory not far away. This was a wee gem. Our friends did not want to leave (nor did I, but alas I was driving) and I know this will be one of their enduring memories of Scotland. The food was great, beer and indeed cider went down a treat and the atmosphere just wrapped itself around you. This is the sort of pub Scotland needs to see more of. Charm, great service, great food. What more could you ask?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBunnetGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear The bunnet gull,

Thank you for your positive review. We are chuffed that you managed to find us and had a great time. The staff work very hard to create the atmosphere you so appreciated. Thanks again.

Regards

The Cross Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    42
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great night out!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent night out at the cross keys last Saturday with friends. The food was amazing and very well presented! I was recommend to have the steak pie which I did and it was by far the best steak pie i have had yet!! I must highlight the gravy or jus was excellent with the pie. All draught beers and local ales all went down very well with our party. Great atmosphere, food, drinks and service. Well done to the team!! Many thanks

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrison748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Barry for your kind words. Great to see a local customer taking time to support his local.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food... Warm friendly atmosphere and rustic surroundings... A must!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I can't speak highly enough about the Cross Keys... Warm, friendly & efficient staff... Superb food, rib eye steak melts in the mouth, Moroccan lamb stew bursting with flavour & all presented beautifully... It's the second time I've visited the area for a holiday & since discovering the Cross Keys I've eaten nowhere else... Last nights meal was washed down with their own 1703 Cask Ale "beer at its hoppy best"... Can't wait to return!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pklucky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Pklucky43. I think we were fortunate to see you twice on your last holiday in the area and very glad your experience was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't criticise the food.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Interesting menu; Scottish, North African, European. All well prepared and authentic. Generous helpings, not cheap - but good value. Rustic ambience, a little neglected - in need of some TLC. The young eager service is efficient, welcoming and knowledgeable. Worth a visit, book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank De-novo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had heard about this place and a cold, wet afternoon was a perfect opportunity to give it a try. We were only looking for a light lunch but the menu provided something to suit all tastes. The leek, potato and fennel soup was delicious, as was the bread which could have been homemade. What to have next was more difficult but we eventually decided to share a small portion of beetroot risotto and a smoked chicken toasted sandwich! Our excuse was it allowed us to experience more of the dishes on offer. All the food being served looked appetising with skinny fries appearing to be as speciality. The coffee was great and hot, not the lukewarm stuff so many places serve and it comes with crumbly homemade biscuits. The serving staff were attentive while there can't be many places where the owner goes to Google the answer to a question that had us puzzling. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

Kippen, Stirlingshire
Kippen, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing