We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #2 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed at the Cross keys on the 4th April arriving at 7pm I found the room small we were only there overnight so this was not an issue it was a twin room not a double as I asked for the view from the widows was of the waste bins and there was excessive noise from I think the kitchens bellow us, the carpet was needing a good clean and there was spare pillows in the set of drawer that was brown and stained The meals were ok as were the bar prices The dog in the eating area is a bit off putting when u are having your meal . I purchase the overnight stay from Itison as a try if you like you can return later it was £39.99 I was of the understanding when I booked that there was a £10 surcharge for weekend but we were charged £35 making the room price £79.99 for a room normally charged at £80 I found the management unhelpful when I raised the issue sorry I can not in my opinion recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    40
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton,England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Would agree with all the other positive reviews. Nice cosy pub for a Winter's night, food was good, beer was good (I had a real ale from St Andrews) and the staff were friendly. It's child friendly too. I'd certainly come back here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Foinavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Needed a well earned chilled night away.....and this was the perfect venue in the picturesque village of Kippen. Arrived at 2 pm and was delighted with the character and charm of the inn and the friendliness of the staff. Had a delicious meal in front of the open fire, complimented by a few glasses of chilled Sauvignon Blanc. This was followed by a great night's sleep in a cozy bed in a warm comfortable room. Next morning.......a lovely cooked breakfast, of local produce, including a perfectly cooked poached egg......great way to start the day, and finish off a lovely ' night away' .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second visit to the Cross Keys and we were not disappointed. We were in a small twin room which was cosy and comfortable. We had a few beers in the bar before having a very enjoyable meal with good wine. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love this pub! Delicious food, great atmosphere, friendly service. We had lunch here with family - our relatives stayed here while we stayed elsewhere in Kippen since there are only three rooms.

We have stayed here in the past and would certainly recommend it for a perfect country Scottish pub experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-A-B-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On our way from Edinburgh to Skye we stopped at the Cross Keys for lunch at the pub. There was a good mix of locals and visitors at the place and was a friendly place to stop. The prices were reasonable and the food was good. Also had a chance to walk around the town a little after lunch to read a bit about the history of Kippen and look about. Was a great break on the drive up to Skye.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had an overnight stay here and it was very nice, the room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The food was very good and staff very pleasant. Only downside was it is the only hotel I have ever stayed in with no hospitality tray. The first thing we always do when we arrive in any hotel after usually a long day travelling or sightseeing is to have a cup of tea so we really missed that. Also my husband thought the bar prices expensive, on a par with Edinburgh city centre!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippen
9.4 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
10.7 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
9.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Kippen
The Inn at Kippen
#1 of 2 in Kippen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Property: The Cross Keys
Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Keys 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen
The Cross Keys Kippen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing