We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
92
52
8
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
52
8
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross keys cullen skink gastro pub steak pie atmospheric bar log fire local walks smoked fish sticky toffee pudding lovely little place delicious meal great base for exploring hand cut chips sunday lunch small hotel great night main course
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 160 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely traditional 18th century pub with a roaring log fire and cosy atmosphere. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming and the food is great!! The little village of Kippen is a lovely location and the Cross Keys is a great place for a romantic get-away. It's close to Glasgow and Edinburgh and is a great base for exploring the Trossachs. There's even a lovely little deli to have lunch in....:)

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This 1703 pub may look unprepossessing but don't be fooled, this is a seriously good gastro pub with excellent food and service. The steak and ale pie was rich and generous, the dessert of sticky toffee pudding a delight. Good stuff.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in town for a floral design workshop in late July and early August. Enjoyed four nights at the Cross Keys. Americans can't really understand historic and vintage until they stay in a lovely 1703 country pub and inn like the Cross Keys in a small Scottish village. Compact rooms (would love to have more hooks to hang clothes), nicely furnished, good views, and sitting just above the most delightful pub and restaurant. We ate nearly every meal there - why go anywhere else after a long day working with flowers? The food was exceptional! Live music and local customers made us feel comfortable and gave us what we are always looking for, a non-touristy experience in a local village. Brian, our host, was charming and so very helpful. We lost our laptop at Heathrow during the Olympic crush and he helped us in so many ways to recover it. We can't thank him enough. And the heated bathroom floor was such a treat to the feet!

Room tip: There are three rooms. All are smallish - hey, this is a 1703 building! But nicely and thoughtfully done.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blumenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our host at Lochend Chalets recommended us the Cross Keys and wow the food was fantastic. For starters, we had Tuscan soup which was divine and for the main course we both had the Moroccan lamb stew with bulgur wheat and creme fresh, again delicious. The service was superb and we were well looked after. Reasonably priced.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed overnight last night on the web deal of £100 for 2 including dinner. Great value for money, lovely cosy and comfy room with views to hills and the village. Dog friendly so fur babes also loved. Had dinner by the log fire in the bar, great food and very friendy service. Nice wine list. Meat all from butchers across the road, excellent. A great find!

Date of stay: May 2012
1  Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews