We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of The Cross Keys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cross Keys
Ranked #2 of 2 Kippen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

As soon as you wallk in this pub it has such a good ambience that you wish to stay all night. We visited this pub for our daughters birthday and had a superb meal. There were two in the party that were coeliacs but there was plenty of choice. This is always a good sign when all the staff have good food knowledge.
This pub is a treat in a pretty village. It may be more expensive than traditional pubs but the quality of the food is excellent. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianhcrosskeys, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks for your positive review, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Keys in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely traditional 18th century pub with a roaring log fire and cosy atmosphere. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming and the food is great!! The little village of Kippen is a lovely location and the Cross Keys is a great place for a romantic get-away. It's close to Glasgow and Edinburgh and is a great base for exploring the Trossachs. There's even a lovely little deli to have lunch in....:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This 1703 pub may look unprepossessing but don't be fooled, this is a seriously good gastro pub with excellent food and service. The steak and ale pie was rich and generous, the dessert of sticky toffee pudding a delight. Good stuff.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in town for a floral design workshop in late July and early August. Enjoyed four nights at the Cross Keys. Americans can't really understand historic and vintage until they stay in a lovely 1703 country pub and inn like the Cross Keys in a small Scottish village. Compact rooms (would love to have more hooks to hang clothes), nicely furnished, good views, and sitting just above the most delightful pub and restaurant. We ate nearly every meal there - why go anywhere else after a long day working with flowers? The food was exceptional! Live music and local customers made us feel comfortable and gave us what we are always looking for, a non-touristy experience in a local village. Brian, our host, was charming and so very helpful. We lost our laptop at Heathrow during the Olympic crush and he helped us in so many ways to recover it. We can't thank him enough. And the heated bathroom floor was such a treat to the feet!

Room Tip: There are three rooms. All are smallish - hey, this is a 1703 building! But nicely and thoughtfull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blumenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our host at Lochend Chalets recommended us the Cross Keys and wow the food was fantastic. For starters, we had Tuscan soup which was divine and for the main course we both had the Moroccan lamb stew with bulgur wheat and creme fresh, again delicious. The service was superb and we were well looked after. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed overnight last night on the web deal of £100 for 2 including dinner. Great value for money, lovely cosy and comfy room with views to hills and the village. Dog friendly so fur babes also loved. Had dinner by the log fire in the bar, great food and very friendy service. Nice wine list. Meat all from butchers across the road, excellent. A great find!

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just had a great night in The Cross Keys. Atmosphere was buzzy and perfect for a Friday night. Food great quality, fresh and original but had the classics as well. Short but well chosen wine list. Fantastic local to have on your doorstep.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys

Address: Main Street, Kippen FK8 3DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Kippen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kippen
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cross Keys is a traditional and comfortable Inn nestled in the village of Kippen between the Loch lomond and trossachs national park and the ancient city of Stirling, Scotland. There are three contemporary en suite rooms with heated floors, excellent beds and fresh white linen. The pub has log fires in winter and the beer garden has great view in the summer. Food at the Cross Keys is traditional modern with standards and specials side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Keys Hotel Kippen
The Cross Keys Kippen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing