We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at culcreuch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wedding at culcreuch”
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We got married at culcreuch in November 2004. The weather couldn't have been worse - drizzly rain all day and no photo opportunity in the beautiful grounds. However the staff are so friendly and the place has such a good atmosphere that it didn't matter - in fact everyone crowded round an open fire drinking champagne takes some beating! It is cosy rather than a grand place and not your flashy 5 star place. We found it always clean and the rooms are individual and well furnished with nice bathrooms. As it has only 13 rooms we used them all for guests at the wedding and none made any complaints. I'll admit the Chinese bird room is not to everyone's taste ( not mine either) but it's historic an certainly unique. We ate there a few times and always found the food good - it tends towrd you hearty scottish fare rather than haute cuisine.

I'd recommend culcreuch to anyone who likes lovely scenery and a cosy relaxed and friendly environment with a bit of history.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    84
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
92
158
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2005

Fintry is NOT easy to get to. We drove from Stirling and managed to find ourselves in the 'burbs of Glasgow. However, the route from Glascow was much less convoluted. The drive from the castle to Edinburgh was wonderful!

The castle is nestled at the foothills of picturesque Fintry Hills just north of Fintry. There are woods in the back and a small loch and sprawling meadows out front. The grounds at Culcreuch are certainly worthy of a long walk with your significant other.

We stayed in the Chinese Bird Room. The room was comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The wallpaper is peeling in places, but that's to be expected since it's 200 years old. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, but it was clean and everything functioned properly.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The bar and restaurant service was excellent, and the food was remarkably good and not expensive. The restaurant is popular with the locals, and for good reason.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Culcreuch, and we both highly recommend it for couples looking for a romantic stay in the hills of lower Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank demonspawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 31, 2004

Stayed the evening of 27 October. The chef's food was excellent and it is like hiring your own castle for the night. We stayed in the Keep - a small four poster bedroom with shower ensuite - there are 9 other rooms, had a look at them all - very nice - some with corner baths! The food and service was great and very homely. Would definately return, scenery and surroundings are lovely; with an on site lake with swans.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2004

My wife and I were married here on Sept. 12th 2001. The staff was incredibly helpful with our planning of the event. They participated in the wedding and went out of their way to make it the memorable experience it was. We can't thank them enough!

We enjoyed the accomodations, particularly the pub and resturant deep in the castle. The room (Napier) was pleasant. One must remember you are staying in a 700 year old castle and enjoy the experience! We would stay there again! Food was hearty and tasty, no compaints.

The grounds are simply beautiful.

If you prefer the plush, elegant 5 star hotels that you can find anywhere in the world, then this might not be for you, but if you want a taste of unique, olde Scotland then this is a place for you to try!

  • Stayed September 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 16, 2004

I stayed at the Culcreuch Castle a few years ago and was disappointed.
The staff was not friendly and the room (Chinese Bird Room) was not attractive. The bathroom was extremely small. The place has a lot of potential, but some changes are definitely needed.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing