We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, peaceful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I just looked at some poor reviews and though... "a bit unfair".

My wife and I stayed in Culcreuch a number of times and loved it every time. We like staying in castles and places with character when we go back to Scotland. Culcreuch is our favourite!

Food was always great and the dining room makes you feel more like being at a private dinner party rather than a restaurant.

Stuff are very friendly... yes, I saw other reviews, and I know there is this lady that is... not very happy. Everybody else is fantastic though so don't burn the place for the sake of a one grumpy lady! ;) The manager, Robert is the nicest and most helpful person you can imagine. There is never a problem!

We stayed in a number of rooms and liked all of them. Themed rooms are fantastic! So full of character and far away from the plastic 5* hotels some may expect. I imagine that's why people want to come to Culcreuch.

One recent disappointment however is the change in the dog policy... we got a german shepherd last year so, not happily, but will need to move to dogs friendly castles now :(

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADAMandLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments my staff and I greatly appreciate them. On the dog front we have been a bit wary about this since the last remaining pet room - Courtyard Double was pretty badly damaged. However this is more the dog owners fault rather than the animal. As you are a regular please give me a call when you wish to book again and I will ensure you and the dog can stay in the courtyard room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Was here at the weekend with my husband and 4 friends. We stayed on a 5pm deal which included money towards a meal in the dungeon restaurant/bar. The food and wine was good as was the friendly accommodating service. The castle has an interesting history and is a mixture of old meets new which works very well. It has a welcoming, cosy feel with open fires and a good range of whiskies.
We stayed in the Chinese Bird room which was huge and going with the right attitude you should enjoy the quirky 300 year old wallpaper and cracks to match...we did! It sure makes a difference from staying in the cloned rooms you get in other hotels. Warning though, the shower room was tiny so if you're 'big boned' i'd consider another room.
The deal also included an interesting and tasty chocolate and whisky matching tour at the Glengoyne distillery which was about a twenty minute drive away.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Chinese Bird Room if you are looking for something a bit different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at Culcreuch on Sat 23rd November in a courtyard room. This is our 5th stay at the castle since getting married here in Oct 2011. As always there were no disappointments, wonderful location, comfortable room, open fires, excellent food and staff that are extremely helpful. Can recommend a stay here for any occasion!

Room Tip: Splash out on the Baron suite if feeling flush otherwise a courtyard room or lodge are great value a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benlexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting with friendly staff. Rooms were basic but functional and clean. Castle building was interesting. Was there on special deal wouldn't be happy paying full price. Was nice to sit by log fire on a cold evening. Food was average. Was a good deal overall.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We enjoyed our previous stay so decided to return. We had a different room this time which was just as nice as the previous one with a 4 poster bed, character furniture, seating area, beautiful views over the gardens and a big bathroom. The room was very clean, only wee complaint is the bathroom has a carpeted floor (personal view but I prefer the cleanliness of a vinyl floor) and the little plastic bin looked out of place against the character of everything else.

We slept well because it was so quiet however the bed was extremely hard so felt a but achey in the morning.

We had dinner in the dining room and I had the best duck I have ever tasted. Dessert was a bit disappointing, the sticky toffee apple stack was cooked apples with 2 thin slices of pastry, I was hoping for lots of yummy sauce but it w as unfortunately a bit bland, however the home made chocolate that came with the coffee made up for it.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

The castle is off the beaten track but not too far out of Glasgow so you feel as if you have really had a getaway without a long journey.

Overall another very enjoyable stay and we would return again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the four poster rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent a Saturday night here recently on a dinner, bed and breakfast plan.
It was a very damp, wet, miserable afternoon and after checking in, the weather improved and we completed a circular walk from the castle grounds to Fintry, returning via another gate.
After drinks in a very quiet Lounge Bar, we had a 3-course meal in the 1st Floor restaurant.The food was fine but not memorable.
Our room was comfortable but the shower room, with its lino flooring, was rather a letdown.
Breakfast the next morning was held in another 1st floor room - again generally satisfactory although I not recall seeing porridge on the menu which should be an option in such an environment.
The castle has a reputation for accommodating several ghosts. If one had popped out during the night, it would have been the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed recently at Culcreuch Castle Hotel. Checked the hotel webiste regarding the bedrooms and they looked beautiful. However, the room we were allocated was of a different standard. The decor was shabby and dated and had a most uncomfortable and creaky bed. The pillows were of a poor quality and we did not have a good night's sleep. Sorry, but will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room on the top floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
874 reviews
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing