We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok on a deal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ok on a deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a 5pm deal during the week. The location is beautiful and very peaceful. The staff were friendly especially the receptionist. The room was ok a bit dated , it was two single beds pushed together and it was in the main building as requested. We looked out onto a side building i think held wedding receptions. We had dinner in the dungeon bar and i had one of the specials pasta with mushroom and tomatoes which was a bit bland but to be fair my husband enjoyed his steak . First experience for us staying in a castle and it was ok for what we paid. Highlight was the location and wildlife on the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    81
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
92
154
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Really??? I can't believe the positive reviews refer to the same place we stayed at for a family wedding. I will leave the wedding element aside and only comment on our experience of the hotel stay, in particular our room. Easily summed up as over-priced and shabby. A sign on the (dated) bathroom states that the hot water will run out after a certain amount of time. OK, best to warn people but a plaque on the wall?? Let's just say it was not put up yesterday. Why not get the water issue fixed instead? Shag pile carpet in the bathroom - yuk. The wicker 2-seater chair - since when? I would not have minded if this had been £40 a night but it was way more than this. What really annoys me is that with weddings there is a captive audience, why rip them off? I've stayed in similar 'castles' and very old buildings which have been beautifully, stylishly and sympathetically appointed for similar rates so I feel this hotel offers very poor value for money. Which, whilst I mention it, reflects the bar prices. I can't remember the exact price but a bottle of Cava was around £20 although we were offered Prosecco, oh, at only a few £ more. I expect to pay this in Glasgow City Centre, not a country pub. Maybe the owners think they're running an establishment on a par with Gleneagles?

But what galls me the most is that my husband lost his wallet and wondered if he'd left it behind in the room. He phoned and left messages but no-one ever got back to him. We went on holiday shortly after so there was no point in pursuing upon our return.

Contrast - for the same room price, we stayed in a gorgeous boutique hotel in the 5th Arr in Paris. Upon check-out the receptionist forgot to give us back our safety-box deposit. Our loss, we also forgot to ask for it but 2 days after getting home, we received a letter of apology along with our 20 EUR.

Makes you think....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
So sorry you feel this way about our Castle and I do accept that we do not always get everything right and that we are not to everyone's taste, but sometimes what is written on social media sites are not all together correct. So for the sake of other clients reading I will take some time to go over some of your points.

I agree the bathroom is in need of some refurbishment and will hopefully be done soon. Each room has a domestic sized hot water tank and we are only trying to let folks know that if it does very occassionally run cold it takes a wee while to heat up. We could have put the notice inside the wardrope, but felt it would be noticed more in the bathroom. Since taking over we have refurbished all the public areas on the ground and 1st floor plus 7 out of the 10 guest rooms. Most of this carried out by the reknowned interior designer John Amabile and his team. It is all coming together and we tend to carry out work when we have the money to do so and not take out bank loans and get ourselves into debt. Gosh wish the UK Governments and banks had thought of that one!

The wicker chair - since when? Probably about mid 18th century as it is an antique French wood carved and cane gold gilted settee which matches the bed both worth rather a lot. Maybe not to your taste, but certainly not a "wicker 2 seater chair"! The room is dated about 1721 as it is in "the new extension "of the Castle.

We certainly do not rip off our guests in any way and our rates are compatable with other similar establishments. As a comparison since we took over in 2007 a loaf of bread has risen in cost by 43% (91p to £1.30) petrol by 58% (86.9p - £1.37.5) our tariffs like many hotels have not increased at all in those years despite the Governments increase of 2.5% VAT. So a 0% increase in the last 6 years despite our rising input prices.
Cava is a Spanish sparkling wine and we do not sell it here, we do have a lovely french sparkling wine at £21.95 & Prosecco at £21.95 no price difference our prices are lower than similar star rated local hotels. We are not nor do we think we are Gleneagles we are a 3* AA Small Country Hotel and very proud of it. Just because you mentioned it and so you have an actual comparison a bottle of Cava at the aforemention wonderful hotel is £41 and their Prosecco starts at £45.
Before we leave pricing it might not be well known, but the French(& other European countries) unlike our own money grabbing government allows accommodation providers to charge their rates at a reduced rate of VAT thus making it seem that hotel rates are cheaper than in the UK.

Finally on the possible lost wallet I am afraid we have no record of any message being left regarding this. Also if anything had been found it would have been forwarded onto you. We send many items from jackets, toiletries to i-pads & phones that are left behind on a weekly basis to people all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the lodges on the estate. The view from the lodges was stunning and there was a lovely patio area to sit out. The lodge was ideal for us as we were travelling with two babies. Two travel cots were provided for us. The estate was very scenic and peaceful. We ate in the hotel itself and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful and they had a lot of time for the babies. The food was amazing. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got married here on sat 31st august 2013 what can we say it could not have been any better staff were all amazing friendly efficent and made the day totally stress free. Venue was stunning all our guests loved it and it provided a private intimate venue you would find difficult to get elsewhere lodges were fantastic and guests raved about the rooms. Food was the best wedding food we have had big compliments to the chef ;) the resident hairdresser worked wonders thanks sheila highly recommended. Robert mary ann and alison you are legends thank you so much we cant wait to visit again anne marie and bryn francis xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniemac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Met up with a group of friends - 10 of us in total.
We all had an ample appetising meal served by friendly staff.
Very good value in pleasant surroundings. The restaurant in the bar area
was busy & obviously a popular place for people to have Sunday lunch.
A good find but a sat nav is useful to have as it is a little off the beaten track
if you are not local to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindikibbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed here once for a special occassion in the hotel 2nd floor front facing room, very tranquil and comfortable four poster bed but very spooky room at night , got the feeling we had company . Have eaten in the a la carte restaurant upstairs and had wonderful food with lovely staff serving. Also eaten on numerous occassions in the bar and never been dissapointed, the bar staff are so friendly and helpfull, nice grounds to walk around , only fault is the drive way up to the hotel as very uneven and full of potholes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

There were seven of us up at the lodges and we paid a visit to the Hotel. The food was very good and great value and service was splendid. Most of us plumped for fish and chips with the battered haddock being superb.we are already making plans to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing