We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome wedding venue!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had our wedding here on April 27th...and what a fantastic day it was!!! The location is just gorgeous, the staff were all excellent....this may sound like a rose tinted review but Mary Anne and Robert bend over backwards to give you your perfect day...(they even let me hang my own curtains in the reception room! ) They coordinate well with you and everyone else involved and deal with any issues that arise quickly and efficiently with no fuss. The food was again excellent..we'll cooked locally sourced Scottish ingredients, with generous portion sizes to boot both in the dungeon restaurant and for the wedding breakfast. The rooms were all lovely and spotless too...even the courtyard/stable rooms. Yeah maybe some are a wee bit tired around the edges here and there but we had no complaints from any of our guests....I guess it depends what you are looking for but you have to remember this a 700 year old castle.. it has character! Friends and family also stayed in the lodges and they were great too and good value for money. Overall I can't recommend Culcreuch enough...it has it all....thanks for a perfect day guys! Xx

Room Tip: The Baron , Napier and Honeymoon suites are all just beautiful, the Chinese bird room is full of lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    88
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
97
167
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This castle hotel was our fifth and final stop on our seven day "Castle Tour" of Scotland with another couple. After checkin we were escorted to our rooms at the back of the castle. They were the furthest from "castle rooms" we had seen all week. The two rooms were extremely small with worn carpet and in our room a large water stain with damp and peeling wallpaper down one side of the room. There was only a portal window that was covered in water and we were unable to look out of without standing on our toes. We immediately requested a different room since we didn't want to sleep that close to a moldy wall and were offered another at 40 pounds per night extra. The new room was quite lovely and was what we had expected to have in the first place. Unfortunately our friends were stuck in their tiny room since there was nothing else available due to a wedding. Not a great end to our week in Scotland.

Room Tip: Avoid the "stable rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. During your stay with us we spoke many times and not once did you mention any of this to me. Oh for the good old days when folks used to tell you things that they were unhappy with and not wait to talk on social media sites. Maybe I am just getting old!
Unfortunately your booking was made via a travel agent and they charged and allocated you the rooms you were given not us. All our agents have full discription of the rooms in the Castle and allocate according to the price you agree with them. These were two of our cheaper rooms. The damage to the wallpaper is being fixed and as to water on the window unfortunately I cannot stop rain - oh how I wish I could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff-great food ideal short break .Grounds are amazing and so near Fintry for the Music Festival.

Our Room had a 4 poster bed and was spotless , it had everything we needed + TV had full sat

Ideal Wedding venue are just a place to unwind in front of an open fire.

Room Tip: Very Secluded and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkErineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We, (my husband and our grandson and his wife and new baby) have just returned from a three night break in one of culcreuch's lodges. Check in was speedy and friendly and the reception area very welcoming with a log fire blazing.

Lodge number six is a two bed two bath lodge which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and well equipped. The view was amazing.

I have to mention the staff on duty on Saturday 4 may. Even although they were exceptionally busy with a wedding they still found time to chat with us. We had gone in to the bar for a drink with my greAt granddaughter who is four weeks old and were overwhelmed by the reception we got.

We returned for Sunday lunch and again staff couldn't have been nicer! our table was moved to accommodate the pram and staff were very attentive but not intrusive.

I had creamy mushrooms to start followed by grilled salmon with lovely fresh veg and new potatoes. The others had fish and chips a homemade burger which looked amazing. The white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake also went down a treat.

I will be back!

Room Tip: Lodge 1(and I think 2) are accessed directly from the road, the others have a steep path and steps u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a family wedding, in the snow, mid march.
Although the setting was amazing, the staff, led by Robert and MaryAnne, actually made the day!
Everyone gave of their best,helping a sick bridesmaid, ironing many shirts and being very tolerant of the many children who cluttered up the hallways.
We took all the accommodation not only at the castle, courtyard rooms and lodges but also locally Dundarroch ,Glenview, Overton Farm,The Isles ,Craigton Farm, all in Fintry, and Croft Cottage in Bucklyvie. So thanks to all for making it such a memorable event.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shally_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in one of the lodges via an 'itison' deal which included a voucher for money off dinner in the hotel. Everything was great; the lodges were comfortable, warm and included everything required for our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful both before our visit (request for two travel cots for twin babies was no problem, including lovely clean fresh cot linen) and during our stay. The food in the dungeon bar was wonderful, including meals for two young children and we were all made to feel very welcome (not always the case when dining out with a young family!). The view from our lodge was spectacular and the children loved playing outside in a very safe environment. Would highly recommend for a short stay as plenty to do and see nearby and lovely walking around the estate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend stay at the lodges. The position of the lodges are great and the view was amazing. The lodges themselves were ok. Compact but clean. Had almost everything that we needed. Remember and pack a hair dryer! Part of the deal we were on included money towards evening meal in dungeon restaurant. This was extremely good value for money and the food was excellent.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
848 reviews
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
625 reviews
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing