We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Present from Sister-in-Law” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Present from Sister-in-Law”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My sister-in-law gave us a present of a two night stay at Culcreuch Castle and what a wonderful present it turned out to be! Despite the snowy weather, the welcome was warm and check-in quick and efficient. Our room, Seton of Gargunnock, was warm and comfortable with some nice touches. The view across to the hills was stunning.
Throughout our short stay, the staff were exceptionally friendly and capable.
Food from the menu in the bar was good and reasonably priced but the highspot was dinner on our second night. Perfect game pate, beautifully cooked salmon and duck, and desserts to die for.
The hotel is ideally placed for visits to the surrounding area - towns such as Callendar, Aberfoyle and Stirling.
All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable break!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABFANAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    81
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
92
154
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were married here 8 years ago and decided to go back for a birthday treat. It was still of excellent standard. The cosy fires are very welcoming on a cold March day. The staff are all exceptionally friendly. The grounds are lovely with really old beautiful trees. The rooms were very traditional but warm and the food was excellent. The castle has had quite a bit of work done on it but thankfully it has not lost its old traditional feel, but has been modernised very sympathetically. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are good, but if you have mobility problems you might find the stairs rather difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppykirkintilloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This castle is extremely welcoming and traditional. The grounds are beautiful with stunning views. The staff are very friendly and the level of service was excellent. With only about 10 rooms, you really get the personal touch. Rooms are large and very full of character with antique style furniture, 4 poster bed etc. the food at dinner was outstanding and the intimate dining room was splendid with a roaring open fire and traditional style furnishings. Beautiful setting. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay & can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn0774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on an itison deal and enjoyed it the staff were friendly and very helpfull. We were given the chinese bird room and the keep room and were very comfortable if a little chilly but it was February. The food was good and service excellent very enjoyable

Helpful?
Thank MrBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in Culcreuch's lodges with my family for my husband's birthday and had a great time. The lodges aren't modern and the decor is a wee bit tired but it all added to the ambience of staying in a cabin in the countryside. The view from the cabins is breathtaking of the campsie hills, in fact we all woke up early to see the sunrise on the first morning. The beds were quite firm and took a bit of getting used to though. We got a great deal with Itison which also had given us vouchers to spend on food at the castle. So we ate there on the first night and the food was good. During the day we went to Go Ape at Aberfoyle which is not for the feint-hearted, but great if you like an adventure,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you watch TV shows set in Scotland like Monarch of the Glen and they leave you thinking "wouldn't it be great to go there?" then this is the place for you. 25 mins from Stirling in remote countryside the setting is perfect. The staff are genuinely friendly and nothing is too much bother. The bar is fantastic and the whole experience is one of feeling at ease.

It is not for the techno-fan of the modern world since you will struggle with both WiFi and mobile signals but for me that makes it better.

Room Tip: When you book try and avoid courtyard rooms and ask for one in teh main building - they are superbly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesons2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hi, Reading recent review's would love to agree but add that this castle has just re-opened after renovating we were there for one night 18th january sun was out yes out in scotland cold out but lovely,my first view of this hidden gem warmed my heart took couple pictures outside went in to be greated by lovely helpful staff.Showed us to our room which was lovely decor with baronial furniture which one would expect lovely view over hills yes would did feel like lord and lady for our stay food and llog fires set it all off snowed overnight very lite covering which gave it magic feel about place in morning great hearty breakfast,yes this is a must for return visit in summertime staff and management doing great job . ps: great for walkabout estate grounds or hills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Property: Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing