We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny day in fintry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hi, Reading recent review's would love to agree but add that this castle has just re-opened after renovating we were there for one night 18th january sun was out yes out in scotland cold out but lovely,my first view of this hidden gem warmed my heart took couple pictures outside went in to be greated by lovely helpful staff.Showed us to our room which was lovely decor with baronial furniture which one would expect lovely view over hills yes would did feel like lord and lady for our stay food and llog fires set it all off snowed overnight very lite covering which gave it magic feel about place in morning great hearty breakfast,yes this is a must for return visit in summertime staff and management doing great job . ps: great for walkabout estate grounds or hills.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Culcreuch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed one night on a very wintry January day. The setting and scenery around the castle was beautiful. Staff were very welcoming and friendly and the dinner in the restaurant (with roaring coal fire) was excellent. The Castle has lots of character - as would be expected. Yes, the bathroom could do with some upgrading, i.e. get rid of carpet, and the bed could be more comfortable, but the rest of the ambience made up for that. An extremely relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneRFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I will begin by saying not one for the e-traveller who wishes constant internet connection. This baronial style ancestral great house is perfect for those who wish to have an atmospheric, sample of castle living. It would be impossible to over praise the attention and friendliness of the staff. As this is a great house there are no lifts, so anyone staying has to be prepared to use grand staircases. Open coal fireplaces and wingback chairs in the great library will be the motif of your stay. Having only expericenced the main building and not the function suites, this is a great retreat for those who wish to relax, listen to the crackle of coal fires with a good book and good meals....then mabye jump into the car and expore the local scenery, quaint tea houses and unique shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

A lovely 3 star hotel, food and staff were excellent! Lovely room, small bathroom. Would not take too much to bring standards up - to 4 star!

We had a restless night - spoilt the stay - mattress was past it and desperately needs replaced.

Apart from that a lovely place and worth a visit

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomdenovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we saw Culcreuch Castle we knew it was the venue for us. The castle is in the most beautiful setting. When our wedding day came we were not disappointed. All the staff were amazing. From the cleaners to the bar staff, but mostly Robert, Mary Ann and Alison. They couldn't have done more. Every little detail was taken care of and they made us feel so special.
The food was excellent. On the day but also in the dungeon bar the day before. All our guests were well looked after too. We could not fault it in anyway. Anyone considering Culcreuch as a wedding venue should not think twice. PERFECT.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed on an itison deal DBB and upgraded to the Baron's suite on the 3rd floor. lovely spacious room, good views, well heated, nice four poster bed and sofa to relax on. dinner & breakfast was very good (we ate in the resturant), and the wine list was good and very reasonably priced. xmas tree was up, so had a lovely festive feel to it. all in all it was a lovely romantic night's stay fairly close to home.

Room Tip: not sure what the other rooms would be like, but we would recommend upgrading to a suite.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very pleasant overall experience, with very friendly staff and management, and generally good food. The catering for the wedding we were attending was excellent. Breakfast iffy, a little dry and overcooked. See below re the Chalets

Room Tip: If you’re going there, refuse Chalet 1, until such time as the hotel can assure you that the immersi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lairdielardie, General Manager at Culcreuch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments and I hope you had a safe journey home. Again our apologies for the hot water situation during your stay and I can confirm that the immersion heater problem is fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Crossbasket Castle
#1 of 1 in Blantyre
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culcreuch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culcreuch Castle Hotel

Address: Fintry G63 0LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fintry
Hotel Class:3 star — Culcreuch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Culcreuch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culcreuch Castle Fintry
Hotel Culcreuch Castle
Culcreuch Castle Hotel Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing