We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Scotland we will always remember!”
Review of Dundarroch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dundarroch
Ranked #3 of 4 Fintry B&B and Inns
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A night in Scotland we will always remember!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at Dundarroch one evening on our driving tour of Scotland. What a delightful surprise! Not exactly on the beaten path and quite tucked away in the Highlands. Beautiful home decorated with centuries old family heirlooms just made the visit more special.. We had an amazing breakfast of fresh caught trout from the local stream. Warm, hospital owners provided a great evening, night in the Highlands and tasty breakfast! This is worth the drive up into the Highlands to experience this special place. This was definitely a highlight of our visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLFoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A friend stayed cheer for just one nit but would have gladly have spent all our holidays here. Our hosts were gracious and made. Every effort to make our stay comfortable. The room was warm and inviting, although the ensuite was rather small. The complimentary sherry was a wonderful touch after a cool, damp , evening return walk from the local pub. Breakfast was a feast. It was, by far, the most healthy one we encountered on our two week stay in Scotland. The extra touches at the table made you feel that you were , indeed, " to the manor born." I would highly recommend this B & B to newly weds, couples and singles . Those with mobility issues would have difficulty accessing the rooms.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coolidge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Since this was to be our 'trip of a lifetime', we wanted to find a place that would act as a hub for our travels all over Scotland during the 16 days we were going to be there. My wife spent many, many days selecting and eliminating various places that were available until she finally settled on East Wing Dundarroch, Fintry, Scotland. Since it was technically considered off-season, the rates were right in line with our budget - not a castle, but not the slums either.
How easy or difficult locatiing the property and subsequent picking up the keys and unloading and unpacking into the apartment could very well set the mood and tone for the rest of the entire vacation it was with no smalll amount of trepidation on my part that we set out for Fintry from the hotel in Glasgow where we'd spent the previous night. The directions that had been emailed to us before we left home were a bit intimidating: exit M80 and take the 2nd exit at your first roundabout, go through 2 roundabouts and take the 3rd exit....well, you get the picture, we came from the States and roundabouts, steering wheel on the other side of the car and left side of the road driving were all quite foreign concepts. I shouldn't have worried.
With only a few screams of terror and calls to slow down, to stop for pictures or to get onto the left side of the road - some by my wife - we arrived in Fintry about 30 minutes before check in. So we went back into the center of town where we had seen a sign for the Fintry Inn (more about this place in a coming review) and stopped in for a quick pint and waited until a few minutes past check in to head back to Dundarroch.
Apparently my wife's first knock wasn't immediately audible to the ones inside and so she went one way around the mansion and I went the other. When I finally made it around to where we had parted (I walk with a cane that wasn't built for speed, and also i had to stop every few feet to admire the absolute beauty of the grounds) and I heard my wife calling me from somewhere above me. I navigated my way up the stairs in that directions and met her and the male half of the couple that own the place, Mr. John Duckworth.
Mr. Duckworth had gotten a fire going while they were waiting for me and also helped my wife bring up the suitcases, poor man probably regretted volunteering to help though my wife had packed light and we only had 4 large bags, 2 carry ons and 2 personal bags. (You can see them all on the airport cart in Glasgow she's pushing in one of the pics i have posted on my facebook page.) Anyway, Mr. Duckworth - John, spent the next hour or so telling us all about the area, places to eat and places to see, and even a couple places to do neither. He explained why the nearest grocery was over 5 miles down the road one way, and the nearest petrol station was some 5 miles away in another direction. We were also given an in-depth tour of the apartment, showing us how this and that worked, how to build a coal fire and other various tidbbits.
About an hour later we had unpacked completely and decided to head back down to the Inn for dinner. Just as we got downstairs John was getting ready to come back up to the apartment. I had mentioned that typically in the evenings we liked to watch a movie before heading to bed. They supplied a dvd player in the apartment but due to standards being different between the UK and US I hadn't brought any dvds and there wasn't a rental place anywhere nearby so John had went through their personal collection of dvds and was in the process of bringing them up to us so that we might be able to continue with our tradition - how very thoughtful. He also took the time to explain the various firewood piles, where to get kindling and the very dry wood and alo, because of the immense grounds, that they had a riding lawn mower behind one of the garage doors and we could park anywhere we wished, just give him room to be able to get the mower out.
If you are reading this John, I'm embarrassed to say that we didn't get to even begin watching a single one of the dvds you brought up for us - but we really so appreciate that you took the time to find and bring them to us.
For the rest of the two weeks both John and his wife were much like the perfect butler you see on tv - close enough that they were immediately available should you need anything, but far enough away that you never actually saw them and would barely even know they were there. In fact, pretty much the only time Mrs Duckworth made contact with us was to let us know that they had done an override on the heating system since they knew we were from Phoenix AZ and the standard temperature the apartment was left at might be a bit on the popsicle side for us. It was much appreciated as the first night i was so cold that I made anotherr fire and slept on sofa cushions directly in front of the fire.
The grounds of Dundarroch were absolutely stunning, extremely well kept even though there were only the two of them to do all of the work both inside and out. So many birds in the morning, rabbits running around in the early morning...
Since we stayed in the apartment I can't speak to any part of the breakfast side, but the bed and the rest of the apartment were far more than adequate for our needs and gave us a place to rest and stretch out after long days of driving and touring all over the country.
I highly recommend Dundarroch for anyone wishing to stay in Scotland and get a bit closer to the locals than a 5 star hotel / resort but not as immersed as a youth hostel.  If we are able to come back to Scotland and can't use our new RCI connections, you can bet that we'll be renting from the Duckworths again - if they'll have us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having driven up to this beautiful Georgian country old house surrounded by an equally wonderful garden we received a very warm welcome. We were shown to our room and given some time to settle in before we were invited to a cup of tea in a nicely furnished sitting room with a good view of the garden, where the host later joined us.
We received good tips where to go for supper, either the Fintry Inn or the dungeons of a hotel. We decided for the latter and it proved to be a good choice.

When we came back, we had as a nightcap a glass of Sherry, which was provided in the room. And in the morning we were served a delicious cooked Scottish breakfast.

We had a twin room with a small en-suite bathroom – not exactly spacious but big enough for its purpose. The beds were very comfortable. As the house is a bit off the road it is very quiet – except for an owl at night.

If we ever stay in this part of Scotland again, we will definitely stay here. Our hosts were very welcoming, nice and attentive. The room was nicely furnished and very comfy.

Our only regret is that we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flogsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The owners gave us the warmest welcome when we arrived, then served us tea/coffee in the sitting room! It was the perfect end to a very long day of traveling. The sherry in the room for a nightcap was a very welcome treat. The house was beautiful, the food was great. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heidimalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, NY, U.S.A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Ms. Duckworth was very accomodating and made my Sister & I feel so welcomed. Should have stayed in Fintry to view Loch Lomand, Glasgow and West Coast. The town was scenic and friendly (great pub/restaurant in town). Ms. Duckworth not only provided us with a wake up call for very early morning travel to airport, she provided us with a full breakfast. This in addition to a lovely glass of sherry in your room, which overlooks beautiful grounds with deer, rabbits, birds and lovely setting. My favorite place!!

  • Liked — The hostess and the scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lassie2O08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fintry
5.5 mi away
The Inn at Kippen
The Inn at Kippen
#1 of 2 in Kippen
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Campsie Glen Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Rockfoot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Culcreuch Castle Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Dundarroch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundarroch

Property: Dundarroch
Address: Main St., Fintry, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Fintry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fintry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dundarroch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundarroch Fintry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing