We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queen's Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Bridge of Allan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carisdene(Stirling)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
50
49
42
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
49
42
22
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 183 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We arrived at the Queen's Hotel and were immediately greeted by a lush decor and an enthusiastic and helpful receptionist who showed us up to our Penthouse Double Room. The look of the room was fantastic, great bathroom, stylish fittings, a very comfortable bed and a modern TV. However, we had a Minibar which was actually heating the drinks inside it! We mentioned this to reception and they didn't get back to us.

The restaurant service was truly confusing. We were whisked to a chic table and given details of the specials, recommendations on wine etc. We then ordered our wine and were left waiting to order our food for a further 20 minutes. The waiter finally returned and seemed confused as to why we hadn't ordered. When we finally ordered, our delicious starters arrived straight away.

However, we then waited 40 minutes for our main courses, which were tasty although the chef left certain ingredients out, and then rushed them up halfway through on a sideplate.

The staff were friendly, knowledgable and welcoming, but the inexplicable gaps in service are surely an indication of poor organisation and communication somewhere.

The next morning, we had arranged for breakfast in bed early so that we could have a full day around Stirling. This arrived 20 minutes late, incomplete, and was finally ready to eat in its entirety, 40 minutes late.

Service at that evening's dinner was much improved, despite a busier dining room. The only issue was that my partner received a completely different version of the main course I had had the previous night. It was inferior and indicates that the head chef could not have set a clear template for otherwise beautiful food.

The next morning, we went down for breakfast and having been greeted enthusiastically and having our order taken swiftly, we waited 35 minutes in a practically empty dining room for any food to arrive.

It is clear that the dining room is my main gripe with the hotel, as it truly is a stunning place in a wonderful location, and considering all things but food service it is very good value for money.

Perhaps a little focus on communication between the kitchen and the front of house staff would improve matters, although we found the reception and bar staff to be really accommodating and efficient.

We enjoyed our stay but the 'odd' service means that I would not recommend The Queen's Hotel. If you are mostly interested in a dining experience, I would definitely avoid it. I must stress that the hotel is unique in its appearance and the rooms are comfortable in the extreme. Perhaps the imminent change to different ownership is distracting the management from the here and now.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellevue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My boyfriend booked this hotel due to its location near Stirling as we wanted to see Stirling Castle and had stayed at nearby Loch Lomond the night before. After booking, he received a telephone call from the hotel who said they were fully booked but could accommodate us in a two-bedroom "townhouse" apartment at the back of the hotel for the same price. We accepted their offer but when we arrived, we felt that the townhouse was not up to the 4* standard we had paid for. It was reasonably clean but the inside of the kitchen cupboards were thick with dust and there were several marks on the paintwork. The whole apartment was painted in magnolia and there were no pictures at all on the walls - it was very plain. It felt a bit like we were borrowing someone's flat for a night. We spoke to reception who immediately moved us to a suite in the hotel, which was infinitely better and much more like what we had hoped for. It was very clean and we loved the large TV and the jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was a little disappointing - there was no buffet so you couldn't help yourself to drinks, pastries, cereal, fruit, etc - you had to order everything individually. We were brought some toast - no choice of white or brown - and this came with butter but no jams or marmalades. However, the cooked breakfast was very good. All in all, this is a very nicely decorated hotel with friendly staff and with a few small changes, I think it could easily be upgraded to 5*. If you are offered the townhouse accommodation, be advised that it is definitely not 4* - more like 2* and it is the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lucifer_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel on Fri & Sat this weekend just gone, and I just wanted to leave a comment to advise that the service we received from Ben and all the staff as from the minute we arrived at the hotel was second to none. The hotel itself is gorgeous and great value for money and the friendly staff make it all the better. We will definitely be recommending to others and if possible be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Barbs5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Browsing through laterooms.com I came across the Queen's Hotel in Bridge of Allan. The Hubby and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice weekend away, and what a treat we got.
Arriving late on the Friday night, we were whisked away into the dining room where the staff were attentive and looked after us throughout, even though we had arrived half an hour after last orders.
The rest of the weekend matched this excellent service. The 'Long Bar' on the ground floor offered an excellent choice of drinks, and the bar staff delighted us with their 'banter'.
Set in the new 'Penthouse' development on the third floor our room was slightly smaller than we would have hoped for. With a double bed and a small dressing table there was no room for anything else! However the decor and design was impressive, and the bed WAS comfortable.
Overall, a brilliant stay, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chic_travller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Just returned from an overnight break at the Queens Hotel. Was in room 8 (the larger of the two suites)and we found it In general a really good experience.
Plus points, extremely welcoming and attentive staff, beautiful boutique hotel with some exceptional art work. Spacious suite, well appointed bathroom with a selection of Arran Aromatics toiletries. Evening meal, included in price was excellent value for money and the 21 day old Buccleuch fillet was exceptional and cooked to perfection. Entertained throughout our meal by a pianist with a scarlet Mohican haircut, whose classical selections included Meatloaf, the Bee Gees and Van Morrison...... superb.
Breakfast was delivered to our room (for an extra £5) and was of the same high standard as the dinner especially the porridge with honey.
Negatives, room in need of a wee bit of cosmetic maintenence but nothing major, spa bath was great but you could only access the high setting. The hotel is directly on the main street and there was at times a lot of noise, especially at closing time.
All the above considered we had a very positive experience and felt it was "value for money".

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mairi4416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews