We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner and rooms”
Review of The Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queen's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner and rooms”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went for a family meal with a number of us staying over . Firstly the staff were friendly on check in and the room was facing the Main Street and nicely decorated. The meal we had was excellent with home made Pea and ham hock soup being the highlight. Much improved experience since last time we visited ! Will be going back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie31813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    42
    22
    20
See reviews for
30
75
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms, which are small and poorly laid out but worst of all there is a night club in the hotel and the banging music means you can forget about any sleep - surely the only real reason for staying in a hotel. Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiefinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bridge of Allan hotels

Dunblane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic fun. The equipment, ingredients and method was explained. There was a demonstration of the French Martini and then we made one ourselves...and drank it! Next was one of the hotel's own cocktails a Perfect Passion, which also tasted great. Many thanks for a great night and providing non-alcholic alternatives for the driver!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you have the opportunity to stay at adamo, or at one of the budget hotels, such as premier inn, I would choose the latter.
In adamo, the room was tiny....like prison cell in Peru tiny....with the room furnished with what can only be described as a bed, that looked like a camp bed on the floor.
With the tiny size of the room, the room was like a sauna, with only a small small window (looking onto the roof) for air.
On a plus side, there was plenty of coffee sachets to make coffee, however there was no milk, to make the coffee.
No hair dryer either! Overall wont ever come back here, there are plenty of hotels in the area which provide better basic facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna7694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located right on a busy high street, The Adamo, Bridge of Allan is a bar, nightclub (open till 3am) and restaurant, which also has (as an afterthought perhaps?) 11 hotel rooms. The décor is very attractive and the young, friendly, inexperienced staff give the impression that they would like to be helpful, but things keep going wrong – sometimes amusingly and sometimes very irritatingly.

The car park has spaces for 15 cars (more than the number of rooms) but is seemingly intended for clubbers and not those staying in the hotel. On each of the three nights we were there, we had to park a good 5 minutes walk away.

We found that our room had a kettle etc. but no tea bags – only exotic infusions; we had to ask three times for some tea to be provided. There were damp stains on the ceiling and on our second day we noticed water running down the wall, possibly from a leaking pipe in the room above. We reported this and we were offered another room. We said no as the leak was small and it hardly seemed worth moving. During our final night the leak worsened considerably, which we reported at checkout, only to be told that there was no record of it having been previously been brought to the hotel’s attention.

The bar has signs asking patrons not to make too much noise but the sound of drunks waiting for taxis in the street outside made sleep impossible until well after 3am. This would probably be not quite so much of an issue during the colder months with the window shut, but we were there at the height of summer. We eventually realised that one reason the room was so very hot was that (during the warmest July for many years) the radiator was still on at full blast.

Breakfast is an interesting experience …but not if you are in a hurry. Unlike pretty well every hotel nowadays, the Adamo does not have a buffet. Each day we were welcomed nicely and then brought cereal and tea/coffee without much delay. After this, anything can happen …or nothing at all. One day we waited 30 minutes for our cooked breakfast and, as no one else seemed to be around, had to go to reception to ask where it had got to. The waits were also quite long on the other days and we failed in our attempts to explain that we like our toast with our breakfast, not delivered to the table 10 minutes after the cooked dish. Many of the items on the breakfast menu were in fact not available. One morning every table sent back their ‘coffee’ as the cafetieres delivered contained only hot water poured on to the remains of the grounds from the day before. Ironically the cooked breakfasts were excellent; there is someone in that kitchen who really knows what they are doing – somehow that makes it all the more frustrating.

It is of course better to raise issues with the management before leaving, rather than on TripAdvisor but this did not seem to help. On checking out, I pointed out that we had had a large number of problems. The member of staff on duty did not want to talk about it and simply wished us a nice day!

Room Tip: Probably less noise from clubbers if you sleep at the back. Don't have room 7 till they've f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room was like a sauna with no air con / fan or ability to open window beyond a very tiny opening. Breakfast slow and had run out of 2 items. The staff were friendly but the heat was unbearable. Did not use the other facilities

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1979abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just spent two nights there in a large suite. Shortly after check-in we reported a burned-out lamp, and 48 hours later when we checked out it had still not been replaced. Reception staff double as wait staff simultaneously, and it's a wonder they're not cleaning rooms at the same time. They struggled to keep up with four tables in the dining room, and kept apologizing for being so busy even though 2/3rds of their tables were empty.

While the physical facilities are nice, hospitality services are sub-par. Don't even think about requesting a second key--Adamo is just not capable of handling such requests, even for those paying top rates.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Hotel

Property: The Queen's Hotel
Address: 24 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HP, Scotland (Formerly Adamo Bridge of Allan)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the up-market village of Bridge of Allan, 2 miles from Stirling Town Centre, the Queen's hotel, Bridge of Allan is a luxury boutique hotel with a range of contemporary designed rooms from doubles to suites and a Penthouse available. With a great Restaurant, Cocktail and Lounge bar it caters for all tastes and for the more energetic its very own late night venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamo Bridge Of Allan Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Queen's Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing