We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay. The royal and bridge of Allan have lots to offer”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal hotel when I was up visiting family last week. My wife and I regularly stay up this way and was amazed we hadn’t ever actually been to Bridge of Allan. The hotel is based right on the main street with parking and as it was one of the few sunny days we had a drink outside people watching.

Our room was spacious and very clean (I’ve been informed the rooms are all recently refurbished) and the mattress was extremely comfortable, my wife has a bad back but agreed it was one of the best night’s sleep we have had in a hotel! The receptionist was very friendly even though the hotel was busy she never flustered.

We didn’t have time to eat in the restaurant for dinner but the menu looked tasty. Breakfast was a lovely spread, and the poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

There is a lot going on on the main street, many bars and restaurants and there are also a lot of local sites and beautiful walks around the town as well as some lovely small boutique shops which were to my wife's liking although some are a bit sore on the wallet! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be back next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 we stayed in, spacious bed and room and you can watch the people walking by.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will enjoy dinner with us also.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Firstly, I'd like to say Bridge of Allan is an absolutely beautiful place, and ideal for exploring the Stirling area.
We had booked to stay in the Ivy, but when we arrived the place was locked up and in darkness. Thankfully a local woman walking past told us it was linked to the Royal along the road, and sent us there.
We were informed our room was in the royal, so we ended up spending our two nights there rather than the Ivy.
The heat was unbearable in the room (which wasn't the fault of the hotel, just the freak heatwave!) but as we had our two year old with us we couldn't risk opening the large bay windows as only the bottoms lifted and we were on the second floor.
The hotel does need a bit of money spent, but on the whole the staff very friendly.
The second night there was a wedding on and the music was very loud, as understandably were the guests. Having read reviews saying such before, that's why i had booked the Ivy instead.
Breakfast was alright, if a little slow on the service side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulvarocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to our staff. From a constant review of guest feedback, we have identified the confusion with regards to locations of our Hotels and are taking steps to resolve this.

Our bedroom windows do only open a little. I hope you can appreciate that this restriction is a requirement for health and safety to prevent injury.

While we endeavour to locate guests who are not attending a function on the 2nd floor or in a quieter area of the hotel as there does not tend to be a lot of noise in these areas. I am sorry that you felt it was still loud due to our event.

We find that at weekends the breakfast room fills late and guests do not wish to be rushed and we are sorry this is reflected a slow service.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again if visiting the area.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed after a wedding and were given a reduced rate but even so the room was not value for money. One of the twin beds was at such an angle I was in danger of rolling out of bed. Neither should have been in use. The bathroom had a huge window with clear glass in full view of the car park and the mainstreet which meant you either mooned some unsuspecting passerby or closed the heavy curtains and had to switch the light on - oh for a yard or two of net! The water took more than 10 minutes to run hot because we were at the end of the system. The wedding was great and the food including breakfast very nice but that bedroom was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dundeebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive comments in relation to the wedding and breakfast, enjoyed at The Hotel. I am sorry that you had issues with the beds themselves. These bed are 'Zip & Link' and are specifically designed to be either twin or joined to make an emperor sized bed. On this occasion there seems to have been an issue with the linking mechanism which our maintenance team will check and I thank you for bring it to our attention.

We are a listed Victorian building which you will agree is full of character but because of this are unable to change some aspects of the building itself.
Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you will stay with us again if visiting the area.

Best Regards

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Bridge of Allan is a lovely spot. This hotel ain't. Expensive and in extremely poor repair. The room I had initial was moldy and the paper was peeling off. During my second night the roof leaked, keeping me awake with dripping from about 4am. The next night I was moved in a room that was in similar repair. All of this is ok, but certainly doesn't justify the price tag. The beds in both rooms were victorian at best with a 2 foot dip in the middle.
For the sake of balance I should highlight that the staff were very friendly and helpful and I actually feel a bit sorry for them.
If youcharge top dollar for a room, you have to maintain the rooms and the buildings. There are no shortage of hotels in the area... Please... Find another one.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your positive comments in relation to our staff. We have experienced an issue with a roof contractor which had unfortunately affected some of the rooms. This has now been resolved and the rooms are now being redecorated. I am sorry that this may have detracted from your overall enjoyment but we hope you will stay with us again if visiting the area again and experience the standards of accommodation available at The Royal Hotel.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to the Hebrides. The hotel room we had, at the front, seemed to have been recently refurbished and was very comfortable, with a huge bed and apparently new fittings throughout.

The hotel accepted our dog which was slightly unexpected as hotels of this type often refuse them. The dog wasn't allowed in the restaurant, understandably, but he was welcome in the bar and the hotel staff set up a breakfast table for us there so we could bring him down to breakfast with us and not leave him unattended in the room.

The staff were all very friendly. On the downside, the bar wasn't particularly well stocked and the lighting in our room was quite dim, it could have done with a brighter bulb or two. Finally, breakfast was adequate at best.

I would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the positive comments about our staff.

We are disappointed that you felt our bar was poorly stocked but will address this issue. As we offer a selection of 25 wines many by the glass a range of 20 malts several choices of vodkas, gin and rums as well, it is important to have them all on show for guests perusal!

We have also reviewed our bedroom lighting and improvements to this are imminent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and can offer excellent rates by booking directly with reception, dogs always welcome!

Thanks again for your comments.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at the Royal Hotel on Saturday 28th July unloaded the baggage and baby only to be told that we were not staying in that hotel tonight and would be staying in the Royal Ivy along the road, this was not a good start as thats not where we booked and if this was the case why werent we told this on booking....Arr i ived at the Ivy checked in to be told that our daughter who is only just one had been allocated a sofa bed!!! we booked a family room clearly stating that she needed a cot. The hotel was very busy with what looked like a wedding but i have to say we werent affected by the noise at night. The room itself was big and ok if a little dated but definitely did the job,we were told when checking in that breakfast would be served from 8am the following day. Arriving downstairs at 8am with a very hungry 1 year old and mummy and daddy i expected to be met by staff waiting to take our order but no there were no staff to be seen, i then wandered along to the kitchen area only to be met by what i can assume was the night porter who said that the chef and staff would be here soon.....it was now 8.10am!!! breakfast started 10 minutes ago! i requested a high chair as you do to be told they didnt think they had any but would check when staff arrived, we were they told that they would go along to the Royal hotel to see if they could borrow one, the first highchair arrived back about 8.30 and if i said it was 20 years old i'm not joking! on inspecting the dirty chair i realised that the straps were all broken and there was no means on safely strapping our daughter into the seat. I complained to which they returned with another one which was ok. By this time our daughter had been sat on our knees eating breakfast and we were slowly loosing the will to live. Our breakfast order was taken, it arrived and mine looked like a dogs dinner, the bacon was very undercooked (i specifically asked for it well done) and there was one slice.... my husband asked for poached eggs and fried arrived, all small things that kept making the list longer. I could have cooked a better and nicer breakfast myself to which my husband said the same. On checking out of the hotel we were just getting in our car to leave when a waiter ran over to ask if we had paid...its on the booking system why dont you look, yes we have!!! Overall this stay was unsatisfactory and i will be writing to the hotel to complain, this was not cheap and i would definitely not be recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always grateful to receive feedback of any nature as it is so important in the monitoring and improvement to our products and services.

We are, of course, disappointed the Ivy breakfast service has not met your expectations and have reviewed this process and action taken where appropriate to improve . It has clearly impacted your overall stay for which we apologise.

I do hope that should you be back in the area you will consider staying with us again to experience the improvements first hand.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Parts of the hotel look as if they have had a 30 minute makeover but other parts are in need of some TLC. For the money they charge I would expect a hotel of a better standard of room and service. We're promised the room would be ready by 12 noon never got in till one and the cleaner was still working in the room. Would I go back probably not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FigoSanquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowKaty, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am sorry that when you arrived at 12 noon your room was not ready for you. As our check out time is not until 11 am, our first guaranteed check in time is 2 pm, however guests can request earlier access times and while we cannot guarantee this we do endeavour to have rooms ready as soon as possible, this can sometimes mean a short wait.

I appreciate that this may have affected your opinion of the hotel and apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience.

Best Regards,

The Management at The Royal Hotel & The Royal Ivy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing