We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly hotel.”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly hotel.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I chose the Royal Hotel in Bridge of Allan as part of a Scottish touring holiday, as my daughter's wedding was held here four years ago, and I now live far away so The Royal has sentimental memories. Initial delight at the low cost of (single) accommodation was followed by concern that quality may mave declined. I needn't have worried. The exterior of the building needs some maintenance, however the garden and on-site car park are clean and tidy. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful, in reception, bar, restaurant, and breakfast. Both dinner and breakfast had good menu choices, and were well cooked and presented. Don't stay in Stirling, stay in Bridge of Allan and visit Stirling.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank solemioScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    148
    123
    119
    158
See reviews for
152
281
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

........ and by 'grand' I mean in both the sense of the architecture and style, and the quality of the overall stay experience.

Being mid-October and a late check-in I expected a reduction and was very happy to pay £50 inc breakfast for the night - excellent value.

The room was located on the second floor, accessed by either stairs or a lift (one of those 'old-fashioned' lifts that are great fun i.e. with the gate & door you have to pull across, but can only fit one person in at a time!). Room was a really good size and easily coped with a large double bed, double wardrobe, work-desk and armchair. All usual facilities, and all good quality e.g. flat screen TV etc. Bed was excellent, probably best nights sleep whilst in Scotland.

The interior is typical of a large old property and what you'd expect from the outside - big chandeliers, high ceilings, lots of wood panelling, small lounges with leather armchairs etc..... it's got a really warm feel to it.

I chose to eat in the bar (although the menu is the same as if dining in the restaurant), and would definitely recommend the food - had the steak pie & mash which was full of huge chunks of beef and thick rich gravy - and at just £7-95, cheap at half the price.

The staff were excellent, very professional, friendly and switched on. My only niggle is that it seemed they were running a skeleton staff who multi-tasked between serving in the bar and the restaurant, so on a couple of occasions I had to track someone down to get a beer. No big deal.

Private car park at the front, and a good location right on the high street, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Exterior of building needs some attention. Twin room was small, but clean. WiFi kept fading out if it connected at all. Definitely needed more staff at breakfast. All empty tables had not been cleaned, and service was slow. Nice selection on Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

W stayed here for 1 night only, booked through laterooms, so the value for money was quite good. We had a nice, huge corner room with bug windows, flatscreen, couch, TV/DVD, desk and double bed.
Although the room was facing the main road we slept alright.

Breakfast was tasty, they had quite a big selection. Communication with staff was fine.

For our stay we had good experiences

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at the Royal Hotel on the 13th of October 2012. Everything was utterly perfect. From the rooms, to the decorations, to the food!
I could not recommend a hotel more highly!
Thomas, Gilly and all the staff at the hotel were amazing! Nothing was too much hassle and they were willing to help with anything. The rooms are gorgeous, so big and so clean. The beds are amazing and the rooms are warm and cosy. The shower in room 6 is heaven on earth!!
All of the wedding guests had such a great time and everyone was so impressed with the hotel.
If I had our wedding time over again I wouldn't change a thing.
Thank you so much to Thomas, Gilly and everyone at the Royal Hotel, we will be recommending you to everyone we know.
Sarah and Dave Weir :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COATBRIDGE SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We held our wedding here on 12th October 2012. From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble, Thomas the manager was fantastic, or in the words of my new husband, "a legend". I stayed the night before at the hotel with my bridesmaids, rooms we had were a fantastic size, with everything we needed for the stay. Breakfast was fantastic. On the wedding day everything went without a hitch, thanks again to Thomas.
Everyone commented on the food both our wedding breakfast and the canapés. We had an amazing day, the room was set up beautifully, all done by the hotel. We are absolutely over the moon, with the hotel and stand by our choice of venue 110%
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was gorgeous very spacious, lovely andmodern. The hotel has done gorgeous job at the refurbishments.
Thank to all the staff at the hotel, fantastic.

The bonds

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONDYFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

thomas and team left a perfect lasting impression on our whole wedding party.
my daughter and her husband had the full ceremony & reception at the Royal on 28/09/2012.
the whole team were very friendly and kept asking the 100 guests if they required anything.
thomas has a great understanding of wedding requirements and this is reflected through all the staff.
the ceremony room was well laid out with a great atmosphere, the bride and groom were uneasy at first but quickly warmed to the occasion, helped mainly by good guidance from Thomas.
the function room was WOW from end to end, the meal was top class, the service was quick and staff kept asking if anyone required anything else,
i give Thomas and his team 12 out of 10 for everything they did for my daughters wedding.
our rooms were more than adequate and not one of the 60 guests who stayed over had a bad word to say about the hotel.
however i did notice some areas that require some repair / redecoration, i mentioned this to the hotel and i did see work in progress.
the ouside grounds have a nice small area for photographs, the hotel should advertise this as a selling point for future weddings.
late evening and first thing in the morning the staff were out clearing up the mess that we left behind, the bar took record takings, so just imagine the mess left by 100 hungry, thirsty, party mood scots.
i was aprehensive about the wedding being held in the Royal after reading reviews on trip advisor, my fears were quickly put to rest and we all had a great time thanks to the efforts of the whole team.
we ended our stay by having breakfast, another perfect event, well done the royal, you don't deserve the negative feedback from some of the guests or did they ever stay there?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcdowall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing