We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Exterior of building needs some attention. Twin room was small, but clean. WiFi kept fading out if it connected at all. Definitely needed more staff at breakfast. All empty tables had not been cleaned, and service was slow. Nice selection on Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

W stayed here for 1 night only, booked through laterooms, so the value for money was quite good. We had a nice, huge corner room with bug windows, flatscreen, couch, TV/DVD, desk and double bed.
Although the room was facing the main road we slept alright.

Breakfast was tasty, they had quite a big selection. Communication with staff was fine.

For our stay we had good experiences

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding at the Royal Hotel on the 13th of October 2012. Everything was utterly perfect. From the rooms, to the decorations, to the food!
I could not recommend a hotel more highly!
Thomas, Gilly and all the staff at the hotel were amazing! Nothing was too much hassle and they were willing to help with anything. The rooms are gorgeous, so big and so clean. The beds are amazing and the rooms are warm and cosy. The shower in room 6 is heaven on earth!!
All of the wedding guests had such a great time and everyone was so impressed with the hotel.
If I had our wedding time over again I wouldn't change a thing.
Thank you so much to Thomas, Gilly and everyone at the Royal Hotel, we will be recommending you to everyone we know.
Sarah and Dave Weir :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We held our wedding here on 12th October 2012. From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble, Thomas the manager was fantastic, or in the words of my new husband, "a legend". I stayed the night before at the hotel with my bridesmaids, rooms we had were a fantastic size, with everything we needed for the stay. Breakfast was fantastic. On the wedding day everything went without a hitch, thanks again to Thomas.
Everyone commented on the food both our wedding breakfast and the canapés. We had an amazing day, the room was set up beautifully, all done by the hotel. We are absolutely over the moon, with the hotel and stand by our choice of venue 110%
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was gorgeous very spacious, lovely andmodern. The hotel has done gorgeous job at the refurbishments.
Thank to all the staff at the hotel, fantastic.

The bonds

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BONDYFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

thomas and team left a perfect lasting impression on our whole wedding party.
my daughter and her husband had the full ceremony & reception at the Royal on 28/09/2012.
the whole team were very friendly and kept asking the 100 guests if they required anything.
thomas has a great understanding of wedding requirements and this is reflected through all the staff.
the ceremony room was well laid out with a great atmosphere, the bride and groom were uneasy at first but quickly warmed to the occasion, helped mainly by good guidance from Thomas.
the function room was WOW from end to end, the meal was top class, the service was quick and staff kept asking if anyone required anything else,
i give Thomas and his team 12 out of 10 for everything they did for my daughters wedding.
our rooms were more than adequate and not one of the 60 guests who stayed over had a bad word to say about the hotel.
however i did notice some areas that require some repair / redecoration, i mentioned this to the hotel and i did see work in progress.
the ouside grounds have a nice small area for photographs, the hotel should advertise this as a selling point for future weddings.
late evening and first thing in the morning the staff were out clearing up the mess that we left behind, the bar took record takings, so just imagine the mess left by 100 hungry, thirsty, party mood scots.
i was aprehensive about the wedding being held in the Royal after reading reviews on trip advisor, my fears were quickly put to rest and we all had a great time thanks to the efforts of the whole team.
we ended our stay by having breakfast, another perfect event, well done the royal, you don't deserve the negative feedback from some of the guests or did they ever stay there?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcdowall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were touring round Scotland and whilst looking for somewhere to stay came across this hotels website. Unfortunately there was no information about anything other than standard rooms so I gave them a call and said I was looking for a room for 2 nights what did they have available?

Was offered a 'Junior Suite' at £80 per night including breakfast - standard rooms were £52.

On arrival we were booked in to room 6, the lady on reception said they had just put the heating on so it should be warm soon - unfortunately there was no heating control in the room so the radiators blasted out heat all night without us being able to regulate it and unfortunately being on the front corner opening the windows meant that the noise of the lorries and busses stopping at the bus stop right outside our window kept waking us up.

The bed was a king size made of two beds joined togetherhowever the left hand bed base was broken so the matress sunk in the middle, also the left hand bed base had a wheel missing so it was at a little angle to the other bed and slightly below - we mentioned this to reception on our way out for the day and were told she would get maintenance to look at it. We had put a pillow under the matress to try and bolster it up in the middle (perhaps future users of the room can tell us if the pillow is still there :) ) On our return that evening there was no mention of what if anything had been done, or could not be done, or offer of moving us to another room or anything. When we got into our room it was clear nothing had been done and it had not even been looked at - we had made the bed to a fashion and it remained as we had left it.

Whilst the tea and coffee had been replenished, no more biscuits - you must only get one biscuit each on the first night, and one bath towel and the bath mat had disappeared - we had hung the bath mat over the bath and the towel on the towel rail so room service would not need to change them but they had vanished, so we had to go and ask for replacements.

After a busy day we looked at our room information menu and decided rather than go out we would eat in the hotel as there were a few very scottish dishes on the menu which took our fancy - sadly that was the old menue and the hotel has changed its menu so none of the items we wanted were available anymore. We even asked if they could do any of the things we wanted as the same items appeared withindifferent dishes on the menu but were told no they couldn't. It would have been nice to have updated versions of the menu in the room.

There is wi-fi available in the hotel but I think our room was on the edge of it and the signal kept dropping off so we had to go to the lounge to use the internet.

At check out the lady asked if everything had been alright with our stay and we mentioned that unfortunately we had a broken bed and had mentioned it the day before but nothing had been done about it - polite conversation was stopped and the bill presented.

All in all while the 'Junior Suite' is obviously a larger room with a sofa which could become a bed so probably doubles as a family room I wish we had not paid the extra as our room was nothing special and with a broken bed I personally feel it should not have been sold to us.

If your going to stay here take a standard room and don't expect attention to detail.

Room Tip: If offered room 6 check under the matress for a pillow :) and test the bed before bed time to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishTourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Son and new Daughter-in-law held there wedding at The Royal. 25/8/12.Thomas the manager and his friendly staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them. The Ceremony room was set out to our requirements, the Function room looked amazing and tables set out as requested. Thomas was the perfect master of ceremonies and ensured the whole day went like clock work. Our choice of menu was perfect and the food and presentation amazing. I would recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a venue for there wedding day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max91Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Allan
9.3 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
2.6 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,008 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
589 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 55 Henderson Street, Bridge of Allan, Stirling FK9 4HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bridge of Allan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bridge of Allan
Price Range: $80 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan
The Royal Hotel Bridge Of Allan, Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing