We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening with friends”
Review of paparazzi - CLOSED

paparazzi
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Paparazzi is located on a prominent corner site offering outdoor seating. Within - breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks are served from 9am to Late, Mon-Sat, 10am - 9pm Sun. Specialising in Italian & European cusine. Handmade Pizzas and Burgers, Pasta, Steak, Chicken, Fish, Salads and much more - all presented with flare and using the finest ingredients. A late morning or afternoon homemade scone or cake and finest coffee, fabulous breakfast, delicious lunch or a wondeful dinner are all on offer. An open kitchen allows customers to see their food being prepared to order. Staff are mixologist trained and a fantastic cocktail list and outstanding wine selection is guaranteed. Quality and value within modern, chic and comfortable surroundings is our policy. We are proud of our team and what we do. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome very soon.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal here with friends on Sat 10 November. The food was well-presented and tasty. The young staff were pleasant and professional. Our table near the window was a little cold when we first arrived but we warmed up quickly. We felt that the lights were a little bright but this didn't spoil our evening.

Thank you for your hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Innes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papmanagement, General Manager at paparazzi, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your night with us! Great news...we too found that sometimes in the winter it could be a little chilly and summer a little warm, as this was a new build restaurant the heating and cooling system was not quite up to par. We have just completed an installation today of a new air conditioning and heating system which will keep the whole restaurant at a constant temperature day or night, winter or summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great savoury pancakes! Food is really good, well presented and good portions.. Service could be improved.

Thank Emj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papmanagement, General Manager at paparazzi, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Glad you enjoyed the food. Sorry to hear the service was not up to scratch. I understand from the fact you had pancakes you dined during the day from our lunch menu. We have employed 4 new day-time service staff who are in training and apologise if during this process we were not at our usual level - i promise we will be soon. We do have the "U tell me" waiter call pod system onb every table in order that should we ever fall down on service or miss something, our customers can "call" a waiter at the touch of a button - this is our back up just in case as we are firmly dedicated to providing optimum service at all times. Of course, no excuses, it is not the customers responsibility to call on us for premium service and we will try to do better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We did originally post this review back in August, it appeared for a wee while and has now mysteriouslly disappeared - we've got Scooby Doo and the gang on the case!!

Anyway, Viv and I visited one afternoon in August. We had popped to another pub in B of A for lunch but they'd stopped serving food so we mosied on down to Papa-paparazzi.

We both had panninis and shared some fries - with a pint and half shandy the bill was around £20. To be honest, the food was no better than the usual pub grub you get anywhere, it was frankly over-priced.

On the plus side, the service was very good - the waitress was friendly and we didn't wait long for our food.

If price isn't an issue, you might enjoy it. We haven't dined during the evening, however the food during the day wasn't anything special.

Hope this helps

Bubaye for now

Viv and Rick

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Terrible. Ordered a steak which was served on a rectangle plate that it did not fit on, and was therefore impossible to cut. When raised with the manager we were told it was "style" and he never offered an apology.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank stuarticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papmanagement, General Manager at paparazzi, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

The last time we were at numberone position, we had several negative reviews to lower our rating - now same, three in a row, well - seriously? a one star "terrible" because you got a rectangular plate?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not able to review...properly.

We arrived for a pre dinner drink with our guest from New Zealand in our small party of 4, before we were going elsewhere for dinner, (possibly a good thing?).

Immediately refused service at the bar by the 'Manager' at 7.50pm as they "had a table of 20 booked for 8pm". Nobody else in the restaurant. Odd. Our party could not believe it.

The 'Manager' was not for serving 4 glasses of wine, and on checking carefully that he was absolutely sure we could not have a glass of wine, despite being well staffed with staff waiting around with everything set up, he confirmed in no uncertain fashion it was not possible, even if we were out by 8pm!

How do they pay his wages with this attitude?

On being extremely embarrassed along with our guest, and checking carefully the 'Manager' was absolutely quite sure he really didn't want our custom, and there was no mix up in what he was saying, we then made our exit.

Our New Zealand guest will no doubt have informed herself of Scottish hospitality at its best...NOT.

Nothing can excuse such an embarrassing experience and it must had been a 'bad night' for the man 'in charge'.

    • Service
3  Thank James69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papmanagement, General Manager at paparazzi, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Unfortunately when a customer - or potential customer is upset we remeber it vividly as it is thankfully a rare occurance. Much of what you say is correct, you arrived at 10 minutes before 8pm and by-passed the bar and manager to sit at a window table which was reserved. When the manager approached you to inform you that unfortunately all the tables in that section were booked - you responded "what, all of them?" he said in fact they were as a large party had booked them all for 8pm after a wedding at a nearby hotel (see earlier reviews from this party stating same and thanking us for our service etc). You stated that you were only having wine and you would be quick. As all of the tables were pre-booked, we politely informed you that we could not give away the table you wanted - it would be grossly unfair to the iminent arrivals to not be able to seat them and we would hope that any fair-minded person reading your "review" would understand and agree. You then qualified the situation by asking something similar to: "so we can't sit here and have a quick drink then.." We offered you available tables on the other side of the restaurant which were unfortunatley all two's - as the remainder of the restaurant and balcaony area were fully booked, this was not acceptable to you. We ask what more we could have done under the circumstances? It truly makes a mockery of trip advisor when people who were actually not customers can post a "review" such as this to maliciously attack a venue when said venue acted fairly and politely, but had an absolute duty to honour the reservations of pre-booked patrons who were arriving within a few minutes on their special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed paparazzi also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing