We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really excellent”
Review of La Cucina

La Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
La Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: modern italian restaurant ideal for lunch and business meetings during the day and night, serving a la carte meals with the emphasis on daily specials.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“really excellent”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Delightful mid-sized Italian, which is full of local people, always a good sign. We ate there twice as a family of 4 in the week we visited Scotland. Excellent on the phone, charming staff who were attentive, knowledgeable, and who seemed to enjoy the pace at which the restaurant operated. Nothing too much trouble, the staff looked after our 2 children superbly. The food was really excellent, and was very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    95
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We took advantage of the early evening dinner offer which was £8 for 2 courses, or £10 for 3 courses.... we opted for the latter. The food was very tasty and the service was efficient and friendly .... would go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSB-Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This restaurant was able to cater for a group of seven walking up with no wait to be seated. The décor is good with several interesting features. The only bad point was the wait for the food but it was worth it - the pizzas were amazing and the staff were very apologetic and provided a free group starter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We ate here on Thursday 61.7.2014. Quite simply this was one of the best meals in an Italian that I have ever eaten. Friendly staff, great food and reasonably priced. Cannot speak too highly of the whole experience. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

La Cucina is the place we eat in most locally. The service is always excellent and the food is of a very high standard. The 2 course early evening menu for £8 is exceptional value for money, the portions are large and the food is always delicious. We often take our two kids age 8 and 6 with us and the staff are so friendly and accommodating with them. Our son adores the bruschetta there!
A pity there aren't more places in Bridge of Allan as good as this!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsmacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Doune, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing