We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but worth it”
Review of Vecchia Bologna

Vecchia Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful quite setting, private gardens and large car park. open 7 days lunch and dinner
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Brilliant restaurant. Have been there countless times and never been disappointed. Food is wonderful and tastes authentic. Every time we go we have soup and pasta. The soup tastes like home-made and the pasta takes us back to Italy. Best Italian for miles!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zog F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    106
    22
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came on a groupon deal and were very impressed with the food. I realise that any restaurant does not make much in the way of a profit through groupon but use it as a way of getting new custom. In our case this certainly worked as we purchased a loyalty card and returned the next day for Sunday lunch with an elderly parent. Both times the food was excellent and good value. As we are both non-meat eaters we found the choice to be more than acceptable. The waiting staff were attentive, chatty and friendly and, judging by the number of people in the place (on both days) the restaurant was very popular. We intend to make this a regular haunt, hence the loyalty card. I was very tempted to give this a 'terrible' rating just to read what the owner would have written in response as we read his comments and really enjoyed them!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlloaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner2055, Owner at Vecchia Bologna, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir
thank you for your positive comment.
Nowadays i try not to reply to ANY comment but in this case you put a smile on my face and i wanted to thank you for it. !!!!
I am afraid indeed to come across as a person not willing to accept criticisms and i would have liked in the past to have been able to say : Yes you are right we made a mistake. Unfortunatly i know that at least 2 of the negative comments were left with malicious intent. For example the one were the reviewers have only posted a negative comment for my restaurant and then nothing more for the last 2 years.!!! One more was posted by a friend of a person we employed for a few days....but there i am again ,taking this matter probabilly too personally.!!!!!!!! Just let me thank you for the opportunity to let vent my disappointment for having a good score spoiled.
Regards
Claudio & the menichetti Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went there with a Groupon deal and had a two course lunch with coffee.
We hadnt been there before but will definitely go again.

We had the pate and the tricolore salad both of which were very good and with substantial portions. We then both had pizza and it was one of the best I have tasted - thin base but lots of topping.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super place to eat- a gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The restaurant is lovely and spacious. The staff are very polite and helpful.
The food was superb. My husband had mussels and I had a salad to start. Both delicious. For our main courses we had sea bass with veg. and a spaghetti bolognese. Super mains.
This is a great place to eat and the menu was varied and catered for everyone.
I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely restaurant.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Used a groupon voucher for an early evening meal. good selection to choose from. i had minestrone soup followed by chefs spaghetti. the soup was delicious, full of veg. good portion of bread and butter served too. chefs spaghetti was very tasty, couldn't fault it!
Restaurant was very quiet when we got there but soon filled up.
Staff all very pleasant and attentive. Will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsG_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Bologna also viewed

Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Doune, Stirling
 

Been to Vecchia Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing