We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great value”
Review of Strathaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Strathaven a few times when on business and have just booked in again.
This is a lovely hotel with well decorated rooms, very friendly and hospitable staff and and is an excellent location for my travels.
Food is really delicious - on my last stay I had the most fantastic haggis with neeps and tatties - to die for - am really looking forward to my next stopover !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 283 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business.

The staff were great as was the food, excellent chefs.

The big letdown is the building in particular the rooms. Yes its an old building but the interior looked worn and shabby. No lift means you have to carry your cases up two floors.

Beds are hard and very uncomfortable, I hardly slept at all. Mini bar is a good idea but only if its switched on and stocked. No red wine is just criminal and a warm G&T just isn't British!

Ample parking and quiet surroundings are plus points.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

After booking our wedding 18 months ago cannot fault Sheila the manager. Everything was done to finest detail and ran like clockwork on day.

I stayed over night before wedding in room 2 which was spacious and had all you would require for your stay. Breakfast was great as was all food. No one was hungry after wedding meal. 4 courses of which I could not finish even on tasting night.

The thistle room (honeymoon suite) was lovely and I had some wedding pictures taken there before leaving for church as so nicely done up.

Would definitely recommend hotel for a wedding or just a meal.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at The Strathaven Hotel from Friday 9th November 2012 - Sunday 11th November 2012 as part of my friends bridal party, my friend was having her wedding reception at the hotel on Saturday 10th November 2012!

For people considering a short overnight stay to people considering having their wedding reception at the hotel I cannot recommend highly enough The Strathaven Hotel!

Check-in was easy and pleasant, rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable with all amenities you would expect, i.e hairdryer, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and mini toiletries, staff including the owner Shiela were very friendly, efficient and attentive and the food was fantastic and they certainly didn't skimp on the portion sizes!

A very picturesque building with beautiful gardens.The Wedding Reception room was also transformed and decorated beautifully and a great day was had by all!

Would definitely stay at The Strathaven Hotel again!

Room Tip: A room on the top level to avoid hearing people coming and going from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui270Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently attended this hotel for the 'Ladies who Love to Lunch & Shop' annual festive lunch and stalls. For the last 3 years we went to Lochgreen but the 17 of us decided to have a change. We were greeted by the owner on arrival,then coffee and shortbread , then a cookery demo from 'The 2 sisters', then a look round the stalls. We then had a fabulous 3 course lunch with choices, followed by truffles and coffee. After lunch we were treated to a fashion show from a local shop and then it was back to do more shopping. What a great day out- we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding and thought overall that the hotel done a great job. A bit dated in decor but the service, food and cleanliness was very good. Good rates too for wedding guests and a served, not buffet breakfast, which is always nice! Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicthechick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 19,20 th oct 2012 . The occasion , our sons wedding. From the moment we arrived, till the moment we left we were made really welcome. The wedding went really smoothly thanks to all the staff involved in making it special for all concerned. The food was excellent and plentiful. All in all an excellent weekend that will be remembered for a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathaven
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#4 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,468 reviews
11 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
10.5 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
614 reviews
7 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathaven Hotel

Address: Hamilton Road, Strathaven ML10 6SZ, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Strathaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Price Range: $100 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strathaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Strathaven
Strathaven Best Western
Strathaven Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing