We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stay”
Review of Strathaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding and thought overall that the hotel done a great job. A bit dated in decor but the service, food and cleanliness was very good. Good rates too for wedding guests and a served, not buffet breakfast, which is always nice! Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicthechick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    73
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
61
62
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 19,20 th oct 2012 . The occasion , our sons wedding. From the moment we arrived, till the moment we left we were made really welcome. The wedding went really smoothly thanks to all the staff involved in making it special for all concerned. The food was excellent and plentiful. All in all an excellent weekend that will be remembered for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pluto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel in the Hamilton and Motherwell area, for which this is ideally placed.

My room was small and compact but adequate. The food was good, the service acceptable.

The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever has the displeasure to have tried to sleep in and I'm away in hotels 100+ nights a year.

I complained and asked to move room and was told they were full. Not what I was hoping for. I said the bed was rock hard and it was impossible to sleep. I was told " all our beds have firm mattresses". Not what I was hoping for. I managed 3 hours sleep and contemplated a) sleeping on a chair in the lounge or b) going out to my car. Not what I was hoping for

£164 bill for 2 nights, when a Premier Inn wouldn't have charged me... I'll take my business elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were allocated a smoking room - which as non-smokers was a bit annoying. I assume the hotel was busy. Anyway a bit of a spray of my impulse and the stale smoke smell soon lifted. The radiator didn't work very well and needed a bit of tweaking. The room was very small but clean and really nice. We were also just at the top of the stairs so very noisy. At 7am the next morning we were woken with giggling from the reception area which was directly underneath us.

We had dinner in the lounge on the first evening and the food was fantastic. Really reasonable - £12.99 for two courses and £15.99 for three. Portions were quite generous as well. Breakfast - good choice of cereals, fruits, yogurt. We had the full Scottish breakfast first morning. Generous portion - the sausages weren't very good but the rest was fine. The second morning I had the smoked haddock and poached egg which was delicious.

Location wise it was perfect for a wander through Strathaven.

Room Tip: Don't get a smoking room at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we visited this hotel as many of my ancestors were farmers in the area in the 19th and early 20th century.

It was a great base for our genealogy week, we spent 4 nights here in April 2011 ( I have only just discovered this site (tripadvisor.co.uk) and enjoyed my stay so much I wanted others to see the review).

We found it an excellent hotel, the staff and the owner were in particular exceptionally kind and helpful. I would like in particular to mention Jessie who served us our breakfast on several occasions for her extra-special service.

The area was beautiful and we were blessed with warm weather for all our stay, which made at all rather heavenly for both me and my wife.

If you want a quiet place to stay in the midst of rolling dairy farmland and tidy little towns and villages then this is a great choice. That its so easy to get to is also another plus, I'd recommend this Hotel every time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergus cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

It wasn't my choice of hotel. It was a bit chintzy and old fashioned for my liking but i prefer the contemporary hotels, but it was warm and comfortable and clean. Was right next to the town which was good. Staff were friendly and courteous, nice big breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
733 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, both on business and for leisure. This time we booked at very short notice (on the same day), and managed to secure a room. As usual our welcome on arrival was pleasant and friendly. The room again as usual, provided high standard and comfortable furnishings. We had a meal in the hotel bar, where the range of dishes on the menu and the quality of food was very good. This visit produced the usual good service and the Strathaven Hotel will continue to be our first choice when requiring accomodation in this area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathaven
11.0 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
10.5 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
579 reviews
6.9 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
591 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathaven Hotel

Property: Strathaven Hotel
Address: Hamilton Road, Strathaven ML10 6SZ, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Strathaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Strathaven
Strathaven Best Western
Strathaven Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing