We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a meal”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a meal”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went here for a family meal out. The staff were very attentive, the food was presented excellently and most importantly it tasted excellent.

We started off with starters, 1) prawn cocktail, 2)laphroig (I think!) smoked salmon, 3) chicken liver pate and 4) goats cheese. All were presented very pleasing to the eye and tasted great. We went on to mains 2 of the 4 had salmon, the other two had steaks. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal and the steaks were presented with real chips (none of your frozen rubbish here) which delighted us diners.

We had a bottle of wine with the meal and the the whole shebang for 4 people came in at under £120

What's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H00ded_Claw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    185
    110
    66
    45
See reviews for
119
268
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very helpful staff, supported my daughter very well as she is a Ceolic, they catered for everything. Nice surroundings and nice people. Excellent for a family, Get room no 11. The pool faclities are good, showers cold, may be a one off. Food in the restaurant was great. Keep the prices low and the service great we will come back.

Room Tip: Room 11 is great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rupslakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here when visiting relatives locally. Externally the hotel looks in need of a touch up (balcony in disrepair over the main entrance) but we were pleasantly surprised with the decor in the public rooms and our bedroom.

There is a pleasant hint of Charles Rennie Macintosh in the entrance area and our bedroom was furnished in pleasing shades of chocolate and lighter colours. The bed was extremely comfortable and the en suite facilities were perfectly acceptable.

The dining room was well presented and the staff were exceptional in their wish to make our stay enjoyable. We only took breakfast at the hotel and this was delicious with a good choice of eating options available. The public areas were comfortable with gas log effect open fires and comfy chairs.

Our only disappointment was that the bedroom lighting was extremely dim (not uncommon in hotels nowadays). I applaud the efforts to save energy/costs but when you cannot read in bed...............?

The location with the river Clyde at the bottom of the garden is superb and is ideal for visiting local attractions.

We did not use the spa facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on Saturday the 12th April 2014 for one night in room 23. When we arrived I was pleased with the general reception and public areas and could tell the hotel had had a refurbishment as the last time I had been in the hotel was 24 years ago when my husband and I got engaged there.

However, my happiness was soon spoiled when we entered our room, to say I was disappointed is an understatement as there was a faint hint of dampness in the air in the room/bathroom and the room was depressing , it was a throw back to the 80's, very dated and bleak. A layer of dust was on the bed frame and the furniture was chipped and run down looking. I did ask to be moved but I was advised that they had no free rooms apparently. The bed was hard and 2 of the pillows were like stone and the duvet was limp and flat, we had a pretty uncomfortable night.

We booked on line but nowhere on the website did it say the hotel was undergoing refurbishment, and the picture of the standard room was not a true reflection of the room we were given, very misleading indeed. We asked to be moved but apparently there were no free rooms. On the positive side the staff were friendly and the food was good but check with them first before booking that you are not getting a non-refurbished room as mine was so depressing!

Room Tip: check your room has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Only stayed one night and did not have dinner as at a family party. What a pity one of the most comfortable beds I have ever experienced. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast excellent. Only a short visit but if we are in the area again we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Large impressive public areas and very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was decorated really nicely and a good size with a king-bed and great bathroom. Very enjoyable stay.

Fantastic bar areas with logfires and loads of comfy seats. The menu was fairly extensive and the quality of food was very good. Bar / waiting staff were excellent and the breakfast was excellent.

Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return ......only one comment......maybe the hotel could provide better quality pillows as we each had 3, but they were all thin, hard ones!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for a night in January, the hotel was warm and very welcoming, and our room was very lovely. We also had dinner during our stay, the fish and chips was amazing, as was all other food we had. The only down point was that there wasn't very much to do nearby, but the rural location made it very peaceful and allowed for an easy escape from everyday life. The spa and pool was closed during our stay so we are unable to comment on them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitburnWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
580 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
639 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
23.6 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing