We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spa break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely spa break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend visited the popinjay through a voucher we purchased. We checked in a the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We both booked a massage and a facial and this was amazing. The masseuse was fantastic and really worked her magic on us. We also visited the leisure suite which had a nice swimming pool, sauna and a jacuzzi. Towels were provided for your use. There was also loungers by the side of the pool to allow us to relax.

We had dinner here, my friend had pate served with 1 but if toast, she had to ask for extra! She also had the lamb shank which she said was delicious. I had mussels to start with but they were a bit bland and had haggis for my main course and this was delicious.

Our room was lovely but a bit small.

Breakfast was delicious and there is lots to choose from on the menu.

All in all we had a lovely visit and would most definitely return.

Our only qualm was the price of drinks, a 250ml glass of wine was in the region of £6 which I thought was a bit steep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kglancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and while we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the yourt stay overall, we are sorry to hear you also had some disappointing comments to make. Rest assured we have taken your points on board and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a second visit. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    178
    108
    60
    41
See reviews for
113
258
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just had one night's dinner, bed and breakfast, received as a voucher/ christmas present. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were welcoming, as was the fire in the reception area. The room was warm and spotlessly clean. The dinner was excellent....I would recommend the steak and ale pie! Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGirl1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
A huge thank you from us all. A warm welcome back awaits you! With kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight as a gift- we asked for an upgraded room and got it-
Room no 12- well decorated, not huge but you don't need much more- bathroom was modern and very clean. Beds were comfortable.
( we seen the room that we should have got and although the bathroom was done up, the room was very tiny and hadn't been part of the refurb)
Food was lovely in the bistro- very nice indeed and staff were all lovely.
Breakfast buffet was very nice too- although perhaps abit disorganised.
Reception were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellnjazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your detailed and generous review. We are glad you had a wonderful visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I don't know how finicky people can whine about this hotel, it is fantastic value for money and if you can find better in the area with leisure facilities and high quality food then I'd like to know! This hotel has excellent staff, especially Craig in the bar/restaurant, very personable and chatty, as are all the staff. The food is high quality and tasty, however I am sure there's a Mcdonalds locally for those people expecting a burger & chips for a fiver. You pay for what you get and what you get is well presented, high quality food. As with all of the hotel, there is a contemporary feel in the rooms with free wi-fi (chargeable in most chain hotels), comfortable bed, hot shower and tastefully decorated. The spa is excellent and never too overcrowded with a large pool, spa pool and sauna, clean, well maintained and with helpful, friendly staff. So, many reviewers need a trip to specsavers because they seem to be staying at a completely different Popinjay Hotel & Spa to me! Love this place and will continue to use every visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Popinjay Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for yor comprehensive and very complimentary review of The Popinjay Country In & Spa House following your recent stay with us. Excellent and friendly service is one of our hallmarks and I am pleased to know that you were so well taken care of by our team members. We very much look forward to your return visit. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night after a last minute decision. This venerable old lady in the Clyde Valley has had a partial make-over with some work still to be done.
The Perch bar and bistro is a smart but casual area and our dinner fitted this theme. Starters of a nostalgic prawn cocktail and steamed mussels passed muster. Mains of veal escalope (good) and pasta in tomato sauce (average) were acceptable. A glass of beer, G&T and a bottle of acceptable wine was reasonably priced.
Our bedroom was well furnished with a clean and functional bathroom. We faced the front of the hotel and the aged single glazed windows meant the early morning road noise was rather intrusive and disturbed our sleep.
Overall our stay was good value for money.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room overlooking the garden to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

this is a beautiful little hotel with lush rooms and nice gardens and nice walk to the garden centre for light lunch the food here is also excellent all in all a very nice stay, the staff are most helpful and accomodating to any special needs you have

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamcgee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were given a voucher for Christmas and the night of the 15th Feb was booked for us. We arrived to be met with a few people smoking outside the door which didn't appeal to us whatsoever. On check in the receptionist was very helpful and asked if we were there to attend the Michael Buble tribute night as we didn't know anything about it she said we could have this offer inclusive of the price that was paid so we said that was fine we weren't doing anything else other than dinner anyway. We went to our room and on the way there the carpets were filthy with drink spillages everywhere and we could hear a dog barking from one of the rooms.We entered our room and it was evident that it had never been refurbished for decades. The bed was small, the duvet cover didn't even fit the duvet and was hidden by a throw. The cupboard was so small we couldn't even get our jackets in it. We had to lean to the side to sit on he toilet due to the sloping roof. The carpet was so dirty with drink spilled everywhere and the furniture looked as if it was well worn and had seen better days. At that point we nearly went home, we thought we'd better try to make a night of it and got ready to go to the tribute night, we got there and the service and food to be fair was good. The tribute act on the other hand wasn't so we left after the second song and tried to get a seat at the bar but others had the same idea so we made a retreat to the cupboard we were given as a room and stayed there all night. I didn't sleep a wink, heard the dog barking and the bed was so hard it felt like bricks. We packed up around 7.30am the next morning and went for breakfast, that was ok but we waited ages to get asked if we wanted coffee after that we made a very swift exit and left. I was never so glad to get home. Apparently there is refurbished rooms in the hotel however these old ones must be the ones they offer for the deals. We are looking for venues for our daughters wedding but I would never in a million years ask anyone to stay in those rooms for an hour never mind a night. I was really disappointed as it was a gift and we were asked on check out how it was and we didn't want to complain at the time as we didn't pay for it. It wasted my weekend that is a night I will never get back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing