We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night break”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“1 night break”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here on 11.02.2013 for 1 night Dinner bed & breakfast £65 special. Arrived and was given a good welcome by reception, check in first class. Went to room and very chic, leisure centre was well appointed fresh warm towels. Dinner was superb. Breakfast was ample. Check out very efficient. Great stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and friends in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie260960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    187
    115
    71
    45
See reviews for
123
270
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Popinjay, excellent staff, wonderful food, excellent leisure facilities, well equipped rooms with strong wi-fi, very comfortable bed in a quiet surrounding, I never had a bad stay here and always get a fantastic room rate - why stay anywhere else?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited this hotel about 6 years ago when looking at wedding venues, however were not very impressed. On first impressions the refurbishment looks good, nice friendly check in and we were shown to our room 17. The room was small but nicely decorated with a lovely en-suite bath/shower. The window was frosted glass which was a bit odd but as the view was out to the back of another part of the hotel, there would not be much to see anyway. The window was open when we arrived so we assumed this was the reason the room was cold, we shut the window and settled in, however the room did not heat up and we discovered that the heating did not appear to be working. We reported this to reception who said someone would look at it. We went for a coffee in the bar and went back up to our room about an hour later. Our card key was not working (both of them) so my husband went back down to reception and got another two. Once in the room again it was colder than before so obviously still no heating, my husband went down to reception again and said the room was really quite cold and could we please get someone to sort this. We dressed quickly for dinner and someone came to look at the radiator, which he said needed bled and went to get some tool and said he would be back. We went down for dinner at 6.30pm, hoping by the time we returned the heating would be sorted.

The food was very nice but looking at the prices we were glad we had a voucher for £40 off our bill. We ordered a main course and some drinks, the main course took some time to come but was beautifully presented and we didn't mind too much. After our main course the waitress took the plates away and we sat for some 45 minutes, nobody asked if we would like a desert or any more drinks, we eventually managed to get a waitresses attention and ask politely if we could see a desert menu, I think they had forgotten about us as our original waitress seemed to have vanished, this was probably why. We asked for the bill and waited again for some time before getting up to leave and sorting the bill out at the bar. Please don't get me wrong the staff were polite and very nice but we had two courses and had been in the restaurant for almost 3 hours, service was painfully slow. We returned to our room where, the radiator was still cold and the room very cold. So yet again my husband went down to reception and asked them to please do something about it as it was unacceptable. The same staff member came back with another female member of staff who managed to bleed the radiator and get the heat back on finally. We did however feel very bad since the lady in question was quite obviously expecting a baby shortly.

The hotel is old and you can hear every creak, there was a rhythmic tapping noise intermittently which obviously sounded louder once the tv was off and everyone had gone to bed. In the morning my husband went for a shower before breakfast and there was no hot water to be had. We noticed the washbasin the night before but as we were just washing hour hands it was not too big an issue, however you do expect the shower to be working properly. We washed as best we could and went down for breakfast. it was okay but nothing special buffet style but no other cooked to order food. Even the coffee and tea was served in an urn and when my husband went to get a cup of tea there were no cups just dirty empty ones that people had used. Some of the hot food needed replenished but nobody appeared to be checking this or doing anything about it. We packed up and left shortly afterwards and did inform reception about the shower which they apologised for.

We went on one of the Great Deals vouchers and had we paid full price for this would have been demanding some money back.

The hotel has made some good improvements, however there does appear to be some underlying issues which need to be addressed with the plumbing. Rooms should be checked before guests arrived to ensure that the heating and showers are working properly. Service needs to be quicker and if staff go off ensure that whoever is taking over knows what stage customers are at with their meals. Pricing in the restaurant and bar is too expensive for a small country hotel and needs to be more realistic.

I will say however, the staff at all time were polite, apologetic and a credit to the hotel, there does appear to be the same staff doing a variety of different tasks at the same time, which leads to long delays or things being forgotten. I don' t think we will be back any time soon but hope that the hotel will read the feedback and deal with these problems.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to the Popinjay last night with my wife for dinner and an overnight stay They were charging
17.50/£19.50 for a bottle of rose wine a disgrace.
We got a phone call in the early hours of Sunday morning our 19 year old son had been taken to hospital we had to leave early without paying the bill for £11,58 even although we missed having breakfast due to an accident they still took the money from my wife today when she phoned the hotel. So Popinjay you owe us a breakfast which we have paid for.

Room Tip: Bring the price of your wine down
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Editha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days. Allocated room18 it was a disabled room but we were not disabled. However our friend was and they were allocated room 19. This was also disabled so was ok. We decided not to move. This was a mistake as the shower room got completely soaked once you had a shower and so did the toilet, sink and shelf. Shower room smelled of damp. Room it's self was ok but view was of a junk storage area. Lighting is poor and not suitable for reading or working. The food was good but portion sizes varied. I had the Niçoise salad as a starter on first night it was excellent so decided to have it as a main on the second night. It was 6 pounds more and the same size as the starter. Service was slow on both nights but the waitresses and young manager were friendly and helpful. I was especially impressed with the waitress on the second night who asked if everything was ok, informed the relative people of our complaints and then later came back to check it had been dealt with. The delay was due to the kitchen staff and not the waiting staff I may add. We were suitably recompensed when we checked out.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is just lovely, could not find any faults at all. The food was brilliant, great selection of foods, catering for all, and very reasonably priced. Drinks a bit expensive though, £6 for a glass of wine, you tend to expect that from hotels. Also a great selection for breakfast too. The spa, jacuzzi, swimming it was all just so relaxing. Good size pool, spotless too. Highly recommend it, I will definitly be booking to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to The Popinjay last Sunday for my Birthday.

Went on Glasgow Great deal offer, fantastic value and exceeded all expectations. Spa really nice, service excellent, amazing food.

We stayed in a refurbished roon with a four poster bed it was great.

Cant recommend this hotel enough, we will definately be back.

Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask fir a refurbished room if they hace obe....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrightyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing