We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply..fab!!”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply..fab!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is just lovely, could not find any faults at all. The food was brilliant, great selection of foods, catering for all, and very reasonably priced. Drinks a bit expensive though, £6 for a glass of wine, you tend to expect that from hotels. Also a great selection for breakfast too. The spa, jacuzzi, swimming it was all just so relaxing. Good size pool, spotless too. Highly recommend it, I will definitly be booking to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    187
    115
    71
    45
See reviews for
123
270
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went to The Popinjay last Sunday for my Birthday.

Went on Glasgow Great deal offer, fantastic value and exceeded all expectations. Spa really nice, service excellent, amazing food.

We stayed in a refurbished roon with a four poster bed it was great.

Cant recommend this hotel enough, we will definately be back.

Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask fir a refurbished room if they hace obe....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrightyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked with Glasgow Great Deals and for what we paid you could not fault a thing. Our room was beautiful, food and service were very good! The Beef and Ale pie was a treat. The spa area looked nice but we didn't use the facility.. We enjoyed our night stay and would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alis0nh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went to popinjay for Christmas dinner and couldn't leave quick enough. The food was cold, horrible gravy poured all over the top of our turkey, no potatoes on our plate and we were brought the wrong meals for our starters. We ate our Christmas dinner listening to all the complaints from the handful of other diners. We all left as soon as we'd finished and won't be returning. Shocking attitude from manageress on receiving our complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifu033111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

After a disastrous Christmas Day dinner we wrote listing some complaints. Comments from manageress displayed after each comment
* we were given a combination of lunch and dinner menus displaying prices for pre Christmas Day meals - wish we had only been charged pre Christmas Day prices. Not £65 each that we wasted.
- staff made a mistake because the covers were the same.
* two wrong starters brought to the table.
- will ensure staff pay more attention.
* wrong drinks were brought.
- will ensure staff pay more attention.
* wine bottle and glasses had sugar type sediment.
- Sauvignon Blanc has sugar sediments.
* steak was not cooked as requested - blood showing.
- should have returned it.
* one main course had no potatoes.
- this should have been returned (along with the steak dish)
* plates were cold.
- no comment.
* all food on plates either cold or only luke warm.
- all meals should have been returned.
* turkey and steak meals swimming in same gravy which was only thing hot. It was however, too rich for the steak and not suitable for the three turkey meals.
- manageress will ask chef about this.
* tables were being repositioned while we were still eating.
- manageress said tables should be cleared but not repositioned.
* floor was swept while we were still eating.
- manageress is unsure why floor was swept.
* total lack of Christmas atmosphere.
- many guests seemed extremely happy.
* conversations at other tables were all of similar complaints.
- many guests seemed extremely happy.
As we were trying to make the best of things we decided not to complain during our meal - really don't think it would have made any difference anyway! When we did complain comments by staff reinforced that they too were aware and indeed embarrassed by the quality of the meal. Our drink bill (approximately £35) was withdrawn. We only accepted that as we sympathised with this man having to deal with this situation on Christmas Day. This gesture did not compensate for the sub standard performance of staff and appalling standard of meal.
I feel our letter of complaint was dismissed by manageress and we will never return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were married in this hotel in 2008, since then we try to get back every year. It is an older hotel with character.

The refurb is excellent and food amazing for the cost. When all rooms are done I would find it hard to fault the popinjay for location, character and service.

The spa area is great, this is really clean and modern

The Glasgow great deals are a great help allowing us to enjoy a wonderful overnight at a great price.

We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Only half of the rooms have been refurbished, if they have availability you will get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a deal through Glasgow Great Deals. On reading reviews I called to make sure we had a refurbuished room. Reception staff poliet, appologised when we arrived as she was on phone. Our room was lovely, went to pool it was nice. Booked our dinner for 6.30 as we were glad the other time slot we could have got was 8.30 but it was really busy then as we noticed from sitting in the bar. Meal was 1st class, quality great. Staff at bar friendly & helpful especially Jackie who advised my husband on walk routes around the area, also the chap who was on reception that night. We had room 8, in the morning we realised we were next to a generator room as at 8am a noise began it did waken us but we were getting up early anyway, if you want a long lye make sure they don't give you room 8. Did didn't bother us. Breakfast was great, I also asked for poached egg& got it. Enjoyed our stay & would return.

Room Tip: Room 8 refurbished and very quiet room except at 8am a generator started think probably to to with k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamfoil96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing