We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Christmas Dinner”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not for Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

After a disastrous Christmas Day dinner we wrote listing some complaints. Comments from manageress displayed after each comment
* we were given a combination of lunch and dinner menus displaying prices for pre Christmas Day meals - wish we had only been charged pre Christmas Day prices. Not £65 each that we wasted.
- staff made a mistake because the covers were the same.
* two wrong starters brought to the table.
- will ensure staff pay more attention.
* wrong drinks were brought.
- will ensure staff pay more attention.
* wine bottle and glasses had sugar type sediment.
- Sauvignon Blanc has sugar sediments.
* steak was not cooked as requested - blood showing.
- should have returned it.
* one main course had no potatoes.
- this should have been returned (along with the steak dish)
* plates were cold.
- no comment.
* all food on plates either cold or only luke warm.
- all meals should have been returned.
* turkey and steak meals swimming in same gravy which was only thing hot. It was however, too rich for the steak and not suitable for the three turkey meals.
- manageress will ask chef about this.
* tables were being repositioned while we were still eating.
- manageress said tables should be cleared but not repositioned.
* floor was swept while we were still eating.
- manageress is unsure why floor was swept.
* total lack of Christmas atmosphere.
- many guests seemed extremely happy.
* conversations at other tables were all of similar complaints.
- many guests seemed extremely happy.
As we were trying to make the best of things we decided not to complain during our meal - really don't think it would have made any difference anyway! When we did complain comments by staff reinforced that they too were aware and indeed embarrassed by the quality of the meal. Our drink bill (approximately £35) was withdrawn. We only accepted that as we sympathised with this man having to deal with this situation on Christmas Day. This gesture did not compensate for the sub standard performance of staff and appalling standard of meal.
I feel our letter of complaint was dismissed by manageress and we will never return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    187
    115
    70
    45
See reviews for
122
270
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were married in this hotel in 2008, since then we try to get back every year. It is an older hotel with character.

The refurb is excellent and food amazing for the cost. When all rooms are done I would find it hard to fault the popinjay for location, character and service.

The spa area is great, this is really clean and modern

The Glasgow great deals are a great help allowing us to enjoy a wonderful overnight at a great price.

We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Only half of the rooms have been refurbished, if they have availability you will get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked a deal through Glasgow Great Deals. On reading reviews I called to make sure we had a refurbuished room. Reception staff poliet, appologised when we arrived as she was on phone. Our room was lovely, went to pool it was nice. Booked our dinner for 6.30 as we were glad the other time slot we could have got was 8.30 but it was really busy then as we noticed from sitting in the bar. Meal was 1st class, quality great. Staff at bar friendly & helpful especially Jackie who advised my husband on walk routes around the area, also the chap who was on reception that night. We had room 8, in the morning we realised we were next to a generator room as at 8am a noise began it did waken us but we were getting up early anyway, if you want a long lye make sure they don't give you room 8. Did didn't bother us. Breakfast was great, I also asked for poached egg& got it. Enjoyed our stay & would return.

Room Tip: Room 8 refurbished and very quiet room except at 8am a generator started think probably to to with k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamfoil96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recently took my mum, sister, grand-daughter, great niece and great nephew out for lunch to the Bistro at the Popinjay Hotel, Rosebank. Unfortunately the lunch turned out to be a bit of a disaster from the food, which was poor, to the inattentive waitress service.

The waitress staff passed our table on several occasions leaving unused glasses and dirty plates to clutter our table. They were inattentive during the whole experience, we even had to ask for the dessert menu. The service was extremely slow between courses.

We did complain to staff about the quality of food at the time (waitress apologised) and before leaving the Bistro and charges for a pasta dish and creme brulee were removed from our bill.

Staff also failed to notify us of the light lunch menu options e.g. baked potatoes, nachos, etc. which the children may have preferred, if they had been given the choice. It was only when we were leaving, we noticed the menu sitting on one of the high tables in the bar area.

This was our first visit to the Bistro which proved to be a disappointment.

LizB

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizBGlassford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked a deal through great daily deals arrived at the hotel first impression reception staff ok, got room 19 one of the rooms not been upgraded, the room was very run down dirty,rips in the chairs, marks on the bed and linen dirty so went back down to reception told them how bad the room was and she asked US if we asked for a refurbed room when booking, how we we know this. She then gave room 4 which was a refurbed room but as you walked into the room we were overwhelmed by the smell, a plug in air freshener had been put in to cover up the smell but could still smell it, it was like blocked drains.
We decided to turn the air freshener off and open a window go for some lunch in the bistros and see how it was when we came back. Food in bistro was average decided not to have a drink as we had not decided to stay. After lunch went back to the room and the smell was terrible, my husband went to wash his hand and no hot water, so tried the shower and no hot water or pressure. Let it run for 5 minutes but still cold.
Decided we were not staying and told the reception staff about the issues and his reply was the water does take 10 minutes to come through. Left and went home.
Put this down not reading reviews on the hotel, horrible hotel. I believe the restaurant food is good but got a bad feeling about the place. I paid £65 for this deal which included £40 drink and food voucher.
I would rather loose this than stay, don't waste your money rooms and staff not nice.

Room Tip: Refurbished room request
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm not gonnae go through all the details of what I had in the restaurant to eat however I do wish to say, that this Chef has to be commended, brilliant menu, brilliant food, throughout, perfectly made perfect to eat! Total delight from starters through to desert!

Spa facilities, good! Although to much chlorine in Hot Tub, eyes were agony on exit! Pool and sauna very good though aswel as gym facilities.

Room was very poor, I stayed on Room 2, and although the room was nicely decorated there was staining on the roof, the shower was poor quality with very little pressure. The main thing about the room was the heating, well the lack of it! The room was beyond freezing due to the large 3 old windows allowing drafts in at every angle!

Complained about this at 2300 hours, on returning from bar expecting room to have heated up since we left the room at 3 after checkin but It hadn't, no heater could be found, no other alternatives provided! And a restless/very cold and uncomfortable night was bad! No incentive provide to return on again complaining at check out! Disappointed

Breakfast was good!

Fair and honest review!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I, joined at the last minute by our parents, received vouchers for an overnight stay for Christmas. We used the facilities in the spa, had a clean, comfortable room, and had a fantastic meal, followed by a superb buffet breakfast before departure. The very helpful young, enthusiastic staff, especially Holly who was our waitress at the evening meal, were fantastic and catered for our every need, nothing was a problem for them. We had a look at one of the suites before we left, and if you are willing to spend a bit more cash, then what a treat it would be for your loved one. A fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All rooms, apart from the suites, are identical but comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing