We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous stay in room 10. Quiet room facing the garden, small but very comfy with free wifi. Dinner menu is extensive, husband had the sea bream and I tried the battered fish and chips both excellent Breakfast offered plenty of choice, hot and cold dishes. Service was very attentive and efficient. Will def go back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayshereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 630 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Pleasantly greeted and directed to a superbly modern 4 poster bed en-suite spacious room with usual complimentary hot drinks facility and toiletries. Delightful afternoon tea, sandwiches,scones & cakes.Used spa facilities,sauna jacuzzi & pool. Evening meal was outstanding. A great choice menu. My wife enjoyed a melon starter that would have been a joy as a dessert and my haggis, neeps and tatties tower was so good. .Mains of roast of the day - ham with healthy portions of roast pots &veg and sea bass on a nest of puttanesca spaghetti were excellent.Very nice bar and lounge areas. Breakfast presented table choice of juices, cereals, yogurts,fruits and continental breads,cheeses & cold meats and full cooked breakfast with all the favourites was super hearty. Start to finish every member of staff was pleasant & attentive.We enjoyed a super midweek, getaway from it all, relaxing break.Popinjay is amazing and projects the very best in hospitality.

Room Tip: numerous rooms overlook their seated garden area, neat view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stumbled across this hotel via Late Rooms and have used it regularly ever since on my visits to Scotland. Awesome value for money, £55 - £65 including a hearty full cooked breakfast (served to your table not buffet rubbish), full use of their lovely spa and pool. Free wi-fi, occasionally had free bath robe, slippers and chocolates on bed. Food is excellent, very good choice and high standard. Hotel is very tastefully decorated and lovely gardens to walk around with plenty of off street parking. Situated near Carluke, off the beaten track which I love to get a bit of peace and quiet from a hard days work. Cannot find a single bad thing to say about this hotel. Compare to unattractive national chain hotels for the same or more money I would never consider anywhere else but the Popinjay. Outsanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent one night in the Popinjay in Sept. We made use of the spa facilities and ate in the restaurant. The food was very tasty (the cheesecake was wonderful!). The room we had was very comfortable although the bed was a little spongy! My lasting memory of this hotel will be the very friendly and efficient staff who looked like they were happy to be working at the Popinjay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We purchased the KGB £65.00 deal. We managed to get a re-furbed room. It was very comfortable and clean. We had a lovely evening meal with wine and a fresh and tasty full scottish breakfast. We used the pool and spa facilities, which were great. Nice and quiet midweek stay. We had a very relaxing short break. Would go back if this deal ever came up again. Negative was that some areas of the hotel are a bit tired.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hally1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Recently stayed for one night at the Popinjay Hotel with a Glasgow Great Deal Voucher which cost £69.

Despite being booked for several months and booking a twin room, on arrival my friend and I were allocated a double room, on attending at reception to highlight this we were advised hotel was full and no twin rooms available!

Hotel was chaotic with guests from the previous days wedding, 60th birthday party and kid's parties ongoing as well as the other "Glasgow Great Deal" Customers.

Room was compact but decor nice, shower was temperamental, one minute freezing, next minute boiling hot, numerous spiders crawling about bathroom too. Difficult to sleep in the room at night as it was way too hot even with window open!

Afternoon tea was included as part of the deal and to be honest was extremely poor, took ages to be served as hotel so busy and when it did arrive wasn't worth the wait, a few finger sandwiches, one tiny fairy cake and a couple of partial bits of madeira cake along with two scones (the scones were nice!!!)

After afternoon tea, used the "spa" facilities - swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room, facilities fairly average. Parts of the hotel fairly dated and tired!

Also part of the deal was £40 credit for dinner/drinks at the hotel restaurant - The food was amazing, cannot fault the dinner and highly recommend the haggis, neep's and tatties starter! We had 3 courses each and calculated that the £40 credit covered all our food and that we would only have to pay for our drinks - a diet coke, a rose wine and 2 bottles of water. On checking out we we're charged £17.90 for these drinks and on querying it we're shocked to discover the bottles of water cost £5.00 each!!!

Breakfast was okay, not as good as dinner, a range of cereals, fruit and cooked food was available.

Staff we're very friendly and helpful.

Don't think I would go back for an overnight stay but would definitely go back for a meal!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui270Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for an overnight spa break with my friend who had purchased Glasgow Great Deal Voucher.

On arrival we checked in and were given our room which was room 8. On entering the room we were met with a small double room. When we had booked a twin. On going back to check in desk we were told there was no twins left and only thing she could do was give us 2 rooms which wasn't what we wanted to have separate rooms.

We then had afternoon tea booked as part of the deal which we were booked for 3pm. we arrived and was met with staff who were clearly struggling to keep up with the busy restaurant. We waited 20 minutes for our afternoon tea to arrive and then never seen a staff member again. We were not offered a top up of tea or another drink or even if everything was ok. The afternoon tea was poor and very disappointing the sandwiches were stale and cucumber or beef and the cakes were a small slice of maderia cake.

We left there and went to the spa area. We got there and waited to be greeted and shown through but no one came so we found some towels and went through ourselves. The pool area was a bit tired but had a sauna and jacuzzi and some loungers. There was no steam room.

The dinner was served in the restaurant and was lovely. The food was reasonably priced and very good portions and very tasty.

The bedroom was very hot and due to its small size was uncomfortably so. There was tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. The bathroom could do with a freshen up and the shower was terrible. I got scalded with the water as it was either freezing or boiling and only a trickle came out.

On check out we got the bill for the drinks and was shocked to find that a bottle of water which we were offered with our dinner had cost £5. Tap water in a jug would have been fine. The wine wasn't cheap either at £6.25 a glass.

Overall as much as the deal was a cheap price the hotel let it self down on the little things. I had looked at this hotel as a potential venue for my wedding and am glad to say i picked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
624 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
8.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
11.1 mi away
Torrance Hotel
Torrance Hotel
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Popinjay Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Popinjay Hotel and Spa

Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range: $71 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Popinjay Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Popinjay Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing