We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Popinjay Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Radstone Hotel(Larkhall)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bentley Hotel(Motherwell)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathaven Hotel(Strathaven)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel(Motherwell)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
196
200
127
77
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
200
127
77
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrefurbished roompool and jacuzziafternoon teaan overnight staywet roombirthday treatbuffet stylea bit tiredfood was lovelyfour poster bedhigh standardcooked breakfastevening mealfirst classleisure facilitieslovely roomrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 648 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for an overnight spa break with my friend who had purchased Glasgow Great Deal Voucher.

On arrival we checked in and were given our room which was room 8. On entering the room we were met with a small double room. When we had booked a twin. On going back to check in desk we were told there was no twins left and only thing she could do was give us 2 rooms which wasn't what we wanted to have separate rooms.

We then had afternoon tea booked as part of the deal which we were booked for 3pm. we arrived and was met with staff who were clearly struggling to keep up with the busy restaurant. We waited 20 minutes for our afternoon tea to arrive and then never seen a staff member again. We were not offered a top up of tea or another drink or even if everything was ok. The afternoon tea was poor and very disappointing the sandwiches were stale and cucumber or beef and the cakes were a small slice of maderia cake.

We left there and went to the spa area. We got there and waited to be greeted and shown through but no one came so we found some towels and went through ourselves. The pool area was a bit tired but had a sauna and jacuzzi and some loungers. There was no steam room.

The dinner was served in the restaurant and was lovely. The food was reasonably priced and very good portions and very tasty.

The bedroom was very hot and due to its small size was uncomfortably so. There was tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer. The bathroom could do with a freshen up and the shower was terrible. I got scalded with the water as it was either freezing or boiling and only a trickle came out.

On check out we got the bill for the drinks and was shocked to find that a bottle of water which we were offered with our dinner had cost £5. Tap water in a jug would have been fine. The wine wasn't cheap either at £6.25 a glass.

Overall as much as the deal was a cheap price the hotel let it self down on the little things. I had looked at this hotel as a potential venue for my wedding and am glad to say i picked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

popinjay's website makes the rooms look enticing and luxurious. - They're not, they are are tired and dark, the lobby, stair and landing carpets are in need of renewal, the bed springs are popping and the decor is in need of a makeover, preferably in light bright colours so that u don't need to put on every light in the room to see anything. The shower in our room was abysmal, there was no happy medium, either powerful and freezing or boiling hot and trickling there was no in between. We were shown the honeymoon suite, OMG golds and purples are so tacky, sorry for all honeymoon couples who had to stay in that room. breakfast was ok, spa suite only had the pool & sauna, I bet the spa bath is still trying to fill up. only saving grace wad the staff, who were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful.
PS Went for a walk, got lost, no money, got a ride back to the hotel from local bus company, who waited while we went up to room to pay them, our saviours, can't thank them enough.

Room Tip: Not no 6, old 4 poster, with rim round edge which gives u black n bkur marks when u bump into it and it squeaks too, we then moved to 14 where the twin beds both had springs that buoinnnged.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been twice to this hotel and would recommend it. I got Glasgows Great Deal offer and would say it was definately a great deal!!! Some of the rooms have not been refurbished , but the ones that have were really lovely and very comfortable. Bedding was white which is a bonus (can't hide any stains or marks ) The use of facilities were excellent . The staff were very friendly and helpful.I am hoping to go back with a few of my friends in September. There are a few garden centres just a short walk from the hotel which i wouldrecommend visiting. The Hotel also has facilities for weddings and the garden area for photos is very nice.

Room Tip: Some rooms have not yet been upgraded. Stll in process.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed on Sunday night on a voucher deal which offered afternoon tea for 2, bed and breakfast and £40 credit to use in the restaurant and bar. We were allocated room 18 which was adapted for disabled guests.The room had been refurbished but the carpet needs replacing already as it was very badly stained and we couldn't adjust the tv volume which was very loud. That aside the room was nice enough with aircon which was definately needed.

The afternoon tea was okay, basic. Dinner was good and the breakfast again okay (only one slice of toast each and no fried eggs). The dining room (Dalserf) could be doing with some music (in my opinion) as it was very quiet with little or no atmosphere.

The staff were very nice especially Stephen who was just so welcoming and friendly.

Considering we paid £69 for this deal we shouldn't really grumble but I'm not sure we'd go back even if another deal becomes available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfanatic1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recommend it for sure. Lovely hotel and area for a relaxing night away. Stayed in room 7 which was very nice. Comfortable, modern and very clean. Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner were all tasty. Staff were very nice. Steven is clearly an asset to the business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahamfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews