We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great deal, spoiled by wedding party...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great deal, spoiled by wedding party...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

my review is very similar to last reviewers. the hotel i would say is a work in progress, you can see money has been spent in the public areas but other areas like the corriders have still to be upgraded. the spa/pool area is lovely and very clean.
afternoon tea was lovely, the meal in the bistro was very good but agree with the previous reviewer breakfast wasn,t great. buffet style but not very warm, saying that if you request something it was done for you.
our room was small but refurbished and pleasant with a good comfy bed but total lack of sleep due to the very selfish wedding guests returning to their rooms from midnight onwards with absolutely no respect for other guests trying to sleep.
we did get asked by reception how our stay was and were told they had had a number of complaints from other guests and also staff members.
all in all nice hotel i feel will get better and i would return BUT will enquire if there's a wedding on and if so will avoid.

Room Tip: avoid if wedding being held unless you're at the wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigeater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    178
    108
    60
    41
See reviews for
113
258
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I took advantage of deal to enjoy a night away. It all started off so well, checking into a newly refurbished room which was small but pleasant enough. We took afternoon tea in the dining room which was very pleasant after which we spent an hour or so in the Spa. The Spa is modern and clean and enjoyable. During our stay it was busy but not overcrowded. We then returned to our room (3) to get ourselves ready for the evening meal. It was at this point we found that the chair at the dressing table was defective and could have caused injury. We also had to ask for a second set of towels, only one set had been provided.

The evening meal was very pleasant, the bar was busy and the lad pouring the drinks was obviously inexperienced, having to ask for guidance on many occasions. The bar has a cocktail menu and wine list all of which are clearly priced, unfortunately there is no pricing details for draught beers or lagers. Likewise, normal bar spirits show no pricing details. I hope if the hotel reads this, they will rectify the shortfall.

We retired to our room at around 10pm and the bed was extremely comfortable and we looked forward to a pleasant sleep. This was not to be the case. A wedding was taking place at the venue which we were well aware of during the day but with minimum impact to the guests. It wasn't until 1am that we heard the first of them. The wedding revelers were now heading for bed but in groups, loud groups. This continued until around 4am and included a phone call to reception in an attempt to get it stopped but to no avail. Did we have a pleasant sleep.....NO.

We eventually managed to get a couple of hours sleep and when we awoke decided to venture down for breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet style which was lukewarm at best. Having previously read marketing material for the hotel breakfasts are individualy prepared, however not on this occasion.

On checking out we were not questioned about our stay and given any opportunity to raise these issues. Will we be back....yes we will, just hope that when we do the individualy cooked breakfasts will be back on the cards. And we will be sure to ask if our stay coincides with planned wedding.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a one night stay here with a voucher that we had bought from Edinburgh's great deal, this included breakfast and £40 to spend towards our dinner. We arrived around 2pm and the hotel was quite busy with people enjoying sunday lunch with a piano player supplying the back round music. Luckily for us we got one of the refurbished rooms which was lovely, we had a four poster bed and great modern bathroom with views to the garden. As Andy Murray was playing in the final that day we headed down to the bar to watch the match and spent a few hours with some other guests enjoying the match. Later that evening we went down to dinner which was ok but not great. Got up early the next morning to use the gym however the staff member who was supposed to be working did not turn up so we didn't get the chance to use the spa facilities. Breakfast was good and the service was fine. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and will probably return again. Well worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

we stayed overnight recently as part of a deal from the net.Service and staff was okay,room we had has been updated so clean and bathroom new.Drinks at the bar were a bit pricey,probably normal for this type of hotel,Evening meal was good as was breakfast.
so not a bad hotel,bit quiet round about it unless you like gardening centres two situated about 200m.
would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Popinjay hotel for one night stay and had got a deal on Glasgow's great deal. The deal was very good value which included money towards our dinner. The food was excellent, however, we stayed in an unreburished room - which was awful. Had we been told at the time of booking that it was not refurbished then this would of made it slightly better. The room we stayed in had a piece of paper with the number wrote on the door, this was the first bad sign. We then went in and one of the windows was broken, meaning the window would not shut and it was very noisy with the main road being outside our window. The shower was broke and cello-taped back together, however, it was useless as you couldn't wash and hold the shower at the same time. Not too mention the shower curtain being dirty. We also had handles broken of cupboards etc. The rest of the hotel was nice and the restaurant lovely. As we had got such a good deal, I wasn't going to complain at first but once at home I emailed. Not once did I receive an apology, just oh the website says some are not refurbished and thanks for your feedback we will look in to it. Considering I had to stuff the window to try block out the noise I do not see how they didn't know it was broken. I wouldn't stay here again unless on a deal and in a refurbished room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here when visiting my home town and old stomping-grounds. Set in the lovely Clyde-side village of Rosebank, it's an old-fashioned, timbered building, currently undergoing a certain amount of modernisation/upgrading, although the rooms are well furnished, clean and comfortable. The location is ideal for touring Central Scotland. The staff are very friendly, efficient and courteous. The Bistro Restaurant serves very good food. Breakfast was a little disappointing, especially as on one day, there was a shortage of certain items as well as staff.
The hotel is very popular with non-residents in the restaurant and gets very busy at times, especially afternoon tea time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here overnight with my daugher on a special deal, we had afternoon tea which was amazing, too much for both of us, dinner was also lovely, and breakfast first class, staff all very friendly and welcoming, spa and gym ideal, and rooms were very modern, the only thing we did not get was the towelling robe and slippers, that was meant to be part of the deal, but I am sure if I had asked for them, I would have got them, Room was very hot during the night, but one call to reception and this was solved, beauty therapy and hairdressers onsite also. Will be back again soon...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairytaleangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing