We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”
Review of Popinjay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popinjay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We went on a groupon deal which was a real winner.....actually we were the winners as the rooms were lovely, the leisure facilities ...pool, sauna, gym were excellent and the staff were too. We had afternoon tea and the lady who served us was lovely and the only downsides that 3/4 of the sandwiched were salmon...great for me who loves fish but my partner doesn't so I had to eat much more than him. The cakes and scones were plentiful and delicious and we took some of ours to have later in the room. Dinner was equally delicious as was breakfast the next day.yes there is refurb underway and some areas were a bit tired but all in all....excellent wee break

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank junieclooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    187
    115
    71
    45
See reviews for
123
270
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

You are not going to find many hotels in the area that include a gym and swimming pool for around £55, and for this I am willing to put up with a few problems.

The hotel is still in the middle of a refurbishment. The downstairs area is very well done out, as are the new rooms, but the older rooms do look a bit drab. Some snagging problems seem to exist in some of the newer rooms, problems with water supply, windows that don't shut properly (not in every room I hasten to add). The last one I stayed in had the hot and cold water connected the wrong way around. Not a major problem, but had me ready to complain until I worked it out.

The food in the bar and restaurant is very good, and I have never had a poor meal there. Despite some of the comments in other reviews I have also always found the staff to be very polite throughout the hotel, any problems have been dealt with in a professional manner and I always find the hotel to be a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbod04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

booked an overnight stay from living social cost me £49 for the two of us. Got £40 to spend in the bar/restaurant food was ok very over priced! The entrance was lovely i checked out the hotel on trip advisor and it looked beautiful till the guy from reception took us to our room, we went back to recception to ask for our room to be changed as there was a smell of dampness they then changed us to a room with wallpaper coming of the walls and a bed just slightly bigger than a single NEVER A 3 STAR HOTEL. had a cheek to put sweets on the pillows!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosebank hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Spent a night here and this was a fantastic hotel, staff were very helpful. We didn't get an upgraded room but it was nice. Pool was fab, what a pleasant surprise. Food for dinner and breakfast was superb, and so well presented.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just had a really fantastic overnight stay at the Popinjay. Went with my husband purely because we got a real bargain through Glasgow's Great Deals, and heard the hotel had been refurbished. This is not strictly true as the refurbishment is still underway, but the hotel have managed this brilliantly and to the extent that, despite work being ongoing, it didn't actually feel like this was the case. Having said that, we were lucky to be given one of the new refurbished rooms. Although it was a bit on the small side the boutique styled room was really smart and spottlessly clean. The bathroom was beautifully tiled, had a modern white suite and boasted a power shower.
The hotel's public areas, again are very smart. Having said that, the refurbishment has been very well executed and a good balance between the contemporary and traditional has been struck. Facilities include a swimming pool, jacuzzi and fully equipped gym - all of which are well maintained and spottlessly clean.We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Both meals were faultless and reasonably priced.There is also a well stocked bar.
However the jewel in the Popinjay's crown comes in the form of it's excellent staff. Simultaneously both attentive and unobtrusive I cannot speak more highly about the excellent standard of service they provided.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a peaceful but indulgent break and will definitely return soon - deal or no deal!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Simply excellent. Good food served by good attentive staff at a reasonable price. What more do you want for a lunch ? Lovely location down by the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onebrawlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shotts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed overnight on an excellent "great deal".offer. We had a very efficient friendly check in and our room was nicely decorated with a comfy bed, wall mounted flat screen tv (always good if right opposite the bed). The bathroom was very small and one thing was missing a toilet roll holder (pain in the neck literally if you have to swivel round for loo roll!!!).
We then went down for a light lunch and a pint. We both had a club sandwich with chips, which was very tasty. As it was during our spell of warm weather we sat for a while in the lovely beer gardens before going for a swim, jacuzzi and sauna. This was complimentary to hotel guests (spa towels provided) and was lovely. The pool is only 1metre deep, but was larger than some hotel pools.
We ate in the hotel that evening and again the food was good. Hubby had haggis, tatties and neeps for a starter and I had a prawn cocktail. This was followed by chowder for hubby and a roast beef dinner for me. We both had sticky toffee pudding with ginger ice cream for dessert. The meals were neither extremely expensive or dirt cheap. Our bottle of wine was £18.50 and a pint of tennents was £3.60, hubby decided against buying the stella at £4.50 a pint!!!
We had a great night's sleep as they have very thick curtains which block out the early morning light. Breakfast was good, 5 types of fruit juice, cereals, grapefruit, fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit, cold meats. There was the usual stuff for cooked breakfast (black pudding, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms) but there was one exception no fried eggs only scrambled eggs (hubby said it was good but i don't like it so I really missed my breakfast fried egg). One more disappointing thing about breakfast was that tea & coffee came from a big flask). I like a pot of tea, but if a hotel is going to use these they should make sure they are filled promptly, hubby had nearly finished breakfast before a new one was brought in.
Overall it was a lovely stay and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
6.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
2.0 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
588 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
8.2 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popinjay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popinjay Hotel

Property: Popinjay Hotel
Address: 15 Lanark Rd, Rosebank ML8 5QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Popinjay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popinjay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosebank Best Western
Best Western Rosebank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing