We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super cottage in great location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room
Kitchen Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sitting room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
View from the bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Conservatory
Bedroom
Bathroom
Ferniehaugh from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
potties
Stafford Uk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super cottage in great location.”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved the cottage and were well looked after by the owner. Everything you could possibly want is provided and we had a peaceful and relaxing break. Loads to do in the area and Biggar has a super selection of pubs and restaurants.10/10. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
It was a real pleasure to host your stay and I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. There is still plenty left to see and do and I hope very much to welcome you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie...
Kendal
2 reviews
“Cosy comfortable cottage”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage has everything you need and more. Very easy to get to shops and restaurants. Cosy and warm in winter with log stove.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in great location”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Ferniehaugh is a really lovely cottage with everything you could possibly need. The location is great with easy access to so many different towns, cities and tourist attractions. We were in Biggar to attend a family wedding so didn't have a lot of spare time but still managed to fit in a trip to New Lanark, The Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel! Hilary was there to meet us on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Our only regret was that the weather was too nice for us to light the wood burning stove! We would really love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmacs
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Biggar is better”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at fernihaugh was perfect, great little cottage, perfect position.for days out.and nights in !local pubs and restaurants.Hilary was a great hostess and very helpful !We will return. Regards Richard and Janet McCauley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage after days out
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
I'm really pleased your break was such a success and delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and Biggar. Thank you for being great guests and I shall look forward very much to seeing you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
I so much enjoyed welcoming you to the cottage over Christmas and was delighted that you could feel so much at home. You were fantastic guests and I hope very much indeed that you can make the long journey back again one day. In the meantime, all the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
It was great to meet you and I'm delighted that the cottage exceeded your expectations and also that you had such a good time in Biggar and around. You were great guests and I hope very much indeed to see you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southsea
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything we needed was already there
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
Thank you for this and also for your kind comments in the visitors book in the cottage. I'm so pleased that both Ferniehaugh itself and Biggar as a location was a success and shall look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing