We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel”
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Biggar
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value Hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night in January 2013 on a groupon deal and was pleasantly surprised. Food and wine were excellent and staff could not have been friendlier or more attentive. Room was clean and overall we had no complaints. Great value and would definitely go again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruno35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    68
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
67
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had our wedding reception here over Christmas last year and had our guests staying here as well. Everything was amazing, from the food (both at the reception and the surrounding days) to the staff, who worked tirelessly to give us a fantastic occassion. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether they are visitng Biggar itself or just travelling through to another area. The bar at the front has a lovely fire as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After giving my parents just a few weeks notice of our nuptials they put together a fabulous wedding in my home town of Biggar. Our reception at the 'Elph' was amazing. Old friends couldnt believe how great the room looked and everyone had a great feed in them before the party started.
We had 60 guests, some of them staying at the hotel for the weekend, and they are still raving about the hospitality from the wedding. Friends and family who traveled from all over were made to feel at home thanks to The Allen family and their staff.
Thanks for a relaxing and memorable wedding day!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed the sat night on a groupon deal great value for money room was spotless we had a 2 cours e meal with a bottle of wine menu had lots of choice food was excellent!! staff were so helpful and friendly lovely lounge area with an open fire. breakfast was very nice the waitress was very helpful and pleasant would defiantly stay again and would recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with discount voucher. We were not disappointed. Lovely area. Very nice meal and breakfast. Only problem ... No window in room. Needed one as very hot in bedroom and hotel on visit. Would visit again but would ask for different room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvhols123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just had a lovely overnight stay with dinner and breakfast at the Elphinstone Hotel, Biggar. This was a christmas gift and was thoroughly enjoyed. The location was very central, the room was cosy and clean, the evening meal (with wine) was excellent as was the breakfast the following day. We were made to feel very welcome, as was our dog! Would definately recommend staying there and will hopefully return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pintsize79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Myself and my wife booked a weekend break for ourselves and what a choice we made. On arrival at the hotel we where checked in,given our room key and booked a table for our meal. Staff made us feel very comfortable and welcome.Room was spotless and spacious as was the bathroom. At dinner we could not make up our minds what to have due to the wide range of dishes on offer in the menu, also house wine was very good. After dinner went through to the bar for some drinks. When in the bar the locals made us feel welcome also.In the morning at breakfast the waitress was given us the run down on the local amenities along with a wide range of breakfast dishes. Overall we will definately be going back to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, Owner at Elphinstone Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
247 reviews
6.7 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
166 reviews
10.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
317 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
11.2 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Property: Elphinstone Hotel
Address: 145 High Street, Biggar ML12 6DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing