We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Obliging Staff”
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were in Biggar for a wedding and chose the Elphinstone as it was very close to the wedding venue. We found Biggar itself a quirky little town with a very friendly population. The hotel, whilst not the cheapest we have stayed in for roughly the same on offer, was very good. We were informed on arrival that there were functions on both evenings we were staying and apologies were made in advance for any noise we might hear. We kept our window closed and this proved to be no problem. The room we had was a twin and there was plenty of storage space. The bathroom had a large shower cubicle and was well kitted out with toiletries. We ate in the restuarant on one evening and had a very nice meal. The menu really does offer a gourmet's delight. Breakfast on both mornings was to our satisfaction. Good selection of cereals, toast and again a good selection of jams, fresh tea and coffee and a cooked breakfast. One morning we opted for just scrambled eggs and bacon and the eggs were light and fluffy and two rashers of bacon, all freshely cooked.

The staff knew that we were going to a wedding and very kindly cleaned our room first so that we could return after a stroll to get ready. We had been given a whole set of fresh towels which was much appreciated.

On the whole we found our stay a good experience. The staff all seem very happy and I think that this comes across to the customers. We would certainly stay there again if we found ourselves in this part of Scotland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangogirlKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were in Biggar to see friends and returned to the "Elph" after a two year absence to see the rooms have been renovated. It's a family run hotel with small, clean and somewhat simple rooms. But they offer everything the traveller needs at a reasonable price. Great breakfasts and a nice pub / restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in a family room. Shower room ( no bath ) was very compact. Double bed very uncomfortable, electric sockets not accessible.

Make sure that there is not a function going on as its like trying to sleep on the dancefloor.

Every time somebody used the front door you could hear/feel it in the room.

Staff are warm & friendly & the food was fine, but the accomodation sadly lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at the Elphinstone on a Friday and Saturday night with husband and daughter while we were in Biggar for a wedding. Check was quick and efficient. The bar doubles as reception. Free parking is available right outside hotel or in a car park across the road. We had a double and a single room. The room was adequate but would be tight for space if you have much luggage. Our room had no window! Very unusual - there was a large skylight type window that had a blind thankfully, as the sun shone in from early morning. The ensuite bathroom was compact with a corner bath and shower. Daughter said her room was fine - she was lucky enough to have a window even if the view left a lot to be desired. We had one evening meal and two breakfasts here. Dinner was very tasty and there was plenty of choice. Breakfast wasnt as nice - different chef? Cooked breakfast available but make sure you ask for a couple of slices of bacon because i asked for bacon and was given one slice! Check out was quick and painless. Biggar is in easy travelling distance of Glasgow and Edinburgh but unfortunately Biggar has nothing going for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeblondeElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed in this hotel/pub/restaurant last weekend over the gala weekend. Not there for the gala or the weddings but a hill race further away.
Room was small but very good only lacking a little more storage space to be picky.
Breakfast was good and so was our evening meal.
Saturday night was a somewhat noisy and busy night being Gala day but the staff were very helpful and the disco near our room didn't go on too late.
Great central location for a visit to the Borders

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobS_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Helpful friendly staff, nice meals evening and breakfast. Convenient location. Nicer rooms than I expected for a higgledy-piggledy old pub, especially liked having a proper shower.

However the beds are truly awful they are so hard and uncomfortable, gave me a bad back for the day; didn't sleep much and was in serious pain the next day. I was in a twin, It just needs mattress toppers as a quick low cost fix, or decent mattresses, but without them it was a painful experience unfortunately.

I must say I'm really sorry to have to be negative as everything else was nice and it's hard to be negative about a place where the staff are trying hard and serve you well, but ultimately you go to a hotel to sleep so the beds really matter.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimBrooksbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

When visiting Biggar or passing through I recommend you take time to eat here. The staff or excellent as is the owner Robert. Food always good and a lovely coal fire awaits you in the dining area. They have a very good deal on Thursday - 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £30!
Give it a try.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
0.1 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
95 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
195 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
18 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Address: 145 High Street, Biggar ML12 6DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Biggar
Price Range: $87 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing