We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For anyone looking for a wedding venue - please consider this place. We had a few meetings with Mary (the owner) in the months running up to the big day. On each occasion we were armed with questions but we left totally relaxed as everything was answered, and more!

On the day of the wedding itself everything ran like clockwork. Aside from that the chapel and marquee were set out beautifully - more than we could have hoped for. We had a humanist service but the chapel really is a lovely, intimate setting.

And as others have stated elsewhere, the staff were immense. Very friendly but professional at the same time. They treated us and our guests so well and nothing was too much trouble. We even had an issue with kilt socks and they offered to drive to Lanark to pick up a new pair!

Downsides? - None that I can think of at all. If there are then the staff will help you best they can.

We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the castle are of different size and decor - however all the guests I spoke to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hambo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 666 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked a Murder Mystery overnight stay for my daughter and her partner for her 30th Birthday. From my very first contact with the hotel, the friendliness and helpfulness was fantastic - thank you so much Janice! My daughter and her partner raved about the hotel, their room (they were upgraded to a fabulous room with a four poster), the food, friendliness of the staff, the murder mystery night (1920's theme) - my daughter was the murderer!! She was so impressed and raved about it so much that I am hoping they run a murder mystery night around the time of my birthday so I can book it for me!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed in honeymoon suit which was absolutely beautiful. Meal was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Service was 1st class. As a treat for my partner on his birthday the hotel exceeded all expectations. Would defenetly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel and the rooms (superiors) are magnificent. The staff is pleasant and attentive. We thank particularly Glynis for her excellent welcome and its good advice on the region. We really appreciated the " mysterious murder dinner ". The restaurant of the hotel is correct. A single regret, no continental breakfast. Sure, we recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from an overnight murder mystery night. Fantastic from start to finish. The staff were great, nothing was a problem for them. The setting was only spoilt by the awful weather however this did not dampen the mood. The 4 course meal served during the murder mystery was beautiful. The actors that did the murder mystery event were great. Would definitely return and have no qualms in recommending this place to other

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Murder mystery night. So much fun, felt included from start to finish. Four course meal was fabulous and staff couldnt be more helpful. Bedroom in the castle was big, clean and decorated beautifully. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Shieldhill last night. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the surroundings complemented by the friendly service.
Despite being relatively local this was the first time that we had visited Shieldhill but it certainly won't be the last.
Can imagine that this is a must visit around Christmas time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
272 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
92 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
24.6 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
428 reviews
23 mi away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range: $101 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieldhill Castle Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing