We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here on a DBB basis through an ITISON voucher. The hotel was excellent, as were the staff. The food for both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. The room was well decorated an the bed was very comfy. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    141
    68
    42
    36
See reviews for
79
376
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here one night, but wish it had been longer. When we arrived, a lot of the guests were dressed for A Murder Mystery Night, It looked great. We had a 3 course meal, which was really amazing. Absolutely delicious. The portions were quite substantial so we were struggling with the dessert. No wonder it's in Egon Ronay's guide. We were in The Langside Suite which was very spacious & tastefully decorated. Views were spectacular. Staff were outstanding, so friendly & attentive & very knowledgable about the Castle's history. Especially Danny (I think) who served us at dinner. Breakfast was a treat too. Full Scottish. All in all, a really enjoyable stay. Will definitely return. Very highly recommended. Top marks, well done !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Had an excellent overnight stay on DBB basis. We were allocated the Killiecrankie room on the 2nd floor & were absolutely delighted with it. A spacious room with a 4 poster bed & 2 sofas for relaxing. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi bath & separate shower. We visited nearby Biggar & on our return chilled out in the lovely cosy guest lounge on comfy leather sofas, in front of a blazing log fire, with a couple of aperitifs. Dinner was excellent (best sticky toffee pudding), as was breakfast the next morning. From the minute we walked in the front door we were made to feel very welcome & the staff could not have been more friendly & helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. Their service could not be faulted nor could we fault anything with the hotel. We will definitely visit this lovely old castle again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SengaN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Did an overnight murder mystery. Had a lovely room, dinner was exceptional, staff absolutely fantastic. Murder mystery during dinner was splendid with some great acting. Had the added delight of a musician in lounge after dinner. Breakfast service again brilliant with well presented platefuls. A gem of a place Take a bow every staff member

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had an excellent experience at this hotel.
The murder mystery was professional and involved all the diners throughout.
The meal was excellent and service very good the evening was rounded off with a great night of entertainment.
Room in Stables block was very nice and warm and would return.
Overall could not fault anything also the staff were very helpful nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had an overnight stay and 3 course meal with a groupon deal in a courtyard room which was large and lovely and warm. Spacious bathroom with large shower. Meal was delicious with huge portions and we loved the open log fires in dining room and lounge which was cosy and comfy with big sofas with lots of cushions. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Being in an old castle, this is a hotel with a difference with a suit of armour in the entrance and a winding staircase up into the old tower. The castle is in open countryside but not far from Biggar which is a country town with lots of small shops - change from the big chains - and plenty of places for a snack or a coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We got a one night stay and 3 course meal through an Itison deal.
The first room we were given was in the castle but it was a bit disappointing plus the heating didnt work or the hot water. We informed the desk and after 10mins they moved us to another room which was much nicer especially as it had a large roll top bath. Unfortunately the extremely oversized bath plug leaked so it wasnt possible to fill the bath.
The atmosphere in the lounge area was lovely at night, the fire was lit and candles were scattered around the room making for a pleasant atmosphere, the staff were professional and attentive and the meal was absolutely fantastic.
The stay was very good once we had the change of room and the food was wonderful, but I would have been disappointed if we had paid full price for our stay.

Room Tip: If your going in the winter months make sure the heating in the rooms works before you unpack, its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
334 reviews
8.0 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
182 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
4.2 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Property: Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieldhill Castle Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing