We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We only stayed in the hotel for two nights but wished it had been longer. The hotel has a majestic charm and the traditional decor is suitably renovated to be modern without losing the true character of the hotel. The room we stayed in had beautiful decor and we were amazed as soon as we walked in. The lounge area with the grand seating and log fires was a perfect setting to sit and relax. The hotel is in a relaxing and serene environment with friendly and helpful staff on hand to give information and advice for sight seeing. We enjoyed a 3-course meal at the hotel and breakfast which were reasonably priced and of high value. The location is ideal, we decided to visit Edinburgh which was just over an hour by bus from the centre of the village. A romantic hotel, perfect for a get-away and instant relaxation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0uise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 658 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Husband and I recently had our wedding here on the 23rd of May and stayed with family & friends the night before & the night of our wedding.

Let me start by saying you would really just have to love complaining to find anything wrong with Sheildhill Castle.

Mary is wonderful & her staff are too, nothing is too much. Each room is different and beautiful & immaculatley clean! The food is amazing & Mary made sure everything was set up beautifully and our big day ran perfectly!

All of our guests loved the venue and food as did we! Can't thank Mary & staff enough and we can't wait to return for our anniversary each year!!


xxx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAbrahamX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here earlier this month and had a great time.

The castle itself is very well decorated, managing to combine historic features with an up-to-date interior style that isn't overly modern.

The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful throughout. It's a pleasant surprise to stay somewhere that obviously prides itself on high-quality service, and Mary should be commended for instilling that into her employees.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious, just the right amount with perfect portion sizes. The bar is cosy, and the perfect place for an after dinner whisky.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymakesglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

travelled up to Shieldhill Castle in May 2013, to find everything you could ask for and more....staff so helpful, food was fabulous, room was totally amazing we were totally spoilt and lived in luxury for our 2 night stay in the Chancellor Suite. We were shown around the hotels own Chapel and Marquee which would be great for any wedding party, the bar was small but well stocked and very reasonably priced, the dining room was warmed by a log fire, the food was amazing and well worth the price. the lounge was very comfortable and warmed again by a log fire. The Chancellor Suite is actually the Honeymoon Suite and is totally amazing and huge, the double jacuzzi was a real treat, there was everything here you needed and more.
This is defenately somewhere that we will visit again.

Room Tip: The Chancellor Suite has everything although a treat and will put a dent in your pocket. But every o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newcastlebabes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I travelled up for a family wedding. All the arrangements beforehand were handled expertly and we arrived eager to enjoy our stay. From the outset, all the staff could not have been friendlier, our room the Cromdale was perfect for us and we were able to settle early for the party ahead. The food at the wedding itself was to die for with the Haggis and Steak being particularly splendid. The bar stayed open till 5am with the owners and staff joining in for a post work drink/dance. All in all a perfect wedding venue, hosted superbly by some lovely people who work and party hard. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a two night midweek break here, we loved it. The hotel is a perfect place to be for a chilled out break. The staff were fantastic and always greeted us with a friendly smile.
We stayed in the Ardbeg room situated in the refurbished stable block, the room was excellent and suited us perfectly. The grounds of the Castle are stunning and I can see why this would make an ideal wedding venue, the pictures would be fabulous. We will be returning here again soon and will be letting our family and friends know about this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Stable block was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Shiledhill castle is utterly breathtaking. From the moment we pulled up the gravel drive we were entranced.

When you walk in your are greeted buy a fantastic suit of armour and a very friendly receptionist who couldn’t do more for you.

Then there was the room. We were staying in one the stable rooms…and its was gorgeous.Tastefully decorated with a real cosy feel and a gorgeous bathroom and an incredibly comfortable bed!

The food was fantastic, im salivating just at the memory(I recommend the honeycombe parfait in particular!) the staff were fabulous - attentive, good fun and a real treat to talk to. This is a family run place and you couldn’t ask to meet a nicer family- including their pets!

Cant wait to go back to Shieldhill, it’s a beautiful castle, in a stunning setting, steeped in history, with ghost stories galore.

I recommend you go!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the stable rooms, which are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaG720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
268 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Kirkstyle Hotel
The Kirkstyle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Biggar
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
193 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
786 reviews
24.6 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieldhill Castle Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing