We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Biggar B&B and Inns
Thirsk
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked using a Groupon coupon, and having read some reviews was expecting disaster.

Nothing was further from the truth, what a lovely place, not to far off the main A74 but in the middle of nowhere!

Greeted at the door, details taken and shown to our rooms, The Otterburn and the Killiecrankie.
Both enormous rooms, enormous beds and enormous tellys. All the usual amenities, tea and coffee makings, soap shampoo and lots of candles!

Down for the included dinner, enjoyed by all, staff lovely and helpful. Relax in lounge, lots of sloppy sofas and seats. so to bed

Slept like a log, dressed and down for a full Scottish breakfast ... the sausages were edible.. must have been good. gallons of coffee and tea.

Off to Glasgy for the day shopping. Evening meal at a Chinese.. review later.. back to hotel.. be warned it's a hour from Glasgow and the country roads are bendy.

Last night, full breakfast, and off home via Metro Centre.

Excellent stay, couple of comments, heating needs sorting, but aware of problems, nice new boiler room noticed, bathroom finishes a bit rough, but it's a work in progress, the Yuill's are to be congratulated on their efforts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    141
    68
    42
    36
See reviews for
79
376
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked hotel as my partner and I planned to celebrate new year eve in Biggar. Received a very pleasant surprise when we arrived at the hotel when we were told that we were upgraded to the glencoe room which was very clean, warm and spacious. The people who work in the hotel are very helpful and strived to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They arranged taxis to take us to/back from Biggar which was a massive help being the time of year with taxi firms being so busy. We had only booked breakfast when we booked the overnight stay but on our return to the hotel, they offered us food as we were having a drink in the bar, which my partner kindly obliged. The breakfast was warm and satisfying. The only slight downside in the morning was that we found the shower complicated and couldnt get it to work. Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience and we will definatey be returning in future, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Glencoe room, it has the most comfortable four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked New Years Eve 2012 as the idea of spending Hogmany in a Scottish castle was appealing. Was informed that there would be entertainment, buffet, midnight piper etc, extra charge £45 each. We had a room in the Stable block which was a good size and well presented and warm. The castle itself was cold and gloomy with a strong smell of parafin. The evening entertainment was held in a marquee but although we were told that it would commence at 7pm, then 7.30pm, then maybe 8pm...by 8.15pm the venue was empty and totally devoid of atmosphere. The staff were very amateur and not over friendly. One of them even suggested we should be wearing our thermals!! The bar consisted of only two tables and lots of chairs (the tables had presumably been removed to the function area). As there was no sign of a party atmosphere we chose to have a bottle of wine in our room. Not the New Years eve we had hoped for. Breakfast was ok but the dining room was cold, would have been cheerful if the open log fire had been lit especially on a dull damp morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan1947_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was surprised to read a recent review describing Shieldhill as "amateur". The building and setting were beautiful - The staff, from arrival to departure were efficient, curteous, well presented and enthusiastic and knowledgable about the castle's past etc. The food was fine - not the absolute best i've had but far from the worst. We were in one of the "stable block" rooms - which was beautifully decorated etc - other than the fake books, which were, frankly, a bit naff!
We were lucky enough to book our stay via a "Groupon" voucher - which gave ridiculously good value for money and if completely honest i think the full prices too expensive. This said, i would definitely return on a similar offer to the one we used - i'd love to stay in the main castle next time. Keep up the good work - you have a gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a living social deal. We got a huge room with a double jacuzzi bath and four poster bed. The room lacked some of the finishings you get in a newer hotel, but it added to the charm of our weekend. We ate there both nights and were treated to a free bottle of wine on the second night. The staff were very attentive and welcoming. We would recommend for a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossMcLeanAbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

So disappointed, came to have a look and hopefully find a gem in the middle of the stunning Scottish countryside....the new hotel management just need some well appointed advice on how to run a small country hotel. Sickly air freshener plug-in made me feel queasy and had to locate it to turn it off before I could eat! Real radio was the choice of background music which was blasting out pop songs - not the best selection if you want to add to the country estate ambiance. Food was ok - not very hot though and to top off the experience our plates were collected by a waitress wearing a parka coat - NOT a good look and if you ever want to run a luxury hotel you need to start with the basics -perhaps ask if we were finished our meal and if it was ok? - we left feeling so disappointed - might give it a bit longer for the hotel to get up and running and hopefully providing a better standard of service before trying again :o( what a shame - the hotel itself and its grounds have so much potential! P.s and if the hotel managements replies to unsatisfactory feedback are anything to go by we won't be back at all as it seems they don't take these comments/advice on board, just write rude nasty replies to people - again a failure when it come to the basics of hospitality. Please Please Please up your standards, it will be worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Shieldhill for 3 nights in October and promised to write a review to counter the criticism that had appeared on tripadvisor, as our experience was completely the opposite. Sadly things happened which distracted us but we do want people to know that they really should come here. The rooms are lovely, well furnished and warm. The food is excellent. And without exception we found all of the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back again, time permitting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggar
3.1 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#3 of 4 in Biggar
256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
334 reviews
8.0 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#4 of 4 in Biggar
182 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Cartland Bridge Hotel
4.2 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhill Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhill Castle Hotel

Property: Shieldhill Castle Hotel
Address: Shieldhill Road | Quothquan, Biggar ML12 6NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Biggar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shieldhill Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Castle dates back to 1199 and offers great character and charm. The principal building has 16 en-suite Bedrooms along with the Reception Rooms and a fully functioning Chapel. The recently converted stable block has a further 10 en-suite Bedrooms. An ideal wedding venue complete with permanent marquee with a capacity of 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shieldhill Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shieldhill Castle Hotel Biggar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing