We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
TOFTCOMBS IN WINTER Formal Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
EXCLUSIVE LUXURY AND COMFORT CLOSE TO EDINBURGH/ GLASGOW -SET IN 10 PRIVATE ACRES...SLEEPS UP TO 2
TOFTCOMBS IN WINTER
Formal Lounge
Master Bedroom with luxury ensuite
TOFTCOMBS MANSION HOUSE
Stunning dining hall that seats 25
Stunning dining hall seating 25
Dining room
TOFTCOMBS IN SUMMER
Large 36ft fully equipped kitchen
Minstral Gallery above formal dining hall - with ornate glass cupula
Full sized Snooker Table in marble floored lounge
Second reception hall
Reception Hall
Our guests- butler available to serve breakfast - full catering available or self cater only
The drive- large gravel parking area at the side of the house .
Dining Reception Hall
en suite bathroom
Dog friendly- secure also area for dogs with kennel . Paddock and 10 acres
Wedding reception
Horse and Carriage at Toftcombs
Reception  dining hall
Marquee on the lawn at night
Dining Hall seating up to 25
View from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Biggar, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen K
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Met up with extended family for a special birthday weekend.
Great accommodation and fabulous location .
Enjoyed by both young and old.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philodge
Stockport, England.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous .. didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

17 of us have just had an excellent weekend at Toftcombs Mansion House.

Its a very clean and spacious house with a nice warm and welcoming feeling. Other than bringing your own food, drink and toilet rolls everything else is covered in the well appointed kitchen. I am talking dishwasher, Aga, 2 fridges, cooker range, washing machine the list goes on.
We all brought various components for a full breakfast and cooked that every morning.
On one night we had booked The Crown in the village to cook us a 3 course dinner (see separate review). Around 5pm a chef turned up with waitresses, food, they prepared it, cooked it, set the table, cleared up all we did was eat and drink and had a great meal and a wonderful evening .. a well recommended option.

Location is perfect the motorway is 20 mins away and an hour to Edinburgh, the village is a 10 minute walk.

We arranged some activities during our stay and these included Mountain Biking, Horse Riding and Clay Pigeon shooting .. none were more than a pleasant 40 minute drive away.
We also hired a minibus to Edinburgh, which was only £10 each for the return trip.

Bedrooms were clean and very comfortable (although the very noisy bed in Balvenie could do with sorting out) the many bathrooms were also very clean with luxurious decor.

Nothing was pokey and tacky, a lot of thought had been put into the decor in order to maintain the authenticity .. It was a house you could easily live in, which is why it was a sad last day.

Would we go back .. at the drop of a hat and that is the intention at some point. For 17 people to have enjoyed a hassle and stress free weekend and want to do it again is a testament to how good Toftcombs Mansion House is.

Thanks for a great weekend.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigpask
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful country mansion”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend for a mates Stag. Excellent venue, plenty of room and a brilliant location. Highly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline F
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and grand yet relaxed and comfortable.”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for my nieces hen party and had a tremendous weekend. The house is beautiful yet we all felt incredibly relaxed and comfortable. Our party organiser had organised lots of activities and this house and grounds made them all possible. The bedrooms are comfy yet grand and the master with the 'turret' was a great hit with the hen. The village was within walking distance and the manager of the local pub (who had served our hog roast on the Friday night) kindly dropped some tea bags off for us as we'd forgot ton to bring any. The owner was accessible and helpful yet totally unobtrusive. Couldn't fault it as a venue.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene192...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a brilliant weekend!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just spent an amazing weekend here with friends and family celebrating a big birthday. The place had everything for everyone. Had no complaints about the beds - everyone had great sleeps. And what a setting! We spent a fair bit of time outside - tremendous views - both kids and adults enjoyed running about playing games as much as each other. Cooking and dining facilities were fabulous . I'll never forget this weekend - the photos bring big smiles - it's an ideal place to build special memories.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisquay
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Scottish haven for the whole family”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We celebrated our family reunion )comprising of about 15 kids ranging from 9 months to 17 years and 8 adults) at Toftcombs Mansion and it exceeded our expectations. It was special spending time in such a beautiful countryside environment with enough grounds for the kids to play and the adults to be suitably entertained.

Special mention to the catering team of Matt and his team who consistently went above and beyond. Their attention to detail was amazing. Their menu had enough variety and was delicious for both kids and adults. They were willing to cater to our needs and last minute requests.

Would definitely go back for the peace, quiet and beautiful environment. An added plus was the easy commute to Biggar and Edinburgh!! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STELLAmar...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb experience- Thank you Toftscombs for a fantastic 25th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was our 25th wedding anniversary.

This is a truly fantastic place and experience. Everything was so easy to arrange, nothing was too much trouble for Claire and Matt. We had guests from 8 years to 85 years! The catereres were brilliant- food was delicious - thank you Matt, Gary, Lorraine, April and Amy. We started with a light lunch at 2pm. When our guestes arrived the fire was crackling in the lounge - it was so lovely and comfortable. We had an amazing weekend.

If you are trying to decide which venue to go for as I was - This is it!
Your guests will be absolutely thrilled.
Toftscombs is brilliant.
Marion

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge and bedrooms
Liked least: The directions were challenging and a few of our guests were delayed. Just make sure you double check with Claire and let all your guests know exactly how to get to Toftscombs and all will be fine.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing